Skip to main content

Finance and Competitiveness in Developing Countries

Editor(s)
José M. Fanelli and Rohinton Medhora
Publisher(s)
Routledge, IDRC
ISBN
9780415459211
e-ISBN
1552502171

Available formats

As recent events in Southeast Asia have demonstrated, the fragility of a country’s financial sector can have severe macroeconomic consequences, affecting its ability to manufacture, import, and export. Through a combination of case studies and theoretical papers, this book addresses this vital issue by examining the interaction between trade and financial development.

Using detailed trade and firm-level financial data, the authors demonstrate, for example, that while links between finance and competitiveness are strong, they are not uniform across sectors and countries. This book examines the link between finance and competitiveness at the macro and sectoral levels in seven different countries: Argentina, Brazil, India, Indonesia, the Philippines, South Africa, and Tunisia, and investigates key international issues, such as the evidence of the impact of exchange rate variability on trade, patterns in bank lending, and trade openness and development.

The editors

José María Fanelli is currently Senior Professor of Macroeconomics at the University of Buenos Aires. Since 1994, Dr Fanelli has also been a senior researcher at the Centre for the Study of State and Society (CEDES) and the National Research Council (CONICET) in Buenos Aires.

Rohinton Medhora is Vice-President of Programs at Canada’s International Development Research Centre. He has published primarily in the areas of monetary integration and central banking and holds a doctorate in economics from the University of Toronto.

Finance and Competitiveness in Developing Countries

Couverture du livre Finance and Competitiveness in Developing Countries
Directeur(s) :
José M. Fanell et Rohinton Medhora
Maison(s) d’édition :
Routledge, CRDI
2001-09-20
ISBN :
9780415459211
382 pages
e-ISBN :
1552502171

Comme l'ont démontré les événements récents dans le Sud-Est asiatique, la fragilité du secteur financier d'un pays peut avoir de graves répercussions macroéconomiques qui jouent sur sa capacité de fabrication, d'importation et d'exportation. Dans cet ouvrage, qui regroupe des études de cas et des exposés théoriques, on aborde cet enjeu vital en analysant l'interaction entre le commerce et le développement financier.

Se fondant sur des données financières détaillées sur le commerce et les entreprises, les auteurs démontrent, par exemple, que même si les liens entre le secteur financier et la compétitivité sont solides, ils ne sont pas uniformes entre les secteurs et les pays. Les auteurs analysent le lien entre le secteur financier et la compétitivité aux niveaux macroéconomique et sectoriel dans sept pays différents : Argentine, Brésil, Inde, Indonésie, Philippines, Afrique du Sud et Tunisie. Ils se penchent sur les enjeux clés internationaux comme les preuves de l'impact de la variabilité du taux de change sur le commerce, les tendances des prêts bancaires, ainsi que l'ouverture du commerce et le développement.

Les directeurs

José María Fanelli est actuellement professeur principal de macroéconomie à l'Université de Buenos Aires. Depuis 1994, M. Fanelli a aussi été chercheur principal au Centre pour l'étude de l'État et de la Société (CEDES) ainsi qu'au Conseil national de recherches (CONICET) à Buenos Aires.

Rohinton Medhora est vice-président, Programmes, au Centre de recherches pour le développement international du Canada. Il a publi. principalement sur l'intégration monétaire et les banques centrales. Il est titulaire d'un doctorat en économie de l'Université de Toronto.​