Farming Systems of the African Savanna: A Continent in Crisis

Book cover Farming Systems of the African Savanna: A Continent in Crisis
Author(s):
Andrew Ker
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1995-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
176 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502805

Available formats

Farmers in the parts of Africa where population growth is near, or has exceeded, the carrying capacity of the land at current technological levels face a serious crisis. This crisis is the result of the breakdown of traditional farming systems. The consequences are environmental deterioration on a massive scale, widespread poverty, malnutrition, and famine. In some countries, the crisis is contributing to political instability and civil war.

Through an examination of selected case studies, this book highlights some of the problems facing farmers in the African savanna and suggests some possible approaches toward solutions. It will prove useful to farmers, research and extension workers, policymakers, teachers, aid workers, and others who work with, or are concerned for, the future of the African farm and the livelihood of the African farmer.

The author

Andrew Ker is a development consultant based in Ottawa, Canada. For 20 years, he worked for IDRC as a program specialist in agricultural sciences, much of that time based at IDRC's regional office in Nairobi, Kenya.

Farming Systems of the African Savanna : A Continent in Crisis

Couverture du livre Farming Systems of the African Savanna : A Continent in Crisis
Auteur(s) :
Andrew Ker
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1995-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
176 pages
e-ISBN :
1552502805

Les agriculteurs des régions de l'Afrique où la croissance démographique a atteint ou dépassé la capacité des terres au niveau actuel de la technologie font face à une crise grave causée par l'éclatement des systèmes agricoles traditionnels. Il en découle une dégradation massive de l'environnement, une généralisation de la pauvreté, la malnutrition et la famine. Dans certains pays, la crise contribue à l'instabilité politique et à la guerre civile.

En analysant certaines études de cas, l'auteur dégage certains des problèmes auxquels font face les agriculteurs de la savane africaine et propose des solutions possibles. L'ouvrage se révélera utile pour les agriculteurs, les chercheurs et les travailleurs en vulgarisation, les responsables des politiques, les enseignants, les travailleurs de l'aide et d'autres personnes qui s'intéressent à l'avenir de la ferme africaine et aux moyens de subsistance de l'agriculteur africain, ou qui s'en préoccupent.

L'auteur

Andrew Ker est expert-conseil en développement à Ottawa (Canada). Il a travaillé pendant 20 ans au CRDI comme spécialiste de programme en sciences agricoles et, pendant la majeure partie de cette période, il était affecté au bureau régional du CRDI à Nairobi, au Kenya