Cambodia Development Research Forum II

Cambodia's research community is still rebuilding from decades of turmoil that included civil war and a period of ethnic and intellectual cleansing under the Khmer Rouge. Its development research community remains dispersed and unconnected, though there are pockets of strong capacity. IDRC was one of the first international donors active in Cambodia, beginning in 1991, and it continues to support the reconstruction of an active research community.

This grant enables the Cambodia Development Resource Institute to collaborate with seven partners to continue the work of the Cambodia Development Research Forum. The key ideas underpinning the Forum emerged from a meeting of all IDRC-supported groups and individuals in Cambodia in 2007. In the Forum's first phase, annual research symposia were held, and a Web platform was established to link researchers. The goal of this second phase is to further strengthen the capacity of the Cambodian development research community.

In this latest phase, five research interest groups are facilitating interaction and learning among development researchers, government officials, members of parliament, and the media on pressing development issues. The Forum continues to organize its annual development symposium. It is supported by an Internet-based platform (www.drfcambodia.net) with some 500 members. Additional activities include the production of research synthesis and policy papers, and the organization of research workshops and policy roundtables.

Project ID

106976

Project status

Completed

End Date

Friday, December 9, 2016

Duration

42 months

IDRC Officer

Edgard Rodriguez

Total funding

CA$ 850,000

Country(s)

Cambodia

Project Leader

Hing Vutha

Institution

The Cambodia Development Resource Institute

Institution Country

Cambodia

Institution Website

http://www.cdri.org.kh

Cambodia Development Research Forum II

Au Cambodge, le milieu de recherche n'a pas encore fini de se remettre de décennies de bouleversements, notamment de la guerre civile et d'une période de nettoyage ethnique et intellectuel sous les Khmers rouges. Les chercheurs spécialisés en recherche au service du développement demeurent épars et dissociés, bien qu'il y ait ici et là de fortes capacités. Le CRDI a été l'un des premiers bailleurs de fonds internationaux à intervenir au Cambodge, dès 1991; depuis, il appuie la reconstruction d'un milieu de la recherche dynamique.

Cette subvention permet au Cambodia Development Resource Institute de collaborer avec sept partenaires pour poursuivre les travaux du Cambodia Development Research Forum. Les idées maîtresses du forum sont le fruit d'une rencontre, en 2007, de tous les groupes et particuliers subventionnés par le CRDI au Cambodge. Au cours de la première phase du forum, on a organisé des symposiums de recherche annuels et on a mis en place une plateforme Web pour relier les chercheurs. Cette deuxième phase a pour but de renforcer encore davantage les capacités du milieu cambodgien de la recherche au service du développement.

Au cours de cette plus récente phase, cinq groupes d'intérêts axés sur la recherche facilitent l'interaction et l'apprentissage entre des chercheurs spécialistes du développement, des responsables gouvernementaux, des députés et les médias relativement à des enjeux pressants en matière de développement. Le forum continue d'organiser son symposium annuel sur le développement et dispose d'une plateforme dans Internet (www.drfcambodia.net) qui réunit quelque 500 membres. Parmi les autres activités du forum, mentionnons la production de synthèses des travaux de recherche et d'énoncés de politique, et l'organisation d'ateliers de recherche et de tables rondes sur les politiques.

Projet nᵒ

106976

État du projet

Actif

Date de début

Friday, February 3, 2012

Durée

42 mois

Agent(e) responsable du CRDI

Rodriguez, Mr. Edgard

Financement total

CAD$ 850,000

Pays

Cambodge

Chargé(e) de projet

Hing Vutha

Institution

Cambodia Development Resource Institute

Site internet

http://www.cdri.org.kh