African Institute for Mathematical Sciences

The quest for the next Einstein in Africa

The African Institute for Mathematical Sciences is training Africa’s top minds

IDRC is implementing Canada’s $44.6 million contribution to expand the network of the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS). AIMS provides rigorous mathematics training to African postgraduate students.

Mathematical sciences are the backbone of a modern economy. Solutions to complex challenges in health, agriculture, climate change adaptation, and finance, for example, all require advanced mathematical modelling skills.

In 2003, AIMS opened its doors in Cape Town, South Africa. Its goal: to help Africa produce and use science and technology for its development. Each year, Africa’s top students enroll in a rigorous 10-month graduate-level course that leads to a master's degree in mathematical sciences.

​Expanding the base for excellence in Africa

AIMS is based on a simple concept: it is a space where Africa's brightest graduates are taught by the world’s best lecturers. All AIMS students benefit from full scholarships and all teaching staff are volunteers drawn from some of the world’s best universities. Among the professors are Nobel Prize winners and several recipients of the Fields Medal, often considered to be the highest award in mathematics.

The Next Einstein Initiative

Since its launch, AIMS has won global recognition as a centre of excellence for postgraduate education and research. Building on its success, AIMS launched the Next Einstein Initiative (NEI) in 2008 to train a critical mass of scientific and technical talent in Africa, capable of driving progress across the continent. The result will be a pan-African network of AIMS centres by 2023. AIMS-NEI envisions that people of rare ability —Africa’s own Einsteins — will emerge, capable of innovative breakthroughs to transform Africa's future.

Investing in Africa's future

AIMS-NEI is supported through public and private funding, including an initial $20 million investment from the Government of Canada, announced in July 2010 and provided through IDRC. Canada’s lead investment helped fund new AIMS centres across Africa.

AIMS-NEI’s success led to a commitment from the UK’s Department for International Development in 2012 to match up to CA$29 million over five years for the initiative. These funds, managed by IDRC, supported the establishment of three additional centres, and provided consolidated funding for existing centres.

To date, five new AIMS centres have opened: AIMS-Senegal (2011), AIMS-Ghana (2012), AIMS-Cameroon (2013), AIMS-Tanzania (2014), and AIMS-Rwanda (2016).

IDRC also contributed an additional CA$2 million to enhance postgraduate opportunities for AIMS-NEI alumni. IDRC’s contribution supported research by AIMS graduates to foster industry-research linkages and created IDRC African Research Chairs in fields such as mathematics, physics, and astronomy.

In 2016, the Government of Canada announced an additional CA$22.6 million in funding that will be channeled through Global Affairs Canada and IDRC. This new phase is focused on AIMS training African mathematical scientists to develop climate change adaptation and mitigation solutions. A specialized program in climate change science will be available to students at AIMS-Rwanda and AIMS-Tanzania, and fellowships will be offered to outstanding African women mathematical scientists working on climate change issues. This new funding will also contribute to the opening of a new AIMS centre in francophone Africa in 2018.

For more information, visit the AIMS–NEI website.

Partners

Global Affairs Canada
The UK Department for International Development

African Institute for Mathematical Sciences

À la recherche du prochain Einstein en Afrique

L’Institut africain des sciences mathématiques forme les étudiants africains les plus brillants.

Le CRDI administre l’apport de 44,6 millions de dollars du Canada visant à élargir le réseau de centres mis sur pied par l’African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) et grâce auquel des étudiants africains des cycles supérieurs peuvent recevoir un rigoureux enseignement supérieur en mathématiques.

Les sciences mathématiques sont le fer de lance de toute économie moderne. Pour pouvoir trouver des solutions à des problèmes complexes en matière de santé, d’agriculture, d’adaptation aux changements climatiques et de finances, notamment, des compétences avancées en modélisation mathématique s’imposent.

AIMS a vu le jour au Cap, en Afrique du Sud, en 2003. Son objectif : aider l’Afrique à approfondir les domaines de la science et de la technologie et à s’en servir pour soutenir son développement. Chaque année, les meilleurs étudiants d’Afrique s’inscrivent à un rigoureux programme universitaire de dix mois débouchant sur une maîtrise en sciences mathématiques.

Accroître le bassin d’excellence en Afrique

L’idée est fort simple : L’AIMS permet aux plus brillants diplômés d’Afrique d’apprendre des meilleurs professeurs au monde. Les étudiants admis à l’AIMS reçoivent tous une bourse complète. Le corps professoral est formé d’enseignants bénévoles des meilleures universités au monde; on y trouve des lauréats du prix Nobel et plusieurs lauréats de la médaille Fields, souvent jugée la plus haute distinction décernée à un mathématicien.

L’initiative À la recherche du prochain Einstein

Dès son inauguration, l’AIMS a été reconnu mondialement comme un centre d’excellence en enseignement et en recherche de cycles supérieurs. Fort de cette réalisation, l’AIMS a lancé en 2008 l’initiative À la recherche du prochain Einstein (AIMS-NEI) afin de créer une masse critique de talents scientifiques et techniques capables de stimuler le progrès sur l’ensemble du continent africain. Il en résultera un réseau panafricain de centres AIMS d’ici 2023. Cette initiative devrait permettre que se révèlent des talents exceptionnels – des Einstein africains – capables de percées qui renouvelleront les perspectives d’avenir du continent.

Investir dans l’avenir de l’Afrique

L’AIMS-NEI bénéficie de fonds publics et privés, y compris d’un investissement de 20 millions CAD du gouvernement du Canada annoncé en juillet 2010, qu’administre le CRDI. Cet investissement exemplaire du Canada a contribué à l’établissement de centres AIMS aux quatre coins de l’Afrique.

Le succès que connaît l’AIMS-NEI a motivé le Department for International Development du Royaume-Uni à engager dans l’initiative une somme équivalant à 29 millions CAD sur cinq ans en 2012. Cette somme, administrée par le CRDI, a servi à l’établissement de trois autres centres et à l’octroi de fonds regroupés aux centres actuels.

Jusqu’à présent, cinq nouveaux centres AIMS ont ouvert leurs portes : AIMS-Sénégal en 2011, AIMS-Ghana en 2012, AIMS-Cameroun en 2013, AIMS-Tanzanie en 2014 et AIMS-Rwanda en 2016.

Le CRDI y a également contribué une somme de 2 millions CAD, ayant pour but d’améliorer les perspectives d’emploi des diplômés de l’AIMS-NEI en les aidant à réaliser des recherches qui favorisent les rapprochements entre entreprises et chercheurs et en créant des chaires de recherche du CRDI en Afrique dans des domaines tels que les mathématiques, la physique et l’astronomie.

En 2016, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé un financement supplémentaire de 22,6 millions CAD qui sera administré par Affaires mondiales Canada et le CRDI. Cette nouvelle phase est axée sur l'AIMS et la formation qu’il procure aux scientifiques mathématiques africains pour développer des solutions d'adaptation aux changements climatiques et d'atténuation de ces derniers. Un programme spécialisé en science du changement climatique sera offert aux étudiants de l'AIMS-Rwanda et de l'AIMS-Tanzanie, et des bourses seront octroyées à des femmes scientifiques africaines remarquables travaillant dans le domaine des changements climatiques. Ce nouveau financement contribuera également à l'ouverture d'un nouveau centre AIMS en Afrique francophone en 2018.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter le site Web de l’AIMS-NEI (en anglais).

Perspectives

Partenaires

Affaires mondiales Canada
Department for International Development du Royaume-Uni