Reaching for a resilient future: IDRC at COP25

November 28, 2019

IDRC is among the agencies proudly representing Canada at the 25th session of the Conference of the Parties (COP25) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) taking place in Madrid, Spain, from December 2–13.

A man walks through forest in a touristic area of the Uspallata valley.
IDRC / Karla Gachet

Climate change is a central part of IDRC’s programming. We believe research is crucial to any successful, long-term plan to mitigate the effects of climate change on the world’s most vulnerable. This is why, as an official UNFCCC observer agency, IDRC supports innovations that will help people and communities adapt to climate change.

Together with our grantees and partners, IDRC is participating in a range of activities during COP25, including special events, expert panels, workshops, and the 17th edition of the popular Development and Climate Days (D&C Days). More than 20 IDRC-supported researchers and partner organizations will share their work, highlighting how research investments foster innovation in climate adaptation, inform resilient and sustainable urban planning, and contribute to evidence-based policy development.

Building a resilient future for all means taking lasting action on climate change today — join the conversation on-site at COP25 or on social media.

IDRC activities at COP25
 

Capacity-building hub sessions
December 4–11 | UNFCCC Pavilion, Blue Zone

IDRC is participating in and co-hosting several sessions during this year’s hub, hosted by the Paris Committee on Capacity-building (PCCB). The hub at COP25 is designed to represent a rich diversity of voices, experiences, and topics relevant to climate-related capacity building. Established at COP24, the capacity-building hub is a space for representation, collaboration, and knowledge sharing.

Capacity-building knowledge to action day
Friday, December 6 | UNFCCC Pavilion, Blue Zone

IDRC has partnered with PCCB to lead the capacity-building knowledge to action day (CBK2A Day). This year’s CBK2A Day is designed to strengthen the engagement of universities and research institutions in producing relevant knowledge and translating that knowledge into effective climate action at the national and sub-national levels. See the full agenda here.

9:00–11:00 am: Key messages and next steps

2:00–4:00 pm: Mobilizing research institutions and universities for climate action

5:30–7:00 pm: Lessons learned from practice

Local governments and cities day
Saturday, December 7 | UNFCCC Pavilion, Blue Zone

12:00–1:00 pm: City-level capacity-building for climate action

6:15–7:15 pm: Youth capacity-building in urban contexts

Capacity-building talks​
Wednesday, December 11 | UNFCCC Pavilion, Blue Zone

3:25–3:55: Science policy dialogues for greater climate action: Raising ambition and knowledge to action

Development and Climate Days 2019​

9:00 am–6:30 pm | Sunday, December 8 | Hilton Madrid Airport

Development & Climate (D&C) Days are held each year alongside the Conference of the Parties (COP) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). This 17th annual D&C Days event will look to 2020, when countries are due to report on how they will meet their commitments under the Paris Agreement. Throughout the event, we will consider how transformation of systems, gender equity, lived experience and local knowledge, and transparency and downward accountability can help deliver a resilient future.

D&C Days 2019 is organized through partnership between IDRC, the Red Cross Red Crescent Climate Centre, the International Institute for Environment and DevelopmentEIT Climate-KIC, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, the Global Resilience PartnershipUnited Nations Disaster Risk Reduction, and the V20/G20 InsuResilience Global Partnership for Climate and Disaster Risk Finance and Insurance.

Register for D&C Days 2019.

IDRC partner and grantee events

Integrating territorial information into local climate change adaptation processes in Latin America
Tuesday, December 3 | 12:00 – 1:00 pm | Chile Pavilion

Strengthening the participation of French-speaking African countries in climate negotiations and implementation of the Paris Agreement
Wednesday, December 4 | 1:00 – 2:30 pm | IFDD Pavilion

Climate Adaptation policies: closing the knowledge-action gap in Latin America
Wednesday, December 4 | 4:00 – 5:15 pm | Brazil Hub

Public private partnerships for nationally-determined contribution enhancement and implementation
Thursday, December 5 | Time TBC | NDC Pavilion

Climate adaptation action
Thursday, December 5 | 3:00–5:00 pm | India Pavilion

Multi-Stakeholder Driven Climate Action: The Role of Women and Marginalised Communities
Monday, December 9 | 10:30 am – 12:00 pm | India Pavilion

Addressing adaptation knowledge gaps in the Latin American Region
Monday, December 9 | 4:45–6:45 pm | Blue Zone, Room 3

Mainstreaming of gender in national adaptation planning and implementation
Tuesday, December 10 | Time & Location TBC

Incorporating gender, intercultural and intergenerational approaches in climate action
Wednesday, December 11 | 5:30–7:00 pm | Euroclima Pavilion

How we work: Investing in research for adaptation and resilience

IDRC is a pioneer and key funder of climate adaptation research for developing countries. Our climate programming focuses on practical, evidence-backed solutions to:

  • increase the climate resilience of small and medium cities;
  • facilitate innovation in the emerging field of climate finance; and
  • empower women and marginalized people as agents of change.

