Unprotected: Palestinians in Egypt since 1948

Book cover Unprotected: Palestinians in Egypt since 1948
Author(s):
Oroub El-Abed
Publisher(s):
Institute for Palestinian Studies, IDRC
2009-01-01
ISBN:
9780887283130
288 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504437

Available formats

Oroub El-Abed’s excellent work casts a new and extremely useful light on the situation of a rarely studied segment of the Palestinian diaspora. Without a doubt, it is the seminal work on Palestinian refugees in Egypt.
– Rex Brynen, Coordinator, Palestinian Refugee ResearchNet, McGill University, Canada

Based on personal interviews with Palestinian families, Oroub El-Abed examines the effects of displacement and the livelihood strategies that Palestinians have employed while living in Egypt. The author also analyzes the impact of fluctuating Egyptian government policies on the Palestinian way of life. With limited basic human rights and in the context of very poor living conditions for Egyptians in general, Palestinians in Egypt have had to employ an array of both tangible and intangible assets to survive. By providing an account of how they marshalled these assets, this book aims to contribute to the expanding literature on forced migration and the theoretical understanding of the livelihoods of Palestinians in their “host” countries.

The author

Oroub El-Abed is currently working on her PhD at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva. Since 1999, she has taught at the American University in Cairo and worked in various capacities for the Jordanian government’s Department of Palestinian Affairs, the World Bank, the United Nations, the French Institute for the Near East (IFPO) in Amman, and several international NGOs.

Unprotected : Palestinians in Egypt since 1948

Couverture du livre Unprotected: Palestinians in Egypt since 1948
Auteur(s) :
Oroub El-Abed
Maison(s) d’édition :
Institute for Palestinian Studies, CRDI
2009-01-01
ISBN :
9780887283130
288 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504437

L’excellent ouvrage d’Oroub El-Abed jette un éclairage inédit et très utile sur la situation d’une partie de la diaspora palestinienne rarement examinée. Il s’agit hors de tout doute d’une étude charnière sur les réfugiés palestiniens en Égypte.
– Rex Brynen, coordonnateur, Palestinian Refugee ResearchNet, Université McGill, Canada

À partir d’entretiens personnels avec des familles palestiniennes, Oroub El-Abed examine les effets de l’exil et les stratégies de subsistance que les Palestiniens ont su déployer depuis leur arrivée en Égypte. L’auteure analyse également l’incidence des politiques fluctuantes du gouvernement de l’Égypte sur le mode de vie palestinien. Jouissant de droits de la personne limités et étant donné les conditions de vie extrêmement difficiles qui sont le lot d’une grande partie des Égyptiens, les Palestiniens vivant en Égypte ont eu recours à un ensemble impressionnant d’expédients aussi bien matériels qu’immatériels pour survivre. En rendant compte de la façon dont ces réfugiés ont su puiser dans leurs ressources et les mettre à profit, cet ouvrage se veut une contribution au corpus croissant d’écrits sur la migration forcée et à la compréhension théorique des moyens de subsistance des Palestiniens dans leurs pays d’accueil.

L'auteur

Oroub El-Abed est doctorante à l’Institut de hautes études internationales et du développement de Genève. Elle enseigne depuis 1999 à l’Université américaine du Caire et a occupé divers postes au Département des affaires palestiniennes du ministère des Affaires étrangères de la Jordanie, à la Banque mondiale, à l’Organisation des Nations Unies, à l’Institut français du Proche-Orient à Amman et au sein de plusieurs ONG internationales.