Research and International Trade Policy Negotiations: Knowledge and Power in Latin America

Book cover Research and International Trade Policy Negotiations: Knowledge and Power in Latin America
Editor(s):
Mercedes Botto
Publisher(s):
Routledge, IDRC
2009-10-08
ISBN:
9780415801911
246 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504512

Through the 1980s and 1990s, most countries of Latin America embarked upon a process of trade liberalization and economic internationalization. Later, this process was deepened and entrenched through negotiations at the World Trade Organization (WTO) and, today, remains as a fundamental pillar of Latin America’s development strategy into the 21st century.

These international trade negotations, however, have posed great challenges and demands. As they proceed well beyond the reduction of tariffs (regularly moving into new policy areas such as free trade), those sectors excluded from the benefits brought about by liberalization struggle to impose their own interests. This book examines the role of academic research in the process of trade negotiation. It analyzes the main obstacles and difficulties in linking research with decision-making, and proposes recommendations for the future.

The book is particularly intended for academics (including graduate and undergraduate students), researchers, and professionals n development studies, comparative politics, international political economy, and Latin American studies. It will also be useful for decision-makers and policy advisors involved in trade negotiations and the formulation of trade policy.

The editor

Mercedes Botto is Senior Researcher at FLACSO, the Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales, in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Research and International Trade Policy Negotiations : Knowledge and Power in Latin America

Couverture du livre Research and International Trade Policy Negotiations: Knowledge and Power in Latin America
Directeur(s) :
Mercedes Botto
Maison(s) d’édition :
Routledge, CRDI
2009-10-08
ISBN :
9780415801911
246 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504512

Dans les années 1980 et 1990, la plupart des pays d’Amérique latine ont amorcé un processus de libéralisation des échanges et d’internationalisation économique. Plus tard, ce processus s’est approfondi et ancré à la faveur des négociations de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) et il demeure, aujourd’hui, un pilier fondamental de la stratégie du développement de l’Amérique latine au XXIe siècle.

Ces négociations commerciales internationales ont cependant posé des défis et des exigences considérables. À mesure qu’on progresse au-delà de la réduction des obstacles tarifaires (en se tournant vers de nouveaux mécanismes comme le libre-échange par exemple), les secteurs qui ne profitent pas des avantages découlant de la libéralisation luttent pour imposer leurs intérêts. Ce livre examine le rôle de la recherche universitaire dans le processus de négociation commerciale. Il analyse les principaux obstacles et difficultés pour ce qui est de jeter des ponts entre la recherche et la prise de décisions et il propose des recommandations pour l’avenir.

L’ouvrage s’adresse tout particulièrement aux universitaires (y compris les étudiants diplômés ou non), aux chercheurs et aux professionnels dans les domaines du développement, de la politique comparative, de l’économie politique internationale et des études latino-américaines. Il sera également utile aux décideurs et conseillers en politiques engagés dans les négociations commerciales et chargés de la formulation de politiques commerciales.

Le directeur

Mercedes Botto est chercheure principale à la Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales (FLACSO) à Buenos Aires, en Argentine.