Fuelling Economic Growth: The Role of Public–Private Sector Research in Development

Fuelling Economic Growth: The Role of Public–Private Sector Research in Development
Editor(s):
Michael Graham and Jean Woo
Publisher(s):
Practical Action Publishing, IDRC
2009-04-27
ISBN:
9781853396755
284 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504161

The past two decades have witnessed a significant change in the environment for research and development (R&D) around the world. In the South, the need for scientific knowledge continues to expand. At the same time, however, traditional sources of research funding – from national governments, international agencies, and the donor community – have stagnated or declined. As a result, private sector funding of R&D is now twice that of public sector sources.

Changes in the balance of funding are an important marker of evolution in the nature of research systems, with critical implications for public policy and the management of scientific institutions. This book analyzes alternative policy instruments and compares experiences in Argentina, El Salvador, Costa Rica, the Philippines, Malaysia, Peru, Tanzania, and China. It addresses trends in funding, performance, and management of R&D, and policy options to stimulate R&D in and for developing countries.

This book will be of interest to researchers, decision-makers, policy advisors, and educators in science, technology, and innovation studies, as well as to development practitioners and professionals around the world.

The editors

Michael Graham is a specialist in development communication, evaluation, and science editing and writing.

At the time of the book's publication, Jean Woo was a program officer in the Innovation, Policy and Science program at the International Development Research Centre.

 

Edición español: Descargar PDF

Fuelling Economic Growth : The Role of Public–Private Sector Research in Development

Couverture du livre Fuelling Economic Growth : The Role of Public–Private Sector Research in Development
Directeur(s) :
Michael Graham et Jean Woo
Maison(s) d’édition :
Practical Action Publishing, CRDI
2009-04-27
ISBN :
9781853396755
284 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504161

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, le monde a été témoin d’un changement considérable dans le domaine de la recherche-développement. Dans le Sud, les connaissances scientifiques sont de plus en plus vitales. Or, on observe une stagnation, voire une diminution, des sources traditionnelles de financement de la recherche, à savoir les gouvernements nationaux, les organisations internationales et les bailleurs de fonds. Par conséquent, la contribution du secteur privé à la recherche-développement est à l’heure actuelle deux fois plus élevée que celle du secteur public.

Cette nouvelle répartition entre les secteurs privés et publics témoigne d’un tournant dans l’évolution des systèmes de recherche, qui aura des répercussions importantes sur les politiques publiques et sur la gestion des établissements scientifiques. Cet ouvrage analyse des options novatrices en matière de politiques et compare la situation dans différents pays : l’Argentine, le Salvador, le Costa Rica, les Philippines, la Malaisie, le Pérou, la Tanzanie et la Chine. Il aborde les tendances en matière de financement, de rendement et de gestion de la recherche-développement et les politiques susceptibles de stimuler la recherche-développement dans et pour les pays en développement.

Ce livre saura intéresser les chercheurs, les décideurs, les conseillers en politiques et les pédagogues des domaines des sciences, de la technologie et de l’innovation de même que les praticiens et les professionnels du développement de tous les pays.

Les directeurs

Michael Graham est spécialiste en communication en matière de développement, en évaluation, en rédaction et révision de textes scientifiques.

Au moment où elle codirigeait la publication de ce livre, Jean Woo était administratrice de programmes au domaine de programme Innovation, politique et science du Centre de recherches pour le développement international.

 

 

Edición español: Descargar PDF