Municipal Forest Management in Latin America

Book cover Municipal Forest Management in Latin America
Editor(s):
Lyès Ferroukhi
Publisher(s):
CIFOR, IDRC
2004-01-01
ISBN:
9793361301
236 pages
e-ISBN:
1552501310

Available formats

What factors triggered the municipalization of forest management in Latin America? How is this process evolving in reality? Is the decentralization jeopardizing the region’s forests or fostering sustainable development? Are there any concrete municipal forest management schemes we could use as models to develop policies?

The content, scope and conflicting goals of Latin America’s decentralization initiatives in forest management vary to a significant extent upon the context prevailing in each country. The decentralization efforts are spreading across the region and the municipalities may now play a greater role in the management of their natural resources and seize the resulting benefits.

The book was written for three different purposes: (i) better understand the types of powers assigned to municipalities to this day, (ii) better understand the increasingly important role played by municipalities in forest management, (iii) analyze the opportunities that were created and the challenges faced by the decentralization processes in the region.

The book compiles findings from in-depth studies conducted in 6 countries: Bolivia, Brazil, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras and Guatemala. It uncovers some significant forest management schemes initiated by municipalities on the regional, national and local levels. The book’s authors hope that their research findings appeal to departmental and municipal public servants, decision-makers, project technicians, researchers, international cooperation agencies professionals, municipal technicians, and organization workers and that they help them better understand municipal forest management.

The editor

Lyès Ferroukhi is a PhD candidate at Stockholm’s Royal Institute of Technology. He holds a Master in Sciences and a Master in Agronomy and Natural Resources Management from the University for Agricultural Sciences in Uppsala, Sweden. He developed and coordinated numerous projects and publications on decentralized natural resources management in Africa and Latin America. He worked in the Community forestry Unit at the FAO, in Rome, where he led the African programs. He now coordinates the projects called Municipal Forest Management in Latin America – the object of this book – and Local Management of Natural Resources in Central America. Both projects are administered by the Center for International Forestry Research (CIFOR).

 

Edición español: Descargar PDF

Municipal Forest Management in Latin America

Couverture du livre Municipal Forest Management in Latin America
Directeur(s) :
Lyès Ferroukhi
Maison(s) d’édition :
CIFOR, CRDI
2004-01-01
ISBN :
9793361301
101,209 pages
e-ISBN :
1552501310

Quels sont les facteurs à l’origine de la municipalisation de la gestion forestière en Amérique latine? Comment ce processus a-t-il évolué dans la pratique? La décentralisation de la gestion forestière met-elle les forêts en danger ou favorise-t-elle la gestion durable de la ressource? Pourrait-on s’inspirer d’expériences concrètes de gestion forestière dans l’élaboration de nouvelles politiques à cet égard ?

En Amérique latine, le contenu, la portée et les objectifs des initiatives de décentralisation de la gestion forestière varient considérablement d’un pays à l’autre en fonction des contextes. Néanmoins, le processus de décentralisation gagne en force dans la région, et les municipalités ont aujourd’hui la possibilité de participer davantage à la gestion des ressources naturelles et de profiter des avantages qui en découlent.

Cela dit, la rédaction du livre tient du besoin de mieux comprendre les différents types de pouvoirs attribués aux municipalités, de mieux saisir le rôle croissant de ces dernières dans la gestion forestière et d’analyser tant les possibilités crées par les processus de décentralisation que les risques qui y sont liés.

Le livre présente les résultats des longues recherches réalisées dans six pays d’Amérique latine, à savoir la Bolivie, le Brésil, le Costa Rica, le Nicaragua, le Honduras et le Guatemala. Les auteurs y relatent les expériences de gestion des forets initiées par des municipalités dans différents contextes locaux, régionaux et nationaux. Ils fondent l’espoir que le livre attirera l’attention des fonctionnaires ministériels, des législateurs, des techniciens de projets, des chercheurs et des experts des organisations de coopération internationale, des maires, associations et fonctionnaires municipaux et qu’il puisse améliorer leur compréhension du monde de la foresterie.

Le directeur

Lyès Ferroukhi est candidate au doctorat à l’Institut royal de technologie de Stockholm. Elle détient une maîtrise en sciences du sol et une autre en agronomie et gestion des ressources naturelles de l’Université suédoise des sciences agricoles de Uppsala. Elle a conçu et coordonné de nombreux projets, recherches et publications sur des sujets liés à la gestion décentralisée des ressources naturelles en Afrique et en Amérique latine. Elle a travaillé dans l’Unité de foresterie communautaire de la FAO, à Rome, à titre de responsable des programmes en Afrique. Elle vit maintenant en Amérique centrale où elle travaille comme consultante et coordonne diverses études portant sur la gestion municipale des forêts et la gestion décentralisée des ressources naturelles. Elle coordonne actuellement les projets Gestion municipale des forêts d’Amérique latine dont le livre s’inspire et Gestion locale des ressources naturelles d’Amérique centrale. Tous deux sont administrés par le Centre de recherche forestière internationale (CRFI).

 

Edición español: Descargar PDF