Innovation Strategies for a Global Economy: Development, Implementation, Measurement and Management

Book cover Innovation Strategies for a Global Economy: Development, Implementation, Measurement, and Management
Author(s):
Fred Gault
Publisher(s):
Edward Elgar Publishing, IDRC
2010-10-01
ISBN:
9781849800365
232 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504840

This volume is the definitive primer on the measurement of innovation and the implementation of strategies for innovation. 
— Lynda D. Carlson, PhD

This book skilfully connects the challenge of developing innovation policies with the development of statistics and indicators needed to evaluate and monitor these policies. 
— Andrew Wyckoff, OECD

This path-breaking book integrates theory, case studies, data and policy insight into a unique take on innovation processes and government action.
— Keith Smith, Imperial College, London, UK

This book is about innovation strategies for a global economy, their development, implementation, measurement and management. Following the global economic crisis, people are asking: what went wrong? Here, Fred Gault illustrates that a part of the problem was innovation in financial services, which resulted in the release of attractive new products to the market that diffused rapidly and then lost value. This book considers innovation and how policies are developed and implemented to support it. In so doing, framework conditions such as market regulation and the cost of doing business are examined to discover how future problems could be avoided.

A better understanding of innovation and innovation policy may result in improved economic and social outcomes from these activities. The book therefore begins with an exploration of the language and system framework used to discuss innovation, and the statistical indicators needed to describe it. The author provides a critical assessment of innovation policy development, monitoring and evaluation, and considers innovation strategies, their components and management. He concludes by prescribing directions for new work in developed and developing countries.

Academics engaged in the study of innovation policy, its monitoring and evaluation, will find this book to be of great interest, as will graduate students in the fields of business and management, and sociology. It will also strongly appeal to governmental policymakers and statisticians responsible for innovation statistics.

The author

Fred Gault is a Professorial Fellow at UNU MERIT, The Netherlands, and Professor Extraordinaire and Member of the TUT Institute for Economic Research on Innovation (IERI) at Tshwane University of Technology (TUT), South Africa.

Innovation Strategies for a Global Economy : Development, Implementation, Measurement and Management

Couverture du livre Innovation Strategies for a Global Economy : Development, Implementation, Measurement, and Management
Auteur(s) :
Fred Gault
Maison(s) d’édition :
Edward Elgar Publishing, CRDI
2010-10-01
ISBN :
9781849800365
232 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504840

Ce livre est une référence en matière de mesure de l’innovation et de mise en oeuvre de stratégies d’innovation.
– Lynda D. Carlson, Ph.D.

Cet ouvrage établit habilement le lien entre le défi de concevoir des politiques d’innovation et celui de mettre au point les données et les indicateurs nécessaires pour évaluer et suivre de près ces politiques.
– Andrew Wyckoff, OCDE

Ce livre d’avant-garde intègre la théorie, des études de cas, des données et des observations en matière de politiques afin de jeter un regard unique sur les processus d’innovation et l’action des gouvernements. 
– Keith Smith, Imperial College, Londres, Royaume-Uni

Ce livre traite des stratégies d’innovation dans une économie mondiale : leur élaboration, leur mise en oeuvre, leur mesure et leur gestion. Au sortir de la crise économique mondiale, les gens s’interrogent sur ses causes. Dans ce volume, Fred Gault démontre que l’innovation dans les services financiers, qui a donné naissance à des produits attirants qui se sont répandus rapidement et dont la valeur s’est ensuite effondrée, faisait partie du problème. L’auteur examine l’innovation ainsi que la conception et la mise en oeuvre des politiques destinées à la susciter. Pour ce faire, il analyse les conditions structurelles telles que la réglementation des marchés et le coût des activités commerciales pour découvrir comment éviter les problèmes à l’avenir.

Une meilleure compréhension de l’innovation et des politiques d’innovation peuvent faire en sorte que ces activités aient de meilleurs résultats économiques et sociaux. Le livre débute donc par une exploration du langage et du cadre utilisés pour parler d’innovation et des indicateurs statistiques nécessaires pour la décrire. L’auteur fait une appréciation critique de la conception, du suivi et de l’évaluation des politiques d’innovation et examine les stratégies d’innovation, leurs composantes et leur gestion. Il conclut en formulant des orientations sur les nouveaux travaux à entreprendre dans les pays développés et en développement.

Les universitaires étudiant la conception, le suivi et l’évaluation des politiques d’innovation trouveront ce livre d’un grand intérêt, tout comme les étudiants des cycles supérieurs dans les domaines de l’administration des affaires, de la gestion et de la sociologie. L’ouvrage intéressera aussi vivement les responsables des politiques gouvernementales et les statisticiens chargés des données concernant l’innovation.

L'auteur

Fred Gault est professorial fellow à l’UNU-MERIT, aux Pays-Bas, et professeur extraordinaire et membre de l’Institute for Economic Research on Innovation de la Tshwane University of Technology, en Afrique du Sud.