Grassroots Indicators for Desertification: Experience and Perspectives from Eastern and Southern Africa

Book cover Grassroots Indicators for Desertification: Experience and Perspectives from Eastern and Southern Africa
Editor(s):
Helen Hambly and Tobias Onweng Angura
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1996-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
180 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502864

Available formats

"Knowledge is power" has become a common but true cliché in development research. And, as two sides of the same coin, "knowledge sharing" and "power sharing" lie at the root of many development problems, including drought and desertification. But what of grassroots knowledge? Measures or signals of environmental quality or change recorded by individuals, households, and communities are derived from local systems of observation, practice, and indigenous knowledge. They are grassroots indicators and, used effectively, may lead to the creation of new and more accurate development indicators, as well as improved processes for both planning and monitoring.

This is the central focus of Grassroots Indicators for Desertification. The book documents why grassroots indicators should play a key role in the monitoring, evaluation, and reporting systems for sustainable development and, more specifically, in efforts to reverse desertification and other forms of land degradation. It also shows how their use would encourage local control of the generation and use of knowledge.

The editors

Helen Hambly has been involved in the Grassroots Indicators Project since 1993. She is currently completing her PhD dissertation with the Faculty of Environmental Studies at York University in Toronto, Canada.

Tobias Onweng Angura is the Acting Regional Coordinator of the Africa Grassroots Indicators Network. He is a Research Associate at the Makerere Institute of Social Research, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda.

Grassroots Indicators for Desertification : Experience and Perspectives from Eastern and Southern Africa

Couverture du livre Grassroots Indicators for Desertification : Experience and Perspectives from Eastern and Southern Africa
Directeur(s) :
Helen Hambly et Tobias Onweng Angura
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1996-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
180 pages
e-ISBN :
1552502864

« Savoir, c'est pouvoir » est devenu un cliché courant mais vrai en recherche au service du développement. Comme ils constituent les deux côtés de la même médaille, le « partage du savoir » et le « partage du pouvoir » sont à l'origine de nombreux problèmes de développement, y compris la sécheresse et la désertification. Que dire alors du savoir local? Les mesures de la qualité de l'environnement ou les signaux de son changement consignés par des personnes, des ménages et des collectivités sont issus de systèmes locaux d'observation, de la pratique locale et du savoir ancestral. Ce sont des indicateurs populaires qui, utilisés judicieusement, peuvent déboucher sur la création d'indicateurs nouveaux et plus exacts du développement, ainsi que sur des processus améliorés de planification et de surveillance.

Il s'agit là du point de convergence de Grassroots Indicators for Desertification. L'ouvrage décrit pourquoi les indicateurs populaires devraient jouer un rôle clé dans les systèmes de surveillance, d'évaluation et de production de rapports sur le développement durable et, plus précisément, dans les efforts déployés pour casser la désertification et d'autres formes de dégradation des terres. On nous montre aussi comment le recours à ces indicateurs encouragerait le contrôle local de la production et de l'utilisation du savoir.

Les directeurs

Helen Hambly participe au Projet des indicateurs populaires depuis 1993. Elle termine actuellement sa thèse de doctorat à la Faculté des études environnementales de l'Université York à Toronto, au Canada.

Tobias Onweng Angura est le coordonnateur régional intérimaire du Réseau des indicateurs populaires de l'Afrique. Il est attaché de recherche à l'Institut Makerere de recherche sociale, Université Makerere, à Kampala, en Ouganda.