Technology Policy and Practice in Africa

Book cover Technological Policy and Practice in Africa
Editor(s):
Osita M. Ogbu, Banji O. Oyeyinka, and Hasa M. Mlawa
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1995-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
380 pages
e-ISBN:
1552503194

African economies need deep technological revolutions to bring about rapid structural shifts, to deepen their industry, and build up their endogenous technological capability. The case studies presented here demonstrate the need to pay greater attention to an enabling macroeconomic environmentand the ways that environment interacts with an effective technology policy. This interaction should allow for technological learning, the right technical choices, the setting up of appropriate institutions, and effective technological management for both the industrial and agricultural sectors, including those small and medium-sized enterprises that are now so vital for income and employment.

The editors

Osita M. Ogbu has a doctorate in economics from Howard University and was a research economist with the Africa Technical Department of the World Bank in Washington. He is a senior regional program officer with the International Development Research Centre, responsible for the Economic and Technology Policy Program for eastern and southern Africa.

Banji Oyelaran-Oyeyinka has a doctorate in technology policy and industrialization management from the Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex, and also has a background in chemical engineering. After working in the petroleum and steel industries in Nigeria, he joined the Nigerian Institute for Social and Economic Research (NISER), where he is a senior research fellow.

Hasa Mfaume Mlawa has a doctorate in technology policy studies from the University of Sussex and is an associate professor in technology policy studies and director of the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Dar-es-Salaam. He has published his research on technology policy and industrial development in sub-Saharan Africa.

Technology Policy and Practice in Africa

Couverture du livre Technological Policy and Practice in Africa
Auteur(s) :
Osita M. Ogbu, Banji O. Oyeyinka et Hasa M. Mlawa
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1995-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
380 pages
e-ISBN :
1552503194

De profondes révolutions technologiques s’imposent dans les économies de l’Afrique si l’on veut y instaurer des changements structuraux rapides, ancrer davantage leur industrie et bâtir leur capacité technologue intérieure. Les études de cas présentées dans cet ouvrage démontrent qu’il faut accorder davantage d’attention à un environnement macroéconomique habilitant et à l’interdépendance entre l’environnement et une politique efficace en matière de technologie. Cette interaction devrait permettre d’acquérir du savoir en technologie, de faire les bons choix techniques, de créer les institutions appropriées et de gérer efficacement la technologie à la fois pour l’industrie et pour l’agriculture, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises qui jouent maintenant un rôle si vital dans le revenu et l’emploi

Les auteurs

Osita M. Ogbu a un doctorat en sciences économiques de l’Université Howard et a été économiste chercheur au Département technique de l’Afrique à la Banque mondiale à Washington. Il est administrateur régional principal de programmes au Centre de recherches pour le développement international, notamment chargé du programme Politiques économiques et technologiques pour l’Afrique orientale et australe.

Banji Oyelaran‑Oyeyinka est titulaire d’un doctorat en politique de la technologie et gestion de l’industrialisation du Service de recherche sur la politique scientifique de l’Université de Sussex. Il a aussi une formation en génie chimique. Après avoir travaillé dans les industries pétrolière et sidérurgique au Nigéria, il s’est joint à l’Institut pour la recherche sociale et économique du Nigéria (NISER), où il est chercheur principal.

Hasa Mfaume Mlawa a un doctorat en études sur les politiques de la technologie de l’Université de Sussex et est professeur agrégé en études sur les politiques de la technologie et directeur de l’Institut des études sur le développement à l’Université de Dar es-Salaam. Il a publié sa recherche sur les politiques de la technologie et le développement industriel en Afrique subsaharienne.