Policy and Practice in Asian Distance Education

Book cover Policy and Practice in Asian Distance Education
Editor(s):
Tian Belawati and Jon Baggaley
Publisher(s):
SAGE, IDRC
2010-11-10
ISBN:
9788132105626
284 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552505038

Available formats

This book has been designed for the orientation and training of specialists in open and distance learning methods in Asia. It is the outcome of the collaborative PANdora research and development initiative (2005–2008) between 24 open and distance learning (ODL) institutions, government departments, and nongovernmental organizations in 13 Asian countries.

The need for thrift and ingenuity in distance education (DE) methods in Asia has made Asian DE researchers and practitioners contemplate novel technological methods in DE—open-source software, cell-phone SMS, etc.—from which information and communication technology professionals in all parts of the world can learn.

The guidelines in the book have been designed in modular form so that selected sections can be combined according to users’ needs and translated into local languages in keeping with the PANdora network’s open resources philosophy. Individual chapters and their combinations can be used in specific training contexts. Although the focus of the book is the educational sector in Asia, the guidelines proposed have worldwide application.

The editors

Tian Belawati is Rector, Universitas Terbuka (Indonesia Open University), Indonesia.

Jon Baggaley is Professor of Educational Technology, Centre for Distance Education, Athabasca University, Alberta, Canada.

Policy and Practice in Asian Distance Education

Couverture du livre Policy and Practice in Asian Distance Education
Directeur(s) :
Tian Belawati et Jon Baggaley
Maison(s) d’édition :
SAGE, CRDI
2010-11-10
ISBN :
9788132105626
284 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552505038

Ce livre a été conçu pour l’orientation et la formation de spécialistes des méthodes d’apprentissage ouvert et à distance en Asie. Il est l’aboutissement du projet concerté de recherche et de développement PANdora (2005-2008) auquel participent 24 institutions d’apprentissage ouvert et à distance, ministères et organisations non gouvernementales de 13 pays d’Asie.

Le souci d’économie et le besoin d’inventivité au regard des méthodes d’enseignement à distance en Asie ont amené les chercheurs et les praticiens du continent à envisager l’application de nouvelles méthodes technologiques — logiciels en libre accès, SMS, etc. — susceptibles de s’avérer profitables pour les professionnels des technologies de l’information et de la communication dans le monde entier.

Les lignes directrices proposées dans l’ouvrage sont présentées sous forme de modules afin que des sections données puissent être combinées en fonction des besoins des utilisateurs et traduites dans les langues locales conformément à la démarche de ressources en libre accès privilégiée par le réseau PANdora. Bien que le livre ait pour objet le secteur de l’enseignement en Asie, les lignes directrices ont une application universelle.

Les directeurs

Tian Belawati est recteure de l’Universitas Terbuka (Indonesia Open University), en Indonésie.

Jon Baggaley est professeur de technologie éducative au Centre for Distance Education de l’Université Athabasca, en Alberta, au Canada.