Putting Knowledge to Work: Collaborating, Influencing and Learning for International Development

Book Cover: Putting knowledge to work
Editor(s):
Luc J.A. Mougeot
Publisher(s):
Practical Action Publishing, IDRC
2017-02-15
ISBN:
9781780449586
200 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552505939

Dramatic changes in the ecosystem for international development are now pressing civil society organizations (CSOs) to invest more in knowledge to remain significant players. While the need for creative thinking and experimentation is greater than ever, there is still very little research published on challenges experienced and solutions found by CSOs as they adjust to the global changes underway.

Funders and beneficiaries are pressing CSOs to be more professional and efficient, and more strategic and impactful, but the key role that knowledge plays in the efforts of non-governmental organizations (NGOs) remains often underrated, even by NGOs themselves. Putting Knowledge to Work explores how the brains of such organizations actually function to deliver outcomes and impacts.

Upstream from end results themselves, the book examines how CSOs access, generate, apply, and grow their intelligence, knowledge, and know-how to protect children, improve public security, reduce ethnic discrimination, grow local value chains, expand water resources, and generally make our societies more inclusive and just. How do CSOs obtain the knowledge they need to accomplish these tasks? How do they cooperate with other organizations to produce workable knowledge? And how do they learn from practice to increase their impact?

This book should be read by students and researchers in the field of international development, and those who work at CSOs, in government, and for philanthropic organizations.

The editor

Photo of Luc J.A. MougeotLuc J.A. Mougeot is a Senior Program Specialist at IDRC. He has over 13 years of experience conducting research in the Global South and more than 25 years working for this grant-making agency for international development research, including supporting collaborative research between Canadian and Global South academic and non-governmental organizations.

Contributors

Megan Bradley is Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Development Studies at McGill University. She is the author of Refugee Repatriation: Justice, Responsibility and Redress (Cambridge University Press, 2013) and the editor of Forced Migration, Reconciliation and Justice (McGill–Queen’s University Press, 2015). She holds a doctorate in International Relations from St Antony’s College, University of Oxford.

Elena Chernikova is an Analyst at Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada in Ottawa. She previously worked with Statistics Canada, Graybridge Malkam, Citizenship and Immigration Canada, and Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, in Ottawa. She holds an MA in globalization and international development from the University of Ottawa and a PhD in comparative languages and cultures from Moscow State Linguistics University. Her postgraduate fellowship at Kent State University, USA, focused on the internationalization of higher education. Elena immigrated from Yakutia, Russian Siberia.

Stacie Travers is Director of International Projects and Education at Tourism HR Canada, an Ottawa-based non-profit. Previously, she managed international mobility and award programmes with the Canadian Bureau for International Education and the International Development Research Centre, respectively. She holds an MA in educational studies with a concentration in adult education from Concordia University in Montreal.

Eric Smith is Writer, Grants and Proposals, at Saint Francis Xavier University’s Coady International Institute in Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada. Before joining Coady, Eric worked with Genuine Progress Index Atlantic, supporting youth learning initiatives in India. From 2013 to 2015, Eric worked with IDRC’s Canadian Partnerships programme, and later its Fellowships and Awards programme. Eric holds a Master’s in Political Science and a BHum in Humanities and Philosophy, both from Carleton University.

Putting Knowledge to Work : Collaborating, Influencing and Learning for International Development

Page couverture du livre : Putting knowledge to work
Directeur(s) :
Luc J.A. Mougeot
Maison(s) d’édition :
Practical Action Publishing, CRDI
2017-02-15
ISBN :
9781780449586
200 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552505939

En raison des changements importants dans l’écosystème du développement international, les organisations de la société civile (OSC) doivent maintenant investir davantage dans la production de connaissances pour conserver leur place. À une période où il est plus important que jamais de faire preuve de créativité et d’expérimenter, peu de recherches ont été publiées sur les difficultés éprouvées par les OSC, et les solutions qu’elles ont adoptées, tandis qu’elles doivent s’adapter aux changements mondiaux.

