Preserving the Dnipro River: Harmony, History, and Rehabilitation

Book cover Preserving the Dnipro River: Harmony, History, and Rehabilitation
Author(s):
V.Y. Shevchuk, G.O. Bilyavsky, V.M. Navrotsky, and O.O. Mazurkevich
Publisher(s):
Mosiac Press, IDRC
2005-04-01
ISBN:
0889628270
128 pages
e-ISBN:
1552501388

Available formats

The Dnipro River is Europe’s second longest river and flows through the heartland of Russia, Belarus, and Ukraine. For many centuries, it has played a vital role in the historical, cultural, religious and economic development of this vast region. Indeed, it is true to say that nobody can understand this vast region of the world without understanding the dynamic and pivotal role played by this water system.

Preserving the Dnipro River is based on a major international research project directed by Ukrainian and Canadian scientists begun in 1994 and completed in 2001. It describes the importance of the Dnipro from an historical perspective, details the steps taken by these international scientists to overcome the river’s environmental degradation, and outlines a strategy to rehabilitate and preserve the Dnipro’s unique biodiversity. This volume also explores a unique approach to sustainable management that blends together both natural and spiritual concerns and draws together philosophical concepts from numerous intellectual traditions, bridging East and West, North and South. The surprising result is a definition and elaboration of a unique approach to sustainable research that meshes the harmonious coexistence of nature and society.

Preserving the Dnipro River presents a succinct, yet powerful and comprehensive message that caring for our planet and achieving the objectives of sustainable development cannot be achieved without a genuine renaissance of “spirituality” and a dedication to living in true harmony with nature.

Preserving the Dnipro River : Harmony, History, and Rehabilitation

Couverture du livre Preserving the Dnipro River : Harmony, History, and Rehabilitation
Auteur(s) :
V.Y. Shevchuk, G.O. Bilyavsky, V.M. Navrotsky et O.O. Mazurkevich
Maison(s) d’édition :
Mosiac Press, CRDI
2005-04-01
ISBN :
0889628270
128 pages
e-ISBN :
1552501388

Le Dniepr est le deuxième plus long fleuve d'Europe et coule au cœur de la Russie, du Bélarus et de l'Ukraine. Pendant de nombreux siècles, le fleuve a joué un rôle vital dans le développement historique, culturel, religieux et économique de cette immense région. On peut en effet affirmer que personne ne peut comprendre cette vaste région du monde sans connaître la place dynamique et primordiale qu'a tenue ce réseau fluvial.

Preserving the Dnipro River rend compte d'un projet international de recherche de très grande envergure commencé en 1994 et achevé en 2001 sous la direction de scientifiques ukrainiens et canadiens. Il retrace l'importance du Dniepr dans une perspective historique, décrit les mesures prises par cette équipe internationale de scientifiques pour mettre un frein à la dégradation environnementale du fleuve et expose une stratégie destinée à restaurer et à préserver sa biodiversité unique. Ce volume décline également une démarche originale pour une gestion durable dans laquelle convergent le souci de la nature et les valeurs spirituelles et qui rapproche des concepts philosophiques issus de nombreuses traditions intellectuelles, jetant ainsi un pont entre l'Est et l'Ouest, le Nord et le Sud. Le résultat surprenant est la définition et l'élaboration d'une approche de recherche porteuse où nature et société coexistent en harmonie.

Preserving the Dnipro River présente un message succinct mais vibrant et démontrant sans restriction qu'on ne peut se porter au secours de notre planète et atteindre les objectifs du développement durable sans une renaissance authentique de la « spiritualité » et l'engagement à vivre en véritable harmonie avec la nature.