Managing Water Demand: Policies, Practices and Lessons from the Middle East and North Africa Forums

Book cover Managing Water Demand: Policies, Practices, and Lessons from the Middle East and North Africa Forums
Author(s):
Ellysar Baroudy, Abderrafii Abid Lahlou, and Bayoumi Attia
Publisher(s):
IWA Publishing, IDRC
2005-08-31
ISBN:
184339104X
74 pages
e-ISBN:
1552501876

Available formats

The vast arid and semi-arid regions of the Middle East and North Africa region (MENA) constitute 85% of the region's land area and are home to approximately 60% of the region's population. Limited water resources pose severe constraints on people's economic and social progress, testing their resilience and threatening their livelihoods. Rainfall is not only scarce and unpredictable, but the region is also subject to frequent and severe droughts. Available surface water is declining and the over-pumping of groundwater beyond natural recharge rates is occurring, lowering the water table and causing an increase in groundwater salinity and ecological degradation.

Water demand management (WDM) is aboutgovernance and tools that motivate people and their activities to regulate the amount and manner in which they access, use, and dispose of water to alleviate pressure on freshwater supplies. It is also about protecting water quality. The development and promotion of such WDM practices, primarily for governments in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, have constituted the core objectives supported by Canada’s International Development Research Centre (IDRC) and its partners through the Water Demand Management Forums.

Managing Water Demand provides a comprehensive account of the tools used to manage water demand in the MENA region. A critical review is presented of the efficacy of WDM techniques in the areas of wastewater reuse, water valuation, public-private partnerships and decentralization, and participatory irrigation management. This book will provide some of the necessary knowledge required to further promote WDM in the MENA region, while providing insightinto the work required for much needed change to improve water governance.

The authors

Ellysar Baroudy was the Coordinator for the Water Demand Management Forum based at IDRC's Regional Office for the Middle East and North Africa in Cairo, Egypt. She is currently Mediterranean Environmental Technical Assistance Program Operations Officer, The World Bank, Washington, DC, USA.

Abderrafii Abid Lahlou is former Director and Advisor to the General Director, Office National de l’Eau Potable, Rabat, Morocco.

Bayoumi Attia is Former Director of Planning, Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, Cairo, Egypt.

Managing Water Demand : Policies, Practices and Lessons from the Middle East and North Africa Forums

Couverture du livre Managing Water Demand : Policies, Practices, and Lessons from the Middle East and North Africa Forums
Auteur(s) :
Ellysar Baroudy, Abderrafii Abid Lahlou, et Bayoumi Attia
Maison(s) d’édition :
IWA Publishing, CRDI
2005-08-31
ISBN :
184339104X
74 pages
e-ISBN :
1552501876

Les vastes territoires arides et semi-arides du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord ou région MOAN constituent 85 % de la superficie de cette région, et l’on y retrouve 60 % de sa population. Les ressources en eau peu abondantes entravent grandement l’évolution économique et sociale des habitants en mettant à rude épreuve leur capacité de résilience et en compromettant leurs modes de subsistance. Dans cette région, les pluies sont aussi rares et imprévisibles que les sécheresses sont fréquentes et intenses. Les réserves d’eau de surface diminuent et le pompage excessif des eaux souterraines dépasse le taux de réalimentation naturelle, ce qui fait baisser le niveau de la nappe phréatique et entraîne uneaugmentation de la salinité des eaux souterraines de même que la dégradation de l’environnement.

La gestion de la demande en eau (GDE) porte sur les modes de gouvernance et les outils susceptibles de motiver les gens et de susciter des activités visant à régir la manière dont ils ont accès à l’eau et s’en servent, et les quantités utilisées, afin d’atténuer les pressions qui s’exercent sur les approvisionnements en eau douce. Elle porte aussi sur la protection de la qualité de l’eau. La mise au point et la promotion de pratiques de GDE, avant tout à l’intention des gouvernements de la région MOAN, faisaient partie des objectifs fondamentaux visés par le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI), un organisme canadien, et ses partenaires au cours des forums sur la gestion de la demande en eau.

L’ouvrage intitulé Managing Water Demand recense de façon exhaustive les outils utilisés pour gérer la demande en eau dans la région MOAN. Il propose un examen critique de l’efficacité des techniques de GDE, qu’il s’agisse de différents aspects de la réutilisation des eaux usées, de la valeur économique de l’eau, des partenariats public-privé ou de décentralisation et de gestion participative de l’irrigation. Cet ouvrage permettra de mieux faire connaître la GDE dans la région MOAN tout en donnant un aperçu du travail requis pour amener les changements qui s’imposent si l’on veut améliorer la gouvernance de l’eau.

Les auteurs

Ellysar Baroudy a été coordonnatrice du Forum sur la gestion de la demande en eau au Bureau régional du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord du CRDI, au Caire, en Égypte. Elle est maintenant agente des opérations du Programme d’assistancetechnique pour la protection de l’environnement dans la Méditerranée (METAP), à la Banque mondiale, à Washington, aux États-Unis.

Abderrafii Abid Lahlou a été directeur et conseiller auprès du directeur général de l’Office nationalde l’eau potable, à Rabat, au Maroc.

Bayoumi Attia a été directeur de la Planification au ministère des Ressources en eau et de l’Irrigation de l’Égypte, au Caire.​