Water Balances in the Eastern Mediterranean

Book cover Water Balances in the Eastern Mediterranean
Editor(s):
David B. Brooks and Ozay Mehmet
Publisher(s):
IDRC
2000-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
160 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502872

Available formats

The roots of destabilization, migration, and local conflict around the world can often be traced to a lack of fresh water. As a result, the importance of fresh water to economic development, quality of life, ecosystem sustainability, and political stability is gaining renewed global recognition. In the Middle East and the countries of the Eastern Mediterranean region, the situation is approaching crisis proportions. People living in this part of the world have only one-sixth as much fresh water available per capita as the global average. Although predictions of a Middle Eastern "water war" are dissipating, the need for regional cooperation in the effective management of water resources is no less urgent.

This book presents an overview of freshwater resources in the Eastern Mediterranean. Case studies from Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, Jordan, Turkey, and North Cyprus estimate water balances and propose methods for regional cooperation in the management of this precious resource. The book also proposes a research agenda and a consensus plan of action. Policymakers, researchers, academics, and development professionals working in the areas of water management and Middle Eastern studies will find this book to be a valuable tool.

The editors

David B. Brooks is Research Manager for Canada's International Development Research Centre. Dr Brooks' extensive experience in energy and water conservation, environmental and natural resource policy, and sustainable development extends across both the industrialized and developing world. He has taught in programs on energy and environment around the world and is the author of numerous articles and books.

Ozay Mehmet is Professor of International Affairs at the Norman Patterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada. His publications include Towards a Fair Global Labour Market (Routledge 1999, with E. Mendes and R. Sinding) and Modern and traditional irrigation technologies in the Eastern Mediterranean (IDRC 2001, with H.A. Biçak).

Water Balances in the Eastern Mediterranean

Couverture du livre Water Balances in the Eastern Mediterranean
Directeur(s) :
David B. Brooks et Ozay Mehmet
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
2000-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
160 pages
e-ISBN :
1552502872

Le manque d’eau potable est souvent une cause de déstabilisation, de migration et de conflits locaux dans le monde. C’est pourquoi on reconnaît maintenant dans le monde entier l’importance de l’eau potable pour le développement économique, la qualité de vie, la durabilité de l’écosystème et la stabilité politique. Au Moyen-Orient et dans les pays de l’est de la Méditerranée, la situation est sur le point d’être critique. Les populations de la région ont six fois moins d’eau potable par habitant que la moyenne mondiale. Même si les prévisions relatives à une « guerre de l’eau » au Moyen-Orient s’estompent, le besoin de coopération régionale dans la gestion efficace des ressources en eau n’en est pas moins urgent.

Cet ouvrage présente un aperçu des ressources en eau potable de l’est de la Méditerranée. Dans des études de cas provenant du Liban, d’Israël, de la Palestine, de la Jordanie, de la Turquie et de Chypre du Nord, on estime les équilibres des ressources en eau et propose des méthodes de coopération régionale dans la gestion de cette ressource précieuse. Cet ouvrage propose aussi un programme de recherche et un plan d’action fondé sur la concertation. Les responsables des politiques, chercheurs, théoriciens et professionnels du développement qui œuvrent dans les domaines de la gestion de l’eau et des études du Moyen-Orient trouveront cet ouvrage précieux.

Les directeurs

David B. Brooks est gestionnaire de la recherche au Centre de recherches pour le développement international du Canada. Sa vaste expérience dans les domaines de l’énergie et de la conservation de l’eau, des politiques sur l’environnement et les ressources naturelles et du développement durable s’étend à tout le monde industrialisé et en développement. Auteur de nombreux articles et ouvrages, il a enseigné dans le monde entier dans le contexte de programmes portant sur l’énergie et l’environnement.

Ozay Mehmet est professeur d’affaires internationales à l’École Norman Patterson d’affaires internationales, à l’Université Carleton d’Ottawa, au Canada. Il a publié notamment Towards a Fair Global Labour Market (Routledge 1999, avec E. Mendes et R. Sinding) et Modern and traditional irrigation technologies in the Eastern Mediterranean (CRDI 2001, avec H.A. Biçak).