Climate finance 

Mobilizing the private sector to support adaptation

Two women shopkeepers
 

The resources required to address global adaptation are immense. IDRC invests in research on innovative financing mechanisms to mobilize the private sector — a  promising strategy to improve productivity, scale up success, and foster resilience.

Urban resilience 

Helping vulnerable city dwellers adapt to climate change

Urban city
Centro de Apoyo a la Gestión Sustentable del Agua y el Medio Ambiente Agua Sustentable

As cities expand they face correspondingly greater pressure to deal with climate-related hazards and extreme events. IDRC identifies, develops, tests, and shares strategies across the Global South to help cities cope and to improve citizens’ lives.

Gender and social equity

Promoting inclusion to enhance climate resilience for all

Woman and child gardening
IDRC | Bartay

The effects of climate change have the greatest impact on women, youth, Indigenous peoples, ethnic minorities, and the poor. IDRC supports inclusive solutions to empower marginalized communities and to enhance the climate resilience of vulnerable people throughout the Global South.

Le CRDI à la COP25 : Bâtir un avenir résilient

28 novembre 2019

Le CRDI fait partie des organismes qui représentent fièrement le Canada à la 25e session de la Conférence des Parties (COP25) à la Convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC) qui se tient à Madrid, en Espagne, du 2 au 13 décembre 2019.

A man walks through forest in a touristic area of the Uspallata valley.
CRDI / Karla Gachet

Les changements climatiques constituent un élément central des programmes du CRDI. Nous estimons que les recherches jouent un rôle essentiel dans un plan réussi visant à atténuer à long terme les répercussions des changements climatiques sur les personnes les plus vulnérables du monde. C’est pourquoi, à titre d’organisme observateur officiel de la CCNUCC, le CRDI appuie les innovations qui aideront les personnes et les collectivités à s’adapter aux changements climatiques.

En collaboration avec ses bénéficiaires de subventions et ses partenaires, le CRDI participe à diverses activités durant la COP25, notamment à des événements spéciaux, des rencontres de groupes d’experts, des ateliers et la 17e édition des très populaires journées sur le développement et le climat (D&C Days). Plus de vingt chercheurs et organismes partenaires appuyés par le CRDI présenteront leurs travaux qui mettront l’accent sur la façon dont les investissements dans la recherche favorisent l’innovation pour l’adaptation aux changements climatiques, orientent une planification urbaine résiliente et durable et contribuent à l’élaboration de politiques fondées sur des données probantes.

Bâtir un avenir résilient pour tous signifie prendre des mesures durables sur les changements climatiques aujourd’hui. Prenez part au débat sur place à la COP25 ou sur les médias sociaux.

Activités du CRDI à la COP25
 

Séances du centre de renforcement des capacités
Du 4 au 11 décembre | Pavillon de la CCNUCC, zone bleue

Cette année, le CRDI participe à plusieurs séances ou les coanime dans le cadre des activités du Centre de renforcement des capacités dont le Comité de Paris sur le renforcement des capacités (CPRC) est l’hôte. Le Centre de la COP25 est conçu pour représenter une grande diversité d’opinions, d’expériences et de thèmes ayant trait au renforcement des capacités en matière de climat Créé lors de la COP24, le Centre de renforcement des capacités est un espace de représentation, de collaboration et de diffusion des connaissances.

Journée du savoir à l’action sur le renforcement des capacités
Vendredi 6 décembre | Pavillon de la CCNUCC, zone bleue

Le CRDI s’est associé au CPRC pour diriger la Journée du savoir à l’action sur le renforcement des capacités. Cette année, la Journée du savoir à l’action est conçue afin de renforcer la capacité des universités, des instituts de recherche à générer des connaissances pertinentes et à les traduire en mesures efficaces de lutte contre les changements climatiques à l’échelle nationale et infranationale. Consulter le programme complet ici.

De 9 h à 11 h : Messages clés et prochaines étapes

De 14 h à 16 h : Mobiliser les institutions de recherche et les universités pour l’action en faveur du climat

De 17 h 30 à 19 h : Leçons tirées de la pratique

Journée des villes et des gouvernements locaux
Samedi 7 décembre | Pavillon de la CCNUCC, zone bleue

De 12 h à 13 h : Renforcement des capacités d’action en faveur du climat au niveau des villes

De 18 h 15 à 19 h 15 : Renforcement des capacités des jeunes en milieu urbain

Entretiens sur le renforcement des capacités​
Mercredi 11 décembre | Pavillon de la CCNUCC, zone bleue

De 15 h 25 à 15 h 55 : Dialogues sur les politiques scientifiques des mesures plus efficaces en faveur du climat et passage du savoir à l’action.

