Food Sovereignty and Uncultivated Biodiversity in South Asia: Essays on the Poverty of Food Policy and the Wealth of the Social Landscape

Book cover Food Soverignty and Uncultivated Biodiversity in South Asia: Essays on the Poverty of Food Policy and the Wealth of the Social Landscape
Author(s):
Farhad Mazhar, Daniel Buckles, P.V. Satheesh, and Farida Akhter
Publisher(s):
Academic Foundation, IDRC
2007-01-01
ISBN:
9788171885586
84 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552503379

This publication explores the meaning of agriculture and guides the reader into new territory, where food, ecology, and culture converge. In the food systems of South Asia, the margin between cultivated and uncultivated biodiversity dissolves through women’s day-to-day practice of collecting and cooking food, constituting a feminine landscape. The authors bring this practice to light, and demonstrate the value of food production and consumption systems that are localized rather than globalized.

Based on extensive field research in India and Bangladesh, with and by farming communities, the book offers both people-based and evidence-based perspectives on the value of ecological farming, the survival strategies of the very poor, and the ongoing contribution of biodiversity to livelihoods. It also introduces new concepts such as “the social landscape” and “the ethical relations underlying production systems” relevant to key debates concerning the cultural politics of food sovereignty, land tenure, and the economics of food systems. The authors are leading activists and accomplished researchers with a long history of engagement with farming communities and the peasant world in South Asia and elsewhere.

The print edition of this publication includes a DVD entitled Diversity and Food Sovereignty, which presents three farmer-made films. Their message is loud and clear: food sovereignty means the conservation of biological diversity and revitalization of ethical community relations.

The authors

Farhad Mazhar is a founding member of UBINIG (Policy Research for Development Alternative) and is currently its Managing Director.

Daniel Buckles is Adjunct Research Professor in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada, and former Senior Program Specialist at IDRC.

P.V. Satheesh (India) is the co-founder and current Director of the Deccan Development Society.

Farida Akhter is the Executive Director of UBINIG.

Food Sovereignty and Uncultivated Biodiversity in South Asia : Essays on the Poverty of Food Policy and the Wealth of the Social Landscape

Couverture du livre Food Soverignty and Uncultivated Biodiversity in South Asia : Essays on the Poverty of Food Policy and the Wealth of the Social Landscape
Auteur(s) :
Farhad Mazhar, Daniel Buckles, P.V. Satheesh, et Farida Akhter
Maison(s) d’édition :
Academic Foundation, CRDI
2007-01-01
ISBN :
9788171885586
84 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552503379

Cette publication explore le sens que revêt l’agriculture et guide le lecteur à travers un nouveau territoire à la jonction de l’alimentation, de l’écologie et de la culture. Dans les systèmes alimentaires d’Asie du Sud, la démarcation entre biodiversité cultivée et biodiversité naturelle s’estompe avec récolte et la préparation des aliments vécues au quotidien par les femmes, lesquelles sculptent un paysage féminin. Les auteurs mettent cette pratique en pleine lumière et démontrent la valeur des systèmes de production et de consommation alimentaires qui sont localisés plutôt que mondialisés.

Issu d’une recherche sur le terrain très poussée réalisée en Inde et au Bangladesh en y associant des collectivités agricoles, le livre présente des perspectives tenant compte à la fois de l’expérience vécue et de données probantes sur la valeur de l’agriculture écologique, les stratégies de survie des plus démunis et la contribution continue de la biodiversité aux moyens de subsistance. Il introduit également de nouveaux concepts, comme le « paysage social » et les « relations éthiques sous-jacentes aux systèmes de production », qui sont pertinents pour les débats clés concernant la politique de la culture de la souveraineté alimentaire, le mode de possession des terres et l’économie des systèmes alimentaires. Les auteurs sont des militants de premier plan et des chercheurs accomplis, de longue date engagés aux côtés des collectivités agricoles et du monde paysan d’Asie du Sud et d’ailleurs.

La version imprimée de cette publication est accompagnée d’un DVD intitulé Diversity and Food Sovereignty qui contient trois films réalisés par des agriculteurs. Le message est on ne peut plus clair : la souveraineté alimentaire est synonyme de préservation de la biodiversité et de redynamisation de relations éthiques dans la collectivité.

Les auteurs

Farhad Mazhar est un des membres fondateurs d’UBINIG (Policy Research for Development Alternatives) et actuellement son directeur général.

Daniel Buckles est professeur de recherche auxiliaire au Département de sociologie et anthropologie de l’Université Carleton d’Ottawa, au Canada, et a déjà été spécialiste de programmes principal au CRDI.

P.V. Satheesh (Inde) est le cofondateur et directeur actuel de la Deccan Development Society.

Farida Akhter est la directrice exécutive d’UBINIG.