Zimbabwe's Exodus: Crisis, Migration, Survival

Book cover Zimbabwe's Exodus: Crisis, Migration, Survival
Editor(s):
Jonathan Crush and Daniel Tevera
Publisher(s):
Southern African Migration Programme, IDRC
2010-07-01
ISBN:
9781920409227
420 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504994

A rounded and compelling picture of the great exodus and, behind the turmoil of exile and return, we can glimpse the extraordinary people behind the statistics.
— Robin Cohen, International Migration Institute, University of Oxford

The ongoing crisis in Zimbabwe has led to an unprecedented exodus of over a million people, from all strata of Zimbabwean society, all desperate to survive. The Zimbabwean diaspora is now truly global. Yet rather than turning their backs on Zimbabwe, most maintain very close links with the country, returning often and remitting billions of dollars each year.

Zimbabwe’s Exodus: Crisis, Migration, Survival is written by leading migration scholars, many from the Zimbabwean diaspora. The book explores the relationship between Zimbabwe’s economic and political crisis and migration as a survival strategy. It includes the personal stories of ordinary Zimbabweans living and working in other countries, and reports the hostility and xenophobia they experience.

Zimbabwe’s Exodus reveals a new understanding based on protection not abuse, inclusion not exclusion, and tolerance not xenophobia.

The editors

Jonathan Crush is the Director of the Southern African Migration Programme (SAMP), Professor of Global Development Studies at Queen’s University, Canada, and Honorary Professor at the University of Cape Town.

Daniel Tevera is Professor of Geographical and Environmental Science at the University of Swaziland.

Zimbabwe's Exodus: Crisis, Migration, Survival

Couverture du livre Zimbabwe's Exodus: Crisis, Migration, Survival
Directeur(s) :
Jonathan Crush et Daniel Tevera
Maison(s) d’édition :
Southern African Migration Programme, CRDI
2010-07-01
ISBN :
9781920409227
420 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504994

Un tableau complet et convaincant du grand exode. Par-delà le désarroi de l’exil et du retour, nous pouvons entrevoir des personnes extraordinaires derrière les statistiques.
Robin Cohen, International Migration Institute, Université d’Oxford

La crise qui sévit au Zimbabwe a conduit à un exode sans précédent. Plus d’un million de personnes appartenant à toutes les couches de la société zimbabwéenne sont parties, toutes, sans exception, mues par la volonté désespérée de survivre. La diaspora zimbabwéenne est désormais mondiale. Pourtant, plutôt que de tourner le dos au Zimbabwe, la plupart de ceux et celles qui sont partis conservent des liens très étroits avec le pays : ils y reviennent souvent et y envoient chaque année des milliards de dollars.

De grands spécialistes des mouvements migratoires, dont plusieurs font partie de la diaspora zimbabwéenne, ont contribué à Zimbabwe’s Exodus: Crisis, Migration, Survival, ouvrage qui explore le lien entre la crise économique et politique au Zimbabwe, d’une part, et la migration en tant que stratégie de survie, de l’autre. Des Zimbabwéens ordinaires, qui vivent et travaillent dans d’autres pays, y racontent leur histoire et font part de l’hostilité et de la xénophobie auxquelles ils doivent faire face.

Zimbabwe’s Exodus propose une nouvelle lecture des choses, fondée sur la protection plutôt que sur l’oppression, l’inclusion plutôt que l’exclusion, la tolérance plutôt que la xénophobie.

Les directeurs

Jonathan Crush est directeur du Southern African Migration Programme (SAMP) et professeur en études du développement mondial à l’Université Queen’s, au Canada, et il est professeur honoraire à l’Université du Cap, en Afrique du Sud.

Daniel Tevera est professeur de sciences géographiques et environnementales à l’Université du Swaziland.