Water Hyacinth in Africa and the Middle East: A Survey of Problems and Solutions

Book cover Water Hyacinth in Africa and the Middle East: A Survey of Problems and Solutions
Editor(s):
Luis A. Navarro and George Phiri
Publisher(s):
IDRC
2001-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
140 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552503676

Available formats

Freshwater infestation by the water hyacinth weed has reached crisis proportions in many areas of Africa and the Middle East. Accumulated environmental, economic, and social damages to date are estimated in the billions of dollars. Most severely affected are riparian communities and those people who depend upon the environmental services or production from affected water bodies.

Years of research has produced significant new findings and advances in water hyacinth control and utilization. However, it is all too apparent that this knowledge is not being properly applied to manage the weed. Early in 1996, and in response to disparate requests for water hyacinth research support from across Africa and the Middle East, IDRC launched an initiative to assess the extent of the problem. Most importantly, the initiative was to investigate the apparent lethargy of governments and affected communities to acknowledge, react to, and manage impending water hyacinth infestations. This publication summarizes the findings and recommendations of the initiative. It will be of interest to decision-makers, policymakers, development professionals, researchers, and academics.

The editors

Luis A. Navarro is a program officer at IDRC’s office in Nairobi, Kenya. Dr Navarro holds degrees in agriculture and agricultural economics from Universidad Austral in Chile and from North Dakota State and Oregon State universities in the United States. Before joining IDRC, Dr Navarro was Senior Agricultural Economist and Technical Coordinator at CATIE in Turrialba, Costa Rica, and Associate Professor at Oregon State University. (Our friend, Luis Navarro, passed away in 2007.)

George Phiri is an entomologist with the Malawian Department of Agricultural Research and Technical Services. From the Makoka Research Station he coordinates the Cassava Green Mite Project of the Government of Malawi, with support from the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) and the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD). Dr Phiri holds degrees in agriculture and agricultural entomology from the universities of Malawi, Ibadan in Nigeria, and Reading in the UK. Previously, and during the development of this publication, Dr Phiri was CAB International’s water hyacinth scientist, stationed at the Africa Regional Centre in Nairobi. In 1996 and 1997, he edited the African Water Hyacinth Newsletter.

Water Hyacinth in Africa and the Middle East : A Survey of Problems and Solutions

Couverture du livre Water Hyacinth in Africa and the Middle East: A Survey of Problems and Solutions
Directeur(s) :
Luis A. Navarro et George Phiri
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
2001-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
140 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552503676

L’infestation des eaux douces par la jacinthe d’eau a atteint des proportions critiques dans beaucoup de régions de l’Afrique et du Moyen-Orient. On estime que les dommages environnementaux, économiques et sociaux cumulatifs atteignent actuellement des milliards de dollars. Les collectivités riveraines et les personnes qui dépendent des services environnementaux ou de la production tirée des étendues d’eau touchées sont les plus gravement atteintes.

Des années de recherche ont produit de nouvelles données importantes et des progrès dans la lutte contre la jacinthe d’eau et son utilisation. Il est toutefois trop évident que ces connaissances ne sont pas appliquées comme il se doit à la gestion de la mauvaise herbe. Au début de 1996, pour répondre à diverses demandes d’appui à la recherche sur la jacinthe d’eau provenant de toutes les régions de l’Afrique et du Moyen-Orient, le CRDI a lancé une initiative afin d'évaluer l’ampleur du problème. L’aspect le plus important de l’initiative, c’est qu’on devait enquêter sur la léthargie apparente des gouvernements et des collectivités touchées lorsqu’il s’agit de reconnaître les infestations imminentes par la jacinthe d’eau, d’y réagir et de les prendre en charge. Cette publication résume les constatations et les recommandations issues de l’initiative. Elle intéressera les décideurs, les responsables des politiques, les professionnels du développement, les chercheurs et les universitaires.

Les directeurs

Luis A. Navarro est administrateur de programme au bureau du CRDI à Nairobi, au Kenya. M. Navarro a des diplômes en agriculture et en économie agricole de l’Universidad Austral du Chili, et des universités du Dakota du Nord et de l’Oregon, aux États-Unis. Avant de se joindre au CRDI, M. Navarro était économiste agricole principal et coordonnateur technique au CRTIE, à Turrialba, au Costa Rica, et professeur agrégé à l’Université de l’Oregon.

George Phiri est entomologiste au ministère de la Recherche agricole et des Services techniques du Malawi. Attaché à la station de recherche de Makoka, il coordonne le Projet de lutte contre l’acarien vert du manioc, du gouvernement du Malawi, avec l’aide de l’Institut international d’agriculture tropicale (IIAT) et du Fonds international de développement agricole (FIDA). M. Phiri a des diplômes en agriculture et en entomologie agricole des universités du Malawi, d’Ibadan au Nigéria et de Reading au R.‑U. Auparavant, et pendant la production de cette publication, M. Phiri était le scientifique spécialiste de la jacinthe d’eau de CAB International, en poste au Centre régional de l’Afrique à Nairobi. En 1996 et 1997, il a été rédacteur de l’African Water Hyacinth Newsletter.