Development and Climate Days (journées sur le développement et le climat) 2019​

De 9 h à 18 h 30 | dimanche 8 décembre | Hilton Madrid Airport

Les journées sur le développement et le climat (Development & Climate Days) se déroulent chaque année en marge de la COP de la CCNUCC. Ce 17e événement annuel se penchera sur l’année 2020, date à laquelle les pays doivent rendre compte de la manière dont ils respecteront leurs engagements en vertu de l’Accord de Paris. Tout au long de l’événement, nous examinerons de quelle façon la transformation des systèmes, l’égalité entre les sexes, les expériences vécues et les connaissances locales, ainsi que la transparence et la reddition de compte à la population, peuvent contribuer à assurer un avenir résilient.

Les journées sur le développement et le climat 2019 sont organisées dans le cadre d’un partenariat entre le CRDI, le Red Cross Red Crescent Climate Centre , l’Institut international pour l’environnement et le développement, l’EIT Climate-KIC, l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture le Global Resilience Partnership, le Bureau des Nations Unies pour la réduction des risques et le V20/G20 InsuResilience Global Partnership for Climate and Disaster Risk Finance and Insurance.

S’inscrire aux journées sur le développement et le climat 2019.

Événements organisés par le CRDI à l’intention de ses partenaires et des bénéficiaires de subventions

Intégrer de l’information régionale aux processus locaux d’adaptation aux changements climatiques en Amérique latine
mardi 3 décembre | 12 h – 13 h | Pavillon du Chili

Renforcer la participation des pays africains francophones aux négociations sur le climat et à la mise en oeuvre de l’Accord de Paris
mercredi 4 décembre | 13 h – 14 h 30 | Pavillon de l’IFDD

Politiques d’adaptation aux changements climatiques : combler l’écart entre le savoir et l’action en Amérique latine
mercredi 4 décembre | 16 h – 17 h 15 | Carrefour du Brésil

Partenariats public-privé pour l’amélioration et la mise en oeuvre des contributions déterminées au niveau national (CDN)
Jeudi 5 décembre |Heure à confirmer | Pavillon CDN

Mesures d’adaptation aux changements climatiques
Jeudi 5 décembre | De 15 h à 17 h | Pavillon de l’Inde

Action pour le climat pilotée par de multiples parties prenantes : le rôle des femmes et des communautés marginalisées
lundi 9 décembre | 10 h 30 – 12 h | Pavillon de l’Inde

Remédier aux lacunes de connaissance en matière d’adaptation en Amérique latine
Lundi 9 décembre | de 16 h 45 à 18 h 45 |Zone bleue, salle 3

Intégration du principe d’égalité des sexes dans la planification et la mise en oeuvre de l’adaptation à l’échelle nationale
Mardi 10 décembre | Heure et lieu à confirmer

Intégrer des approches sexospécifiques, interculturelles et intergénérationnelles à l’action climatique
Mercredi 11 décembre | De 17 h 30 à 19 h | Pavillon Euroclima

Notre mode d’action : Investir dans la recherche pour l’adaptation et la résilience

Le CRDI est un bailleur de fonds essentiel et un pionnier de la recherche sur l’adaptation aux changements climatiques dans les pays en développement. Nos programmes relatifs aux changements climatiques mettent l’accent sur des solutions pratiques étayées par des données probantes en vue :

  • d’augmenter la résilience des petites et moyennes villes à l’égard des changements climatiques;
  • d’appuyer l’innovation dans le domaine émergent du financement des mesures de lutte contre les changements climatiques;
  • d’aider les femmes et les personnes marginalisées à devenir des agents de changement.

Financement de la lutte contre les changements climatiques

Mobiliser le secteur privé pour soutenir les efforts d’adaptation

Two women shopkeepers
 

Les ressources nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins d’adaptation à l’échelle mondiale sont immenses. Le CRDI investit dans la recherche sur les mécanismes de financement novateurs mobilisant le secteur privé – une stratégie prometteuse pour améliorer la productivité, mettre en oeuvre à grande échelle les expériences concluantes et favoriser la résilience.

Villes résilientes 

Aider les citadins vulnérables à s’adapter aux effets des changements climatiques

Cite urbaine
Centro de Apoyo a la Gestión Sustentable del Agua y el Medio Ambiente Agua Sustentable

Plus les villes se développent, plus elles sont confrontées à la pression de faire face aux risques et aux phénomènes extrêmes associés aux changements climatiques. Le CRDI détermine, développe, met à l’essai et diffuse des stratégies d’action dans l’hémisphère sud pour aider les villes à se préparer adéquatement et à améliorer la vie de leurs citoyens.

L’équité entre les sexes et l’équité sociale

Promouvoir l’inclusion pour améliorer la résilience à l’égard des changements climatiques

Une femme et enfant dans un jardin
IDRC | Bartay

Ce sont pour les femmes, les jeunes, les peuples autochtones, les minorités ethniques et les pauvres que les répercussions des changements climatiques sont les plus importantes. Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international appuie des solutions inclusives pour autonomiser les communautés marginalisées et accroître la résilience des populations vulnérables aux changements climatiques dans les pays du Sud.