Les bailleurs de fonds et les bénéficiaires font pression auprès des OSC pour qu’elles soient plus professionnelles, efficaces, stratégiques et pertinentes, mais le rôle clé qu’exercent les connaissances dans les efforts déployés par les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) est souvent sous-estimé, et ce, même par les ONG. Putting Knowledge to Work se penche sur la manière dont les penseurs de telles organisations mènent leurs activités pour obtenir des résultats et avoir un impact.

En amont des résultats finaux, le livre examine la manière dont les OSC gèrent l’utilisation, la création, la mise en oeuvre et la croissance de leurs renseignements, de leurs connaissances et du savoir-faire nécessaire à la protection des enfants, améliorent la sécurité publique, luttent contre la discrimination ethnique, élargissent les ressources en eau, assurent la croissance des chaînes de valeurs locales et contribuent à faire de notre société un milieu plus inclusif et juste. Comment les OSC obtiennent-elles les connaissances nécessaires à la réalisation de ces tâches ? De quelle façon collaborent-elles avec d’autres organisations afin de produire des connaissances viables ? Enfin, quelles leçons tirent-elles de leur pratique afin d’accroître leur impact ?

Les étudiants et les chercheurs du domaine du développement international, ainsi que ceux qui travaillent au sein d’OSC, de gouvernements et d’organismes philanthropiques devraient lire cet ouvrage.

Le directeur

Photo of Luc J.A. MougeotLuc J.A. Mougeot est spécialiste de programmes principal au CRDI. Il compte plus de 13 ans d’expérience de l’exécution de travaux de recherche dans les pays du Sud. Il travaille depuis plus de 25 ans pour un organisme d’octroi de subventions destinées à la recherche pour le développement international, y compris à la recherche menée conjointement par des universitaires canadiens et des pays du Sud ainsi que des organisations non gouvernementales.

Contributeurs

Megan Bradley occupe le poste de professeure adjointe en sciences politiques et développement international à l’Université McGill. Elle est l’auteure de Refugee Repatriation : Justice, Responsibility and Redress (Presses de l’Université Cambridge, 2013) et l’éditrice de Forced Migration, Reconciliation and Justice (Presses des universités McGill et Queen, 2015). Elle a obtenu un doctorat en relations internationales du collège St Anthony de l’Université d’Oxford.

Elena Chernikova est une analyste aux Affaires autochtones et du Nord à Ottawa. Elle a précédemment oeuvré au sein de Statistique Canada, Graybridge Malkam, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada et Emploi et Développement social Canada, à Ottawa. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en mondialisation et développement international de l’Université d’Ottawa et d’un doctorat en cultures et langues comparatives de l’Université linguistique d’État de Moscou. Le sujet de ses études postdoctorales, à la Kent State University, aux États-Unis, portait sur l’internationalisation de l’enseignement supérieur. Elena a immigré de la République de Sakha, en Sibérie russe.

Stacie Travers est la directrice des projets internationaux et de l’éducation chez RH Tourisme Canada, une compagnie sans but lucratif à Ottawa. Avant d’être nommée à ce poste, elle gérait les programmes de mobilité internationale et de prix pour le compte du Bureau canadien de l’éducation internationale et du Centre de recherches pour le développement international, respectivement Stacie est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences de l’éducation avec une spécialisation en éducation des adultes de l’Université Concordia à Montréal.

Eric Smith est responsable de la rédaction des subventions et des offres de services au Coady International Institute de l’Université St. Francis Xavier à Antigonish (Nouvelle-Écosse) au Canada. Avant de se joindre au Coady Institute, Eric a travaillé avec l’Indice de progrès véritable – Atlantique à l’appui des initiatives d’apprentissage visant les jeunes en Inde. Il a travaillé pour le compte du programme Partenariats canadiens du CRDI de 2013 à 2015 pour ensuite se joindre au Programme de bourses. Eric est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences politiques et d’un baccalauréat en sciences humaines et en philosophie de l’Université Carleton.