Skip to main content

Telecentres, Access and Development: Experience and Lessons from Uganda and South Africa

Author(s)
Sarah Parkinson
Publisher(s)
Practical Action Publishing, Fountain, IDRC
ISBN
1853396192
e-ISBN
1552501892

Available formats

Universal access is a common policy goal in which 100% of a population is able to make use of a publicly available resource, such as information and communication technologies (ICTs): telephone, fax, and Internet/e-mail. Universal access to ICTs has in recent years become a policy goal for many national governments, international development agencies, and intergovernmental agencies such as the United Nations.

This book analyzes the rich experience of South Africa and Uganda in their quest for universal access, with particular emphasis on the role of shared access centres (public telephones, cybercafes, telecentres, business centres, etc.) and the factors that affect their performance. The book examines the relationship between shared access centres, the goal of universal access, and strategies for sustainable development. From the analysis, the author presents a number of recommendations for policymakers, donor agencies, and intermediaries (such as national NGOs, networks, and associations) that can be used to support and strengthen shared ICT-access centres and to increase their developmental impact.

The author

Sarah Parkinson is a PhD student in Rural Studies at the University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada. This book was written as part of an internship with Canada’s International Development Research Centre (IDRC).

Telecentres, Access and Development : Experience and Lessons from Uganda and South Africa

Couverture du livre Telecentres, Access and Development : Experience and Lessons from Uganda and South Africa
Auteur(s) :
Sarah Parkinson
Maison(s) d’édition :
Practical Action Publishing, Fountain, CRDI
2005-01-01
ISBN :
1853396192
176 pages
e-ISBN :
1552501892

L'accès universel est un but stratégique commun en vertu duquel une population peut bénéficier à 100 % d'une ressource publiquement accessible, telles que les technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) : téléphone, télécopie et Internet/courriel. Au cours des dernières années, l'accès universel aux TIC est devenu un objectif poursuivi par de nombreux gouvernements nationaux, organismes de développement international et agences intergouvernementales comme les Nations Unies.

Ce livre analyse la riche expérience de l'Afrique du Sud et de l'Ouganda dans leur aspiration à l'accès universel, avec un accent particulier sur le rôle des centres d'accès partagé (téléphones publics, cybercafés, télécentres, centres d'affaires, etc.) et les facteurs qui les rendent moins performants. L'ouvrage examine le lien entre les centres d'accès partagé, l'objectif d'un accès universel et les stratégies en faveur d'un développement durable. À partir de son analyse, l'auteure adresse aux responsables des politiques, aux organismes donateurs et aux acteurs intermédiaires (comme des ONG, réseaux et associations nationaux) un certain nombre de recommandations qui peuvent être mises en oeuvre pour soutenir et renforcer les centres d'accès partagé aux TIC et accroître leur incidence positive sur le développement.

L'auteur

Sarah Parkinson est candidate au doctorat en études rurales à l'Université de Guelph, en Ontario (Canada). Ce livre a été écrit durant un stage qu'elle a effectué au Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI).