Japan's System of Official Development Assistance

Book cover Japan's System of Official Development Assistance
Author(s):
Micheline Beaudry-Somcynsky and Chris M. Cook
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1999-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
234 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502937

Available formats

A most valuable contribution not only to the community of development cooperation in the world but also to academia in general for facilitating the understanding of Japan's ODA.
— Kimio Fujita, President, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)

Until the early 1960s, Japan was a recipient of ODA (official development assistance). Today, and since 1989, Japan is the largest donor of ODA in the world. For 50 of the world's developing nations, in fact, Japan is the most generous donor of development assistance.

What does the Japanese ODA system look like and how does it work with overseas partners? Existing publications tend to focus on the activities of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Overseas Economic Cooperation Fund,and the Japan International Cooperation Agency. However, little is known about the relationships amongst these key institutions and practically no published information exists on the roles and relationships of municipal governments, nongovernmental organizations, and the myriad bodies created by government ministries. Given the complex nature of the Japanese ODA system, a detailed guide to its structure, its players, and its activities is an essential tool for successful international cooperation.

This book serves as that guide. For the first time, it brings together under one cover a description of the range of ODA tools available in Japan, from all sectors of Japanese society. It describes the framework in which they operate and the activities in which they are engaged. The book presents a complete conceptual model of the Japanese ODA-delivery system. It provides the reader with a better understanding and appreciation of Japan's contribution to international development and will be a valuable guide to working cooperatively with the Japanese ODA system.

The authors

Micheline Beaudry-Somcynsky is Senior Adviser on Relations with Japan and Other Asian Donors with the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) in Hull, Canada. From 1992 to 1996, Ms Beaudry-Somcynsky worked at the Japanese International Cooperation Agency (JICA) in Tokyo on a JICA-CIDA exchange program, where she deepened her understanding of Japanese ODA and its delivery system.

Chris M. Cook currently works in the Asia Branch of the Canadian International Development Agency in Hull, Canada. From 1994 to 1998, she worked for the International Development Research Centre in Ottawa.

Japan's System of Official Development Assistance

Couverture du livre Japan's System of Official Development Assistance
Auteur(s) :
Micheline Beaudry-Somcynsky et Chris M. Cook
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1999-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
234 pages
e-ISBN :
1552502937

Une contribution des plus précieuses non seulement aux milieux de la coopération au service du développement dans le monde, mais aussi aux milieux universitaires en général qui aident à comprendre l'APD du Japon
– Kimio Fujita, Président, Agence japonaise de coopération internationale (JICA)

Jusqu'au début des années 60, le Japon était bénéficiaire de l'APD (aide publique au développement). Aujourd'hui, et depuis 1989, le Japon est le plus important donateur d'APD au monde. Pour 50 des pays en développement du monde, le Japon est en fait le plus généreux fournisseur d'aide au développement.

À quoi ressemble le système d'APD du Japon et comment fonctionne-t-il avec ses partenaires de l'étranger? Les publications existantes ont tendance à porter avant tout sur les activités du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Fonds pour la coopération économique outre-mer du Japon et de l'Agence japonaise de coopération internationale. On sait toutefois peu de choses des relations entre ces institutions clés et il n'existe à peu près pas d'information publiée sur les rôles des administrations municipales, des organisations non gouvernementales et de la multitude d'entités créées par des ministères, ainsi que sur les relations entre elles. Compte tenu de la complexité du système japonais d'APD, un guide détaillé sur sa structure, ses interlocuteurs et ses activités est essentiel à une coopération internationale fructueuse.

Cet ouvrage constitue ce guide. Pour la première fois, il réunit sous une même couverture une description de l'éventail des moyens d'APD disponibles au Japon, de tous les secteurs de la société japonaise. L'ouvrage décrit leur cadre de fonctionnement et leurs activités et présente un modèle conceptuel complet du système japonais de prestation de l'APD. Il aide les lecteurs à mieux comprendre et apprécier la contribution du Japon au développement international et constituera un guide précieux pour la coopération avec le système japonais d'APD.

Les auteurs

Micheline Beaudry-Somcynsky est conseillère principale, Relations avec le Japon et d'autres bailleurs de fonds asiatiques, à l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), à Hull, au Canada. De 1992 à 1996, Mme Beaudry-Somcynsky a travaillé à l'Agence japonaise de coopération internationale (JICA) à Tokyo, dans le cadre d'un programme JICA-ACDI. Elle y a appris à mieux comprendre l'APD japonaise et son système de prestation.

Chris M. Cook travaille actuellement à la Direction générale de l'Asie de l'Agence canadienne de développement international à Hull, au Canada. De 1994 à 1998, elle a travaillé au Centre de recherches pour le développement international à Ottawa.