In the Way of Development: Indigenous Peoples, Life Projects and Globalization

Book cover In the Way of Development: Indigenous Peoples, Life Projects and Globalization
Editor(s):
Mario Blaser, Harvey A. Feit, and Glenn McRae
Publisher(s):
Zed, IDRC
2004-05-01
ISBN:
1842771922
384 pages
e-ISBN:
1552500047

This book brings together very insightful analyses of indigenous experience and strategies in the context of globalization from several continents and a number of theoretical perspectives. There are broad similarities making this a common struggle but the solutions arise from people solving problems in local contexts. Read this book and you will see that the debate is a very important one for the furtherance of human rights, for the future of these ancient traditions, and for the promotion of cultural, political and economic diversity everywhere.
— Grand Chief Dr Ted Moses, Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee)

Indigenous peoples today are enmeshed in the expanding modern economy, subject to the pressures of both market and government. This book takes indigenous peoples as actors, not victims, as its starting point in analyzing this interaction. It assembles a rich diversity of statements, case studies, and wider thematic explorations, primarily from North America, and particularly the Cree, the Haudenausaunee (Iroquois), and Chippewa-Ojibwe peoples who straddle the US/Canada border, but also from South America and the former Soviet Union. It explores the complex relationships between indigenous peoples’ organizations, civil society, and the environment. It shows how the boundaries between indigenous peoples’ organizations, civil society, the state, markets, development, and the environment are ambiguous and constantly changing. These complexities create both opportunities and threats for local agency. People resist or react to the pressures of market and state, while sustaining “life projects” of their own, embodying their own local history, visions, and strategies.

The editors

Mario Blaser is an Argentinian-Canadian anthropologist who has worked and collaborated with a variety of endeavours undertaken by the Yshiro people since 1991. His scholarly work focuses on exploring the epistemological and political possibilities of non-modern ways of knowing.

Harvey A. Feit is Professor of Anthropology at McMaster University. He was an advisor to the Grand Council of the Crees during their 1972–1978 treaty process. His research is on how Cree epistemology shapes conservation practices and how these inform political relationships.

Glenn McRae is an applied anthropologist who has worked extensively throughout the United States, India, South Africa, Southeast Asia, and Latin America as an environmental consultant. He has a doctorate from the Union Institute & University, and he teaches at the University of Vermont.

In the Way of Development : Indigenous Peoples, Life Projects and Globalization

Couverture du livre In the Way of Development : Indigenous Peoples, Life Projects and Globalization
Directeur(s) :
Mario Blaser, Harvey A. Feit et Glenn McRae
Maison(s) d’édition :
Zed, CRDI
2004-05-01
ISBN :
1842771922
384 pages
e-ISBN :
1552500047

Cet ouvrage réunit des analyses très pénétrantes de l’expérience et des stratégies autochtones mises en œuvre à l’heure de la mondialisation sur plusieurs continents et sous des angles théoriques multiples. Des amples ressemblances se font jour sur un terrain de combat commun mais les solutions surgissent des collectivités appelées à résoudre les problèmes dans le contexte qui leur est propre. Lisez ce livre et vous verrez à quel point le débat revêt de l’importance pour l’avancement des droits humains, l’avenir de nos traditions ancestrales et la promotion de la diversité culturelle, politique et économique, où que l’on se trouve.
— Grand Chef Dr Ted Moses, Grand Conseil des Cri (Eeyou Istchee)

De nos jours, les nations autochtones sont aux prises avec l’essor de l’économie moderne et, partant, assujetties aux pressions alternes du marché et de l’État. En analysant cette interaction, ce livre accorde d’emblée aux peuples autochtones la place d’acteurs du développement et non de victimes. Il assemble une riche diversité d’énoncés, d’études de cas et des explorations thématiques élargies en partant de la situation qui prévaut en Amérique du Nord chez le peuple cri, les Haudenosaunis (Iroquois) et les Chippewa-Ojibwe à cheval de la frontière USA/Canada, mais également en Amérique du Sud et dans l’ancienne Union soviétique. Il prospecte les relations complexes entre les organismes des nations autochtones, la société civile et le milieu de vie. Il montre à quel point les facteurs qui délimitent les interventions de ces organismes de l’État et celles de l’État, des marchés, du développement et de l’environnement sont ambigus et en constante mutation. Ces complexités créent des occasions et des menaces pour les institutions locales. Les collectivités résistent ou réagissent aux pressions du marché et de l’État, tout en se fixant leur propre « projet de vie » respectueux de leur histoire ainsi que des visions et des stratégies dont elles sont porteuses.

Les directeurs

Mario Blaser est un anthropologue argentin-canadien qui a œuvré et collaboré à de nombreux projets et actions très variés entrepris par le peuple Yshiro depuis 1991. Son travail d’érudition se concentre sur les possibilités épistémologiques et politiques des voies de connaissances non modernes.

Harvey A. Feit est professeur d’anthropologie à la McMaster University. Il a été conseiller du Grand Consel des cri durant la négociation du traité qui s’est poursuivie entre 1972 et 1978. Sa recherche porte sur la manière dont l’épistémologie crie façonne les pratiques de conservation et comment celles-ci imprègnent la nature des relations politiques.

Glenn McRae est un anthropologue en sciences appliquées qui a beaucoup travaillé aux États-Unis, en Inde, en Afrique du Sud, en Asie du Sud-Est et en Amérique latine en qualité de consultant environnemental. Il détient un doctorat de l’Union Institute & University et enseigne à l’université du Vermont.