Living the Information Society in Asia

Book cover Living the Information Society in Asia
Editor(s):
Erwin Alampay
Publisher(s):
ISEAS, IDRC
2009-04-14
ISBN:
9789812308733
276 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504536

Asian societies are in a period of transition, as people are learn to live with new information and communication technologies (ICTs). Whether at work, at home, at school, or at large, ICTs are having an impact on day-to-day lives.

How can mobile phones help to forge relationships within families that have been separated my migration? How do camera phones threaten personal space? How are cultural identities strengthened in call centres? How is religion being incorporated into the new ICTs? Living the Information Society in Asia describes the interaction of people and ICTs as these technologies seep into everyday life, and examines implications for policy and future research.

The book will appeal to academics, researchers, and postgraduate and senior undergraduate students in social sciences, development studies, and Asian studies; to professionals and practitioners in donor and development agencies; and to policy advisors and decision-makers in government, international development agencies, and civil society.

The editor

Erwin Alampay is Assistant Professor at the National College of Public Administration and Governance of the University of the Philippines. He is Senior Editor for the Electonic Journal on Information Systems for Developing Countries and cofounded the Philipppine ICT Research Network.

Living the Information Society in Asia

Couverture du livre Living the Information Society in Asia
Directeur(s) :
Erwin Alampay
Maison(s) d’édition :
ISEAS, CRDI
2009-04-14
ISBN :
9789812308733
276 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504536

Les peuples d’Asie traversent une période de transition, alors qu’ils apprennent à vivre avec les nouvelles technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC). Que ce soit au travail, à la maison, à l’école ou ailleurs, les TIC ont un réel impact sur la vie quotidienne des gens.

De quelle façon les téléphones mobiles aident à tisser des liens au sein des familles que les migrations ont séparées ? Les téléphones mobiles munis d’un appareil photo constituent-ils une menace pour l’espace personnel ? Les identités culturelles sont-elles renforcées dans les centres d’appel ? Living the Information Society in Asia décrit l’interaction des personnes et des TIC à mesure que ces technologies s’insèrent dans le quotidien de chacun et examine ce que cela signifie sur le plan des politiques et de la recherche à venir.

Le livre éveillera l’intérêt des universitaires, des chercheurs et des étudiants des cycles supérieurs dans les domaines des sciences sociales, des études du développement et des études asiatiques, des professionnels et praticiens travaillant au sein d’organismes bailleurs de fonds ou voués au développement, ainsi que des conseillers en politiques et des décideurs des gouvernements, des organismes de développement international et des organismes de la société civile.

Le directeur

Erwin Alampay est professeur adjoint au collège national d’administration et de gouvernance publiques de l’Université des Philippines. Il est rédacteur en chef de l'Electronic Journal on Information Systems for Developing Countries et cofondateur du réseau de recherche en TIC des Philippines (Philippine ICT Research Network).