Information and Telecommunication Technologies: The Impact of their Adoption on Small and Medium-sized Enterprises

Book cover Information and Telecommunication Technologies: The Impact of their Adoption on Small and Medium-sized Enterprises
Author(s):
Élisabeth Lefebvre and Louis A. Lefebvre
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1996-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
140 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502910

Many studies have shown that adopting new information and telecommunication technologies can have a profound influence on a company's productivity and competitiveness. This book focuses on the prime factors associated with the adoption of such technologies in the specific context of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) as well as the impact of these technologies on a firm's productivity and key competitive advantages. It also identifies the critical issues, both theoretical and practical, related to these new technologies.

The authors

Élisabeth Lefebvre holds MBA and MSc degrees from the University of Ottawa, as well as a PhD from the University of Montréal. She is currently an associate professor in the Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering at the École Polytechique, Montréal. Dr Lefebvre's research focuses on technological innovation and the strategic management of technology.

Louis A. Lefebvre holds an MBA from the University of Ottawa and a PhD in business administration from the University of Montréal. He is currently a professor in the Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering at the École Polytechnique, Montréal (where he also directs the graduate program on technology management) and President Elect of the International Association for Management of Technology. Professor Lefebvre's research focuses on technology adoption in small and medium-sized enterprises, firm innovativeness, and strategic alliances.

INFORMATION AND TELECOMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGIES The Impact of their Adoption on Small and Medium-sized Enterprises

Auteur(s) :
Élisabeth Lefebvre et Louis A. Lefebvre
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1996-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
140 pages
e-ISBN :
1-55250-291-0

Beaucoup d’études ont démontré que l’adoption de nouvelles technologies de l’information et des télécommunications peut exercer une influence profonde sur la productivité et la compétitivité d’une entreprise. Cet ouvrage traite avant tout des principaux facteurs associés à l’adoption de ces technologies dans le contexte précis des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), ainsi que de leur impact sur la productivité d’une entreprise et ses avantages concurrentiels clés. On y définit aussi les enjeux critiques, tant théoriques que pratiques, qui ont trait à ces nouvelles technologies.

LES AUTEURS

Élisabeth Lefebvre est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires et d’une maîtrise en sciences de l’Université d’Ottawa, ainsi que d’un doctorat de l’Université de Montréal. Elle est actuellement professeure agrégée au Département des mathématiques et de génie industriel de l’École polytechnique de Montréal. La recherche de Mme Lefebvre porte avant tout sur l’innovation en technologie et la gestion stratégique de la technologie.

Louis A. Lefebvre a une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l’Université d’Ottawa et un doctorat en administration des affaires de l’Université de Montréal. Il est actuellement professeur titulaire au Département des mathématiques et de génie industriel de l’École polytechnique de Montréal (où il dirige aussi le programme d’études supérieures en gestion de la technologie) et président désigné de l’Association internationale pour la gestion de la technologie. La recherche du Pr Lefebvre porte avant tout sur l’adoption de la technologie dans les petites et moyennes entreprises, l’esprit d’innovation des entreprises et les alliances stratégiques.