India Labour and Employment Report 2014: Workers in the era of globalization

Book cover India Labour and Employment Report 2014
Author(s):
Alakh N. Sharma, Institute for Human Development
Editor(s):
Indian Journal of Labour Economics
Publisher(s):
Academic Foundation, New Delhi and The Institute for Human Development, Delhi
2013-12-16
ISBN:
9789332701205
7 pages

India’s rapid economic growth has reduced extreme poverty in the country. Between 1983 and 2012, average real wages grew more than 3% annually. However, for the almost 460 million working-age Indians — poised to become the world’s largest labour force by 2030 — huge employment deficits still remain. Most of their jobs are casual and have low productivity; almost 60% of Indian workers are still considered poor.

While skilled workers have joined the ranks of a booming middle-class in some advanced sectors of the economy, and opportunities for regular formal employment are increasing, the benefits of these gains are only enjoyed by a minority of Indians. They reveal widening inequality and the fragility of India’s social protection.

The India Labour and Employment 2014 Report takes stock of India's labour markets, examining the progress that reforms have delivered as well as the deep challenges ahead. The report’s central message is that India needs a responsive, fair, and comprehensive labour and employment policy for sustainable and inclusive development.

At the Delhi launch of the report, Jairam Ramesh, the Union Minister of Rural Development responsible for India's social protection program the National Rural Employment Guarantee (one of the world’s largest), agreed that India has under-performed on the job front. “Jobs are generated by entrepreneurs, not by the government, and here is where India needs to focus,” he remarked.

The report was produced by a team of scholars from the Institute for Human Development (IHD) and the Indian Society of Labour Economics, led by principal author and general editor Alakh N. Sharma, with financial support from IDRC.

Arjan de Haan, of IDRC's Employment and Growth program, praised the report’s identification of the astonishing realities and opportunities facing India's labour market, and how they highlight the urgent need for job creation in and by the private sector.

The Institute for Human Development is a non-profit organization established with the support of the Indian Society of Labour Economics. The institute has emerged as an important centre for the study of human development and labour issues.

Read the full report

India Labour and Employment Report 2014 : Workers in the era of globalization

Couverture du livre India Labour and Employment Report 2014
Auteur(s) :
Alakh N. Sharma, Institute for Human Development
Directeur(s) :
Indian Journal of Labour Economics
Maison(s) d’édition :
Academic Foundation, New Delhi et The Institute for Human Development, Delhi
2013-12-16
ISBN :
9789332701205
7 pages

La croissance économique rapide observée en Inde a entraîné dans ce pays une diminution de l’extrême pauvreté. Entre 1983 et 2012, le salaire réel moyen a augmenté chaque année de plus de trois 3 %. Cependant, pour les quelque 460 millions d’Indiens en âge de travailler— qui constitueront d’ici 2030 la population active la plus importante du monde— d’énormes pénuries d’emploi subsistent. La plupart de leurs emplois sont occasionnels et présentent une faible productivité; près de 60 % des travailleurs indiens sont toujours considérés comme pauvres.

Et bien que, dans certains secteurs avancés de l’économie, des travailleurs qualifiés aient gonflé les rangs d’une classe moyenne en plein essor, et que les débouchés en matière d’emplois réguliers dans le secteur structuré aillent croissants, seule une minorité d’Indiens tirent parti de ces progrès, ce qui révèle les disparités grandissantes et la fragilité de la protection sociale en Inde.

Le rapport India Labour and Employment Report 2014 présente un bilan des marchés du travail en Inde et examine les progrès entraînés par les réformes ainsi que les défis importants qui se profilent à l’horizon. Le message­clé du rapport est qu’en matière de main­d’oeuvre et d’emploi, l’Inde doit se doter d’une politique globale qui soit juste et adaptée aux besoins de sa population afin d’assurer un développement durable et inclusif.

À l’occasion du lancement du rapport, à New Delhi, Jairam Ramesh, ministre du Développement rural, qui est aussi responsable du programme de protection sociale de l’Inde (National Rural Employment Guarantee) – et l’un des plus grands du monde entier – a convenu que l’Inde tirait de l’arrière sur le plan de l’emploi. Il a rappelé que les emplois sont créés par les entrepreneurs, et non par le gouvernement, et que l’Inde doit travailler dans cette optique.

Le rapport a été préparé avec le financement du CRDI, par une équipe de chercheurs de l’Institute for Human Development (IHD) et de l’Indian Society of Labour Economics, sous la direction d’Alakh N. Sharma, qui est aussi le principal auteur dudit document.

Arjan de Haan, du programme Emploi et croissance du CRDI, a salué la façon dont le rapport fait ressortir les réalités et possibilités étonnantes qui caractérisent les marchés du travail en Inde ainsi que la manière dont le document met en relief le besoin de création d’emplois dans le secteur privé et par le secteur privé.

L’Institute for Human Development est un organisme à but non lucratif qui a été établi sous l’égide de l’Indian Society of Labour Economics. Il est aujourd’hui un important centre d’étude du développement humain et des questions liées à la main­d’oeuvre.

Lire le rapport intégral (en anglais)