Science, Technology, and Innovation in Chile

Book cover Science, Technology, and Innovation in Chile
Author(s):
James Mullin, Robert M. Adam, Janet E. Halliwell, and Larry P. Milligan
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1999-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
168 pages
e-ISBN:
1552503151

Chile and Canada are two countries who share the challenge of creating and maintaining a vital "national system of innovation" to serve the needs of their resource-based economies. Chile and Canada also have a rich history of research collaboration, largely fostered by the activities of IDRC. With this in mind, and following a conversation between Canadian Prime Minister Jean Chrétien and Chilean President Eduardo Frei in 1997, IDRC and the Chilean National Council for Science and Technology (CONICYT) agreed to collaborate in a review of Chile's policies and programs in science and technology.

Science, Technology, and Innovation in Chile presents the results of that review. It gives the reader a detailed look into Chilean policies of science and technology, using the "national system of innovation" as its point of departure. The book proposes mechanisms for better public-sector coordination, reforms of public-sector technology institutes, and policies for training scientists and engineers. It will appeal to government officials and policymakers in science and technology; academics, researchers, professors, and university students in development studies, policy studies, and Latin American studies; public and private businesses involved, or interested in becoming involved, in the Chilean economy; and donor organizations and NGOs active in Chile and throughout Latin America.

The authors

James Mullin is currently President of Mullin Consulting Ltd (Canada). He is former Vice President, Program of IDRC and former Chair of the Committee on Science and Technology Policy for the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

Robert M. Adam is Deputy Director General of the Department of Arts, Culture, Science and Technology for the Government of South Africa. Dr Adams is responsible for the articulation of the science, technology, and innovation policy in South Africa and for implementation of the reform of the governmental system of science, engineering, and technology institutions.

Janet E. Halliwell is President of JEH Associates Ltd (Canada). Dr Halliwell is former Chair of the Science Council of Canada, former Chair of the Nova Scotia Council on Higher Education, and former Director General, Research Grants of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

Larry P. Milligan is Vice President, Research at the University of Guelph (Guelph, Canada). Dr Milligan is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a former member of the Prime Minister of Canada's National Advisory Board on Science and Technology.

Science, Technology, and Innovation in Chile

Couverture du livre Science, Technology, and Innovation in Chile
Auteur(s) :
James Mullin, Robert M. Adam, Janet E. Halliwell et Larry P. Milligan
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1999-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
168 pages
e-ISBN :
1552503151

Le Chili et le Canada sont deux pays qui doivent relever le défi de créer et de maintenir un « système national d’innovation » vital afin de répondre aux besoins de leur économie à base de ressources. Le Chili et le Canada ont aussi une riche histoire de collaboration en recherche, favorisée en grande partie par les activités du CRDI. C’est pourquoi, et à la suite d’une conversation qui a eu lieu entre le premier ministre Jean Chrétien du Canada et le président Eduardo Frei du Chili en 1997, le CRDI et le Conseil national des sciences et de la technologie du Chili (CONICYT) ont convenu de collaborer à une étude sur les politiques et les programmes de sciences et de technologie du Chili.

Science, Technology, and Innovation in Chile présente les résultats de cette étude. Les lecteurs y trouveront une analyse détaillée des politiques sur les sciences et la technologie du Chili qui part du « système d’innovation national ». On y propose des moyens d’améliorer la coordination du secteur public, des réformes des institutions de technologie du secteur public, ainsi que des politiques sur la formation de scientifiques et d’ingénieurs. Il intéressera les dirigeants gouvernementaux et les responsables des politiques sur les sciences et la technologie, les théoriciens, les chercheurs, les enseignants et les étudiants d’université dans les secteurs des études du développement, des études des politiques et des études latino-américaines, les entreprises publiques et privées actives dans l’économie du Chili ou intéressées à le devenir, ainsi que les bailleurs de fonds et les ONG actifs au Chili et en Amérique latine.

Les auteurs

James Mullin est actuellement président de Mullin Consulting Ltd (Canada). Il a déjà été vice-président aux programmes du CRDI et président du Comité de la politique scientifique et technologique du l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques.

Robert M. Adam est directeur général adjoint du ministère des Arts, de la Culture, des Sciences et de la Technologie au gouvernement de l’Afrique du Sud. M. Adam est chargé de formuler les politiques sur les sciences, la technologie et l’innovation en Afrique du Sud et de mettre en œuvre la réforme du système gouvernemental d’institutions en sciences, en génie et en technologie.

Janet E. Halliwell est présidente de JEH Associates Ltd (Canada). Mme Halliwell a déjà présidé le Conseil des sciences du Canada et le Conseil de l’enseignement supérieur de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Elle a déjà été directrice générale, Subventions de recherche, au Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada.

Larry P. Milligan est vice-président à la recherche à Université de Guelph (Guelph, Canada). M. Milligan est Fellow de la Société royale du Canada et ancien membre du Conseil consultatif national sur les sciences et la technologie du premier ministre du Canada.