Making Evaluation Matter: Writings from South Asia

Book cover Making Evaluation Matter
Editor(s):
Katherine Eve Hay and Shubh Kumar-Range
Publisher(s):
SAGE, IDRC
2014-09-23
ISBN:
9789351500278
312 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552505830

This is a first-of-its-kind collection of writings by evaluation professionals working in South Asia. It analyses and documents the status of, and challenges for, development evaluation in this region. The collection covers three critical dimensions of making evaluation matter in development processes and change in South Asia: context, methods, and use. The chapters draw on a depth of experience from evaluators in several countries in South Asia to explore how the context in South Asia influences the methods that are appropriate for evaluating policies, programs and projects in this context, and the challenges to having evaluation findings used to influence and bring about change.

The editors

Katherine Eve Hay leads the monitoring, learning, and evaluation function for the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation in India. She brings a strong gender and equity focus to her work and has written extensively on women’s empowerment, feminist evaluation, and evaluation capacity building.

Shubh Kumar-Range is currently leading the gender and food security integration in agricultural policy for Agricultural Cooperative Development International/Volunteers in Overseas Cooperative Assistance's support to the Government of Ethiopia’s Agricultural Growth Program.

Making Evaluation Matter : Writings from South Asia

Couverture du livre Making Evaluation Matter
Directeur(s) :
Katherine Eve Hay et Shubh Kumar-Range
Maison(s) d’édition :
SAGE, CRDI
2014-09-23
ISBN :
9789351500278
312 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552505830

Ce recueil d’écrits signés par des professionnels de l’évaluation travaillant en Asie du Sud est le tout premier du genre. Il analyse et documente le statut de l’évaluation du développement et les défis que les intervenants de cette discipline sont appelés à relever dans la région. Il aborde trois dimensions cruciales à prendre en compte pour faire en sorte que l’évaluation ait un rôle à jouer dans les processus de développement en Asie du Sud : le contexte, les méthodes et l’utilisation. Les différents chapitres s’appuient sur la vaste expérience acquise par divers évaluateurs dans plusieurs pays d’Asie du Sud et examinent : i) la manière dont les méthodes qui conviennent le plus à l’évaluation des politiques, des programmes et des projets sont fonction du contexte sud-asiatique; ii) les défis à relever pour s’assurer que les résultats des évaluations sont utilisés pour exercer une influence et impulser des changements.

Les directeurs

Katherine Eve Hay dirige les fonctions de suivi, d’apprentissage et d’évaluation à la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates en Inde. La question de l’équité et les sexospécificités occupent une place importante dans ses travaux, et elle a abondamment écrit sur l’émancipation des femmes, l’évaluation féministe et le renforcement des capacités d’évaluation.

Shubh Kumar-Range dirige actuellement l’intégration de la sécurité alimentaire et des sexospécificités aux politiques agricoles, qui s’inscrit dans le soutien apporté par l’organisme Agricultural Cooperative Development International/Volunteers in Overseas Cooperative Assistance à l’Agricultural Growth Program de l’Éthiopie.