South-South Collaboration in Health Biotechnology: Growing Partnerships amongst Developing Countries

Book cover South-South Collaboration in Health Biotechnology: Growing Partnerships amongst Developing Countries
Editor(s):
Halla Thorsteinsdóttir
Publisher(s):
Academic Foundation, IDRC
2012-01-01
ISBN:
9788171889099
296 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552505359

This book presents a detailed portrait of the contours of South-South collaboration in the health biotechnology sector. In particular, it casts revealing light on the factors that guide effective scientific partnerships and exchanges.

The key findings indicate that the level of South-South collaboration among researchers in health biotechnology remains low but is slowly increasing and that entrepreneurial collaboration seems to be more prevalent. Collaboration has helped to extend capacity in health biotechnology research, manufacturing, and innovation to an increasing number of developing countries and thereby lessened the divide between them. Such collaboration has strongly focused on shared health needs and has helped to increase the availability of more affordable health products and services. Governments and non-governmental organizations have also been able to foster closer ties between researchers by establishing programs and extending funding for collaboration. Nevertheless there is still a lack of dedicated resources.

The authors call on governments in developed countries and international or philanthropic organizations to promote South-South collaboration as a means of enhancing development and encouraging global health.

The editor

Halla Thorsteindóttir is an Associate Professor at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto, Canada. She is the recipient of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Institute of Genetics Maud Menten New Principal Investigator Prize (2005-2006), and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, New Principal Investigator Award (2007-2012).

South-South Collaboration in Health Biotechnology : Growing Partnerships amongst Developing Countries

Couverture du livre South-South Collaboration in Health Biotechnology
Directeur(s) :
Halla Thorsteinsdóttir
Maison(s) d’édition :
Academic Foundation, CRDI
2012-10-01
ISBN :
9788171889099
296 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552505359

Ce livre dresse un portrait détaillé du contexte dans lequel s’inscrit la collaboration Sud-Sud dans le domaine de la biotechnologie de la santé. Plus particulièrement, il jette un éclairage révélateur sur les facteurs qui orientent les échanges et les partenariats scientifiques efficaces.

Parmi les grandes constatations, il y a lieu de mentionner que la collaboration Sud-Sud des chercheurs oeuvrant dans le domaine de la biotechnologie de la santé est modeste, mais augmente lentement, tandis que les entreprises semblent collaborer davantage. La collaboration a contribué au renforcement des capacités d’un nombre croissant de pays en développement au chapitre de la recherche, de la fabrication et de l’innovation et a par conséquent amoindri l’écart entre les pays. Cette collaboration, fortement axée sur des besoins communs en matière de santé, a rendu les produits et les services de santé plus accessibles et plus abordables. Les gouvernements et les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) sont également parvenus à resserrer les liens entre les chercheurs en mettant en place des programmes et en prolongeant le financement destiné à la collaboration. Néanmoins, les ressources qui y sont réservées ne sont toujours pas suffisantes.

Les auteurs invitent les gouvernements des pays industrialisés, les organisations internationales et les organismes philanthropiques à faire la promotion de la collaboration Sud-Sud en tant que moyen permettant d’accroître le développement et de favoriser la santé mondiale.

Le directeur

Halla Thorsteindóttir est professeure agrégée à la Dalla Lana School of Public Health de l’Université de Toronto, au Canada. Elle a reçu le Prix pour nouveau chercheur principal Maud Menten de l’Institut de génétique des IRSC en 2005-2006 et une bourse de nouveau chercheur principal des IRSC pour la période allant de 2007 à 2012.