Skip to main content

Return to Resistance: Breeding Crops to Reduce Pesticide Dependence

Author(s)
Raoul Robinson
Publisher(s)
IDRC
ISBN
0889367744
e-ISBN
9781552503638

Available formats

"We are approaching the biologic limits of what this planet can support. Only by implementing some of the basic concepts that have been advanced and publicized by Dr Robinson, can an increasing world population be fed, while preserving our natural resources and the quality of our environment."
— John S. Niederhauser, PhD (1990 recipient of the World Food Prize)

In the tradition of Silent Spring, Raoul Robinson's Return to Resistance calls for a revolution. Traditional plant breeding techniques have led us to depend more and more on chemical pesticides to protect ourcrops. Return to Resistance shows gardeners, farmers, and plant breeders how to use a long-neglected technique to create hardy new plant varieties that are naturally resistant to pests and disease.

Horizontal resistance breeding has been largely ignored in this century due to the popularity and apparent successes of the Mendelian geneticists. However the colossal, unrecognized failure of modern crops is their extreme susceptiblity to pests and diseases, and the consequent necessity to spray them repeatedly with pesticides. We have come to accept exposure to pesticides in our food as a necessary evil.

Return to Resistance provides 

  • Stimulating discussion of the pitfalls of classical plant breeding and the Green Revolution 
  • Case histories of crops that have been successfully bred to overcome blights and insects 
  • A detailed encyclopedia of plant breeding techniques 
  • Information on how to organize plant breeding clubs 

The book includes an extensive glossary, a bibliography, and a complete index.

The author

Raoul A. Robinson is a Canadian/British plant scientist with more than 40 years of wide-ranging experience in crop improvement for both commercial and subsistence agriculture. Over the course of his adventurous and productive career, Dr Robinson has concentrated most intensively on maize, potatoes, beans, and coffee. In addition, he has worked with cotton, tomatoes, dates, wheat, alfalfa, cocoa, cassava, coconut, tobacco, taro, sweet potato, vanilla, black pepper, and other crops.

Return to Resistance : Breeding Crops to Reduce Pesticide Dependence

Couverture du livre Return to Resistance : Breeding Crops to Reduce Pesticide Dependence
Auteur(s) :
Raoul Robinson
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1995-12-01
ISBN :
0889367744
436 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552503638

"Les limites biologiques de ce que la planète peut supporter approchent. C'est seulement en mettant en œuvre certains des concepts de base proposés et diffusés par le Dr Robinson que l'on pourra nourrir une population mondiale de plus en plus nombreuse tout en préservant les ressources naturelles et la qualité de l'environnement. "
— John S. Niederhauser, PhD (Lauréat 1990 du Prix mondial de l'alimentation)

Dans la tradition de Silent Spring, Return to Resistance de Raoul Robinson préconise une révolution. Les techniques de phytosélection traditionnelles nous ont amenés à dépendre de plus en plus des produits chimiques antiparasitaires pour protéger nos cultures. Return to Resistance montre aux jardiniers, aux agriculteurs et aux phytosélectionneurs à utiliser une technique oubliée depuis longtemps pour créer de nouvelles variétés végétales robustes qui résistent naturellement aux parasites et aux maladies.

On a oublié en grande partie au cours du siècle la phytosélection pour résistance horizontale à cause la popularité et des réussites apparentes des généticiens mendéliens. La lacune colossale et oubliée des cultures modernes réside toutefois dans leur vulnérabilité extrême aux parasites et aux maladies et dans l'obligation qui en découle de les arroser régulièrement de produits antiparasitaires. Nous en sommes venus à accepter comme un mal nécessaire l'exposition aux produits antiparasitaires dans nos aliments.

Return to Resistance présente

  • une discussion stimulante sur les pièges de la phytosélection classique et la révolution verte;
  • des histoires de cas portant sur des cultures que l'on a réussi à sélectionner pour vaincre le mildiou et les insectes;
  • une encyclopédie détaillée de techniques de phytosélection;
  • de l'information sur la façon d'organiser des clubs de phytosélection;
  • un glossaire détaillé, une bibliographie et un index complet.

L'auteur

Raoul A. Robinson est un phytoscientifique canadien/britannique qui, en plus de 40 ans, a acquis une vaste expérience de l'amélioration des cultures à la fois pour l'agriculture commerciale et pour l'agriculture de subsistance. Pendant sa carrière aventureuse et productive, M. Robinson a concentré ses efforts principalement sur le maïs, la pomme de terre, les haricots et le café. Il a en outre travaillé sur les cultures suivantes : coton, tomate, datte, blé, luzerne, cacao, manioc, noix de coco, tabac, chou-chine, patate douce, vanille, poivre noir, notamment.