Primary Healthcare Spending: Striving for Equity under Fiscal Federalism

Book cover Primary Healthcare Spending: Striving for Equity under Fiscal Federalism
Author(s):
Okore Apia Okorafor
Publisher(s):
UCT Press, IDRC
2010-04-01
ISBN:
9781919895215
200 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504895

The geography of healthcare financing is important in addressing inequities and inequalities in population health. This is particularly true in developing countries where there are significant disparities in socioeconomic and health status between regions. Many countries, however, are adopting a fiscal federal system, in which decision-making about the use of state financial resources is granted to lower levels of government. What impact does this have on the equitable distribution of resources to primary health care? Decentralization has the potential to improve the efficiency of health service delivery and speed up the response to community needs, but are sufficient funds being allocated to where they are most needed?

This book highlights key factors that can help to achieve equity in the allocation of primary healthcare resources within fiscal federal systems and decentralized health systems in general. It explores a wide range of ways of spending found in fiscal federal systems around the world and how they influence the equitable distribution of primary healthcare resources. Although South Africa is used as a case for discussion, the issues raised in the book are relevant to all countries operating under a fiscal federal system and those that operate a decentralized health system.

Primary Healthcare Spending is an important reference for policymakers in health organizations, researchers in the field of health policy and health economics, agencies involved in providing support to health systems, and students in the area of health administration and health policy.

The author

Okore Apia Okorafor is a health economist currently working in the private medical industry (Medi-Clinic Southern Africa). He completed his PhD at the University of Cape Town, South Africa, where he was a lecturer and researcher in health economics for several years. He also has experience in providing technical support around equitable resource distribution to various ministries of health in Africa.

Primary Healthcare Spending : Striving for Equity under Fiscal Federalism

Couverture du livre Primary Healthcare Spending: Striving for Equity under Fiscal Federalism
Auteur(s) :
Okore Apia Okorafor
Maison(s) d’édition :
UCT Press, CRDI
2010-04-01
ISBN :
9781919895215
200 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504895

La géographie du financement des services de santé est importante pour l’atténuation des injustices et des inégalités en ce qui concerne la santé de la population. Cela est particulièrement vrai dans les pays en développement où les disparités sur le plan socioéconomique et de l’état de santé entre les régions sont très marquées. Cependant, un grand nombre de pays adoptent le fédéralisme fiscal, régime en vertu duquel le pouvoir de décision sur l’affectation des ressources financières de l’État est délégué à des ordres de gouvernement inférieurs. Quelles répercussions ce régime a-t-il sur la répartition équitable des ressources dans le secteur des soins de santé primaires ? La décentralisation rend possibles une efficacité accrue de la prestation des services de santé et une réponse plus prompte aux besoins des collectivités, mais affecte-t-on des fonds suffisants là où les besoins se font le plus sentir ?

Ce livre met en relief les facteurs clés qui peuvent contribuer à une affectation équitable des ressources consacrées aux soins de santé primaires en régime de fédéralisme fiscal et dans le cadre des systèmes de santé décentralisés en général. Il explore les voies et moyens multiples mis en oeuvre dans le monde en ce qui a trait aux dépenses de santé engagées en régime de fédéralisme fiscal et cerne la façon dont ces solutions influent sur la répartition équitable des ressources consacrées aux soins de santé primaires. Bien que le cas de l’Afrique du Sud soit examiné pour fins de discussion, les questions soulevées dans le livre s’avèrent pertinentes pour tous les pays qui pratiquent le fédéralisme fiscal et ceux qui adoptent un système de santé décentralisé.

Primary Healthcare Spending est un ouvrage de référence destiné aux responsables des politiques au sein d’organismes de santé, aux chercheurs dans les domaines de la politique et de l’économie de la santé, aux organismes qui fournissent un soutien aux systèmes de santé et aux étudiants en administration et politique de la santé.

L'auteur

Okore Apia Okorafor est un économiste de la santé qui oeuvre dans le secteur médical privé (société Medi-Clinic Southern Africa). Il a obtenu un doctorat à l’Université du Cap, en Afrique du Sud, puis y a été chargé de cours et chercheur en économie de la santé pendant plusieurs années. Il a également fourni un soutien technique à divers ministères de la santé en Afrique en vue d’une répartition équitable des ressources.