Réglementation et supervision des institutions de microfinance en Afrique centrale

Book cover: Réglementation et supervision des institutions de microfinance en Afrique centrale
Editor(s):
Elias T. Ayuk and Georges Kobou
Publisher(s):
IDRC
2016-07-30
ISBN:
978-1-55250-591-5
182 pages
e-ISBN:
978-1-55250-594-6

Microfinance institutions (MFIs) work with a client base that is for the most part excluded from the formal banking system. Given that they operate by collecting the savings of the poor in rural areas, it is important to develop regulatory frameworks to protect the clients of these institutions. Two approaches are typically used to regulate MFIs: either modifying the existing regulations, or proposing new ones. A book entitled Réglementation et supervision des institutions de microfinance en Afrique centrale presents a review of regulation and oversight of MFIs in four central African countries: Cameroon, Congo, Gabon and Chad.

This book is the product of a project funded by the International Development Research Centre (IDRC) within the context of the “Globalization, Growth and Poverty” program. Each country's case study was conducted by a prominent researcher or specialist in the field. In terms of the issues these countries face regarding the sustainability of MFIs, the book should serve as a reference on the challenges surrounding regulation and oversight of these institutions. It should also help the scientific community, decision-makers and other development partners to better understand and navigate the ins and outs of MFI regulation and oversight.

The editors

Elias T. Ayuk is the Director of the United Nations University Institute for Natural Resources in Africa (UNU-INRA) in Accra, Ghana, and was previously a Senior Program Specialist with the International Research Development Centre (IDRC).

Georges Kobou is a Professor of Economics and Honorary Dean of the School of Economics and Management, University of Yaoundé II, in Cameroon.

Réglementation et supervision des institutions de microfinance en Afrique centrale

Page couverture du livre :  Réglementation et supervision des institutions de microfinance en Afrique centrale
Directeur(s) :
Elias T. Ayuk et Georges Kobou
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
2016-07-30
ISBN :
978-1-55250-591-5
182 pages
e-ISBN :
978-1-55250-594-6

Les institutions de microfinance (IMF) interviennent auprès d’une clientèle qui est dans la majorité exclue du système bancaire formel. Étant donné qu’elles opèrent dans la collecte de l’épargne des pauvres en milieu rural, il est important de développer des cadres réglementaires qui protègent les clients de ces institutions. Deux approches sont habituellement utilisées pour réguler l’activité des IMF: soit modifier des réglementations existantes, soit proposer de nouvelles. Le livre intitulé Réglementation et supervision des institutions de microfinance en Afrique centrale présente une revue de la réglementation et de la supervision des IMF dans quatre pays d’Afrique centrale : Cameroun, Congo, Gabon et Tchad.

Ce livre est le produit d’un projet financé par le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI) dans le cadre du programme « mondialisation, croissance et pauvreté ». L’étude de cas pour chaque pays a été faite par un éminent chercheur ou spécialiste de la question. Au regard des problèmes que rencontrent ces pays en ce qui concerne la pérennité des IMF, le livre devrait servir de référence par rapport aux défis de la réglementation et de la supervision de celles-ci. Il devrait également aider la communauté scientifique, les décideurs et d’autres partenaires au développement à mieux cerner les contours de la réglementation et de la supervision des IMF.

Les directeurs

Elias T. Ayuk est directeur de l’Institut des ressources naturelles en Afrique de l’Université des Nations Unies à Accra au Ghana et précédemment spécialiste de programme principal au Centre des recherches pour le développement international (CRDI).

Georges Kobou est professeur d’économie et doyen honoraire à la Faculté des sciences économiques et de gestion de l’Université de Yaoundé II, Cameroun.