Market Dynamics and Productivity in Developing Countries: Economic Reforms in the Middle East and North Africa

Book cover Market Dynamics and Productivity in Developing Countries: Economic Reforms in the Middle East and North Africa
Editor(s):
Khalid Sekkat
Publisher(s):
Springer, IDRC
2009-11-25
ISBN:
9781441912084
164 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504598

To what degree are trade liberalization, productivity, and economic growth correlated? Can economic policies designed to encourage competition and curtail industry protection result in large-scale improvements, such as increased innovation and reduced unemployment?

After 20 years of economic reform in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA), economic performance is still lagging behind many regions of the world. Even in those countries that are the most advanced in implementing reforms, industries with low productivity growth and high market power continue to dominate.

Showcasing in-depth analyses from Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia, and Turkey, and with comparative data from Asia and Latin America, this book focuses on the dynamics of firm entry and exit to help explain the low productivity of the region. The results suggest a number of policy recommendations designed to foster competition and contribute to innovation, productivity growth, and improved return on capital investments. The book not only reveals important correlations among policy and market factors in MENA, but suggests fruitful areas of research in other developing regions of the world.

The editor

Khalid Sekkat is Full Professor of Economics at Université Libre de Bruxelles and a member of the Royal Academy of Sciences and Technologies in Morocco. Professor Sekkat has held a visiting professorships at various universities (including Louvain, Paris, Strasbourg, Seville, and Casablanca). He was Economic Adviser to the European Commission and has acted as a consultant to the European Parliament, the European Commission, the World Bank, and the OECD.

Market Dynamics and Productivity in Developing Countries : Economic Reforms in the Middle East and North Africa

Book cover Market Dynamics and Productivity in Developing Countries: Economic Reforms in the Middle East and North Africa
Directeur(s) :
Khalid Sekkat
Maison(s) d’édition :
Springer, CDRI
2009-11-25
ISBN :
9781441912084
164 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504598

Dans quelle mesure y a-t-il corrélation entre la libéralisation des échanges, la productivité et la croissance économique ? Les politiques économiques conçues pour stimuler la concurrence et contenir les mesures protectionnistes peuvent-elles se traduire par des améliorations à grande échelle, par exemple une innovation accrue et une baisse du chômage ?

Au terme de 20 années de réformes économiques, le rendement économique du Moyen Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord (région MOAN) accuse toujours un retard par rapport à celui de nombreuses régions du monde. Même dans les pays les plus avancés dans la mise en place des réformes, les secteurs où la croissance de la productivité est faible et qui ont une forte emprise sur le marché demeurent prédominants.

Cet ouvrage présente des analyses approfondies de la situation en Jordanie, au Maroc, en Tunisie et en Turquie, enrichies de données comparatives d’Asie et d’Amérique latine, et s’appuie sur la dynamique des entrées et sorties d’entreprises pour aider à expliquer la faible productivité de la région. Un certain nombre de recommandations en matière de politiques susceptibles de stimuler la concurrence et de contribuer à l’innovation, à la croissance de la productivité et à un meilleur rendement des capitaux engagés s’en dégagent. En plus de révéler des corrélations importantes entre les politiques et les facteurs du marché dans la région MOAN, l’ouvrage suggère des domaines de recherche porteurs dans d’autres régions en développement.

Le directeur

Khalid Sekkat est professeur d’économie à l’Université libre de Bruxelles et membre de l’Académie Hassan II des sciences et techniques du Maroc. Il a été professeur invité au sein de plusieurs universités (dont celles de Louvain, Paris, Strasbourg, Séville et Casablanca). En outre, il a été conseiller économique auprès de la Commission européenne et consultant auprès du Parlement européen, de la Commission européenne, de la Banque mondiale et de l’OCDE.