Gender and Natural Resource Management: Livelihoods, Mobility and Interventions

Book cover Gender and Natural Resource Management: Livelihoods, Mobility and Interventions
Editor(s):
Bernadette P. Resurreccion and Rebecca Elmhirst
Publisher(s):
Earthscan, IDRC
2012-05-31
ISBN:
9781844075805
288 pages
e-ISBN:
978155250398-0

There has been no book published in the last decade that takes a synoptic look at gender–environment issues while bridging theoretical, policy and practice concerns. This book will both fill that gap and bring the debate up to date.
— Melissa Leach, Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex, UK

I will use it in the course I teach on gender and natural resources. The book will also be excellent for more general courses on environmental or natural resource management that want to include a gender perspective.
— Margreet Zwarteveen, Wageningen University, The Netherlands

This book is about the gender dimensions of natural resource exploitation and management, with a focus on Asia. It explores the uneasy negotiations between theory, policy, and practice that are often evident within the realm of gender, environment, and natural resource management, especially where gender is understood as a political, negotiated, and contested element of social relationships. It offers a critical feminist perspective on gender relations and natural resource management in the context of contemporary policy concerns: decentralized governance, the elimination of poverty, and the mainstreaming of gender.

Through a combination of strong conceptual argument and empirical material from a variety of political, economic and ecological contexts (including Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Nepal, Thailand, and Vietnam), the book examines gender–environment linkages within shifting configurations of resource access and control. The book will serve as a core resource for students of gender studies and natural resource management, and as supplementary reading for a wide range of disciplines including geography, environmental studies, sociology, and development. It also provides a stimulating collection of ideas for professionals looking to incorporate gender issues within their practice in sustainable development.

The editors

Bernadette P. Resurreccion is assistant professor in gender and development studies at the Asian Institute of Technology, Thailand.

Rebecca Elmhirst is senior lecturer in human geography at the University of Brighton, UK.

Gender and Natural Resource Management : Livelihoods, Mobility and Interventions

Couverture du livre Gender and Natural Resource Management : Livelihoods, Mobility and Interventions
Directeur(s) :
Bernadette P. Resurreccion et Rebecca Elmhirst
Maison(s) d’édition :
Earthscan, CRDI
2012-05-31
ISBN :
9781844075805
288 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552503980

Depuis dix ans aucun ouvrage n’a jeté un regard synoptique sur l’axe sexospécificités et environnement tout en liant les aspects relevant de la théorie, de la pratique et des politiques. Cet ouvrage vient combler ce vide et actualiser le débat.
— Melissa Leach, Institute of Development Studies, Université du Sussex, Royaume-Uni

J’ai l’intention de me servir de cet ouvrage dans le cadre de mon cours sur les sexospécificités et les ressources naturelles. Il est également tout désigné pour des cours de nature plus générale sur la gestion de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles dans lesquels on souhaite tenir compte des sexospécificités.
— Margreet Zwarteveen, Université de Wageningen, Pays-Bas

Cet ouvrage examine les dimensions sexospécifiques de l’exploitation et de la gestion des ressources naturelles, en se concentrant plus particulièrement sur l’Asie. Il explore les rapports difficiles entre la théorie, les politiques et la pratique qui se manifestent souvent dans le domaine des sexospécificités, de l’environnement et de la gestion des ressources naturelles, surtout lorsque la question des sexospécificités est perçue comme un élément politique, négocié et contesté dans le cadre des relations sociales. Il offre un point de vue féministe critique sur les relations entre les sexes et sur la gestion des ressources naturelles en fonction des questions de l’heure en matière de politiques, à savoir la décentralisation de la gouvernance, l’élimination de la pauvreté et l’intégration systématique des sexospécificités.

Grâce à un amalgame d’arguments solides et de données empiriques provenant de pays variés sur le plan politique, économique et environnemental (le Cambodge, la Chine, l’Indonésie, la Malaisie, le Népal, la Thaïlande et le Vietnam), l’ouvrage étudie l’axe sexospécificités et environnement dans un contexte où l’accès aux ressources et leur contrôle sont en constante évolution. Il constitue un ouvrage de référence pour toute personne qui étudie les rapports sociaux entre les sexes et la gestion des ressources naturelles. Il pourra également servir de lecture complémentaire dans toute une gamme de disciplines, telles la géographie, la sociologie et les études de l’environnement et du développement. Il propose enfin un ensemble d’idées stimulantes aux professionnels désireux d’intégrer les questions sexospécifiques à leur pratique dans le domaine du développement durable.

Les directeurs

Bernadette P. Resurreccion est professeure adjointe en études des femmes et du développement à l’Asian Institute of Technology, en Thaïlande.

Rebecca Elmhirst est chargée de cours principale en géographie humaine à l’Université de Brighton, au Royaume Uni.