Taxation and Gender Equity: A Comparative Analysis of Direct and Indirect Taxes in Developing and Developed Countries

Book cover Taxation and Gender Equity: A Comparative Analysis of Direct and Indirect Taxes in Developing and Developed Countries
Editor(s):
Caren Grown and Imraan Valodia
Publisher(s):
Routledge, IDRC
2010-06-10
ISBN:
9780415568227
352 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504697

Equity issues are again attracting attention from academics and policy analysts concerned with taxation. This book makes a substantial contribution to this new awareness by emphasizing the important role that gender, like other social stratifications such as race and income, often plays in determining the impact of taxation on well-being.
— Richard Bird, University of Toronto, Canada

This groundbreaking volume examines the gender dimensions of tax systems in seven developing and one developed country and is the first systematic treatment of its kind. The conceptual framework that it poses should be part of the toolkit of policy professionals, donor staff, and gender specialists in years to come. 
 Manuel F. Montes, Development Policy and Analysis Division, UNDESA, USA

This highly original book is essential reading for everyone concerned with equality in taxation. It provides a powerful conceptual framework that goes beyond comparing male and female headed households and sets out detailed empirical findings on the gender dimensions of both direct and indirect taxation. 
 Diane Elson, Centre for Research in Economic Sociology and Innovation, University of Essex, and Chair of Women’s Budget Group, UK

Around the world, there are concerns that many tax codes are biased against women, and that contemporary tax reforms tend to increase the incidence of taxation on the poorest women while failing to generate enough revenue to fund the programs needed to improve these women’s lives. Because taxes are the key source of revenue governments themselves raise, understanding the nature and composition of taxation and current tax reform efforts is key to reducing poverty, providing sufficient revenue for public expenditure, and achieving social justice. This book presents original research on the gender dimensions of personal income taxes, value-added excise and fuel taxes in Argentina, Ghana, India, Mexico, Morocco, South Africa, Uganda, and the United Kingdom. It will be of interest to postgraduates and researchers studying public finance, international economics, development studies, gender studies, and international relations, among other disciplines.

The editors

Caren Grown is Economist-In-Residence at American University, Washington, DC, USA.

Imraan Valodia is Associate Professor at the School of Development Studies, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa.

Taxation and Gender Equity : A Comparative Analysis of Direct and Indirect Taxes in Developing and Developed Countries

Couverture du livre Taxation and Gender Equity : A Comparative Analysis of Direct and Indirect Taxes in Developing and Developed Countries
Directeur(s) :
Caren Grown et Imraan Valodia
Maison(s) d’édition :
Routledge, CDRI
2010-06-10
ISBN :
9780415568227
352 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504697

Les questions d’équité retiennent de nouveau l’attention des universitaires et des analystes des politiques s’intéressant à la fiscalité. Ce livre constitue un apport considérable à cette nouvelle prise de conscience en soulignant le rôle déterminant que l’appartenance à un sexe, à l’instar d’autres stratifications sociales telles que la race et le revenu, joue bien souvent dans l’impact de la fiscalité sur le bien-être.
Richard Bird, Université de Toronto, Canada

Cet ouvrage est le tout premier à examiner de façon systématique les dimensions sexospécifiques des systèmes fiscaux de sept pays en développement et d’un pays développé. Le cadre conceptuel qu’il utilise devrait être un outil dont se serviront les spécialistes des politiques, le personnel des organismes bailleurs de fonds et les spécialistes des sexospécificités pendant de nombreuses années.
Manuel F. Montes, Division de l’analyse des politiques de développement, DAESNU, États-Unis

Ce livre très original s’impose pour quiconque est concerné par l’égalité dans le domaine fiscal. Il fournit un cadre conceptuel puissant qui va au-delà de la comparaison entre les ménages dirigés par un homme et ceux dirigés par une femme et présente des constatations empiriques détaillées sur les dimensions sexospécifiques de la fiscalité directe et indirecte.
Diane Elson, Centre for Research in Economic Sociology and Innovation, Université de l’Essex, et présidente du Women’s Budget Group, Royaume-Uni

De par le monde, on se préoccupe de la partialité d’un grand nombre de codes fiscaux à l’égard des femmes et du fait que les réformes fiscales contemporaines ont tendance à accroître le fardeau fiscal des femmes les plus pauvres sans toutefois réussir à produire suffisamment de recettes pour financer les programmes nécessaires à l’amélioration de la condition de ces femmes. Les taxes et impôts étant la source primaire des recettes des gouvernements, il est essentiel de comprendre la nature et la teneur de la fiscalité et des réformes fiscales en cours si l’on veut réduire la pauvreté, veiller à ce que les recettes suffisent à couvrir les dépenses publiques et assurer la justice sociale. Cet ouvrage fait état de travaux de recherche originaux sur les dimensions sexospécifiques de l’impôt sur le revenu des particuliers et des taxes d’accise à valeur ajoutée et des taxes sur les carburants en Afrique du Sud, en Argentine, au Ghana, en Inde, au Maroc, au Mexique, en Ouganda et au Royaume-Uni. Il intéressera les étudiants des cycles supérieurs et les chercheurs dans les domaines des finances publiques, de l’économie internationale, des études du développement, des études féministes et des relations internationales, entre autres disciplines.

Les directeurs

Caren Grown économiste en résidence à l’American University, à Washington, aux États-Unis.

Imraan Valodia est professeur agrégé à la School of Development Studies de l’Université du KwaZulu-Natal, en Afrique du Sud.