Evaluation in the Extreme: Research, Impact and Politics in Violently Divided Societies

Book cover Evaluation in the Extreme
Editor(s):
Kenneth Bush and Colleen Duggan
Publisher(s):
SAGE Publications, IDRC
2015-09-17
ISBN:
9789351503941
348 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552505847

Over the past two decades, there has been an increase in the funding of research in and on violently divided societies. But how do we know whether research makes any difference to these societies – is the impact constructive or destructive? This book is the first to systematically explore this question through a series of case studies written by those on the front lines of applied research. It offers clear and logical ways to understand the positive or negative role that research, or any other aid intervention, might have in developing societies affected by armed conflict, political unrest and/or social violence.

The editors

In Memoriam – Kenneth Bush 

Kenneth Bush was the Altajir lecturer in Post-war Recovery Studies and executive director of the Post-war Reconstruction and Development Unit, University of York, UK. Very unexpectedly, on April 16, 2016, Ken passed away while visiting family in Ottawa. He was 54 years old. Ken will be remembered for his pioneering work on Peace and Conflict Impact Assessment (PCIA), which he began while at IDRC in 1998, and his on-going efforts on evaluation in conflict zones, seeking to bridge the gap between Peace and Conflict Studies and Evaluation research and practice. He worked with a broad spectrum of humanitarian, development, and peace-building organizations in the Global North and South − from community-based groups in Sri Lanka, Northern Ireland, Philippines, South Sudan, Palestine, Colombia, and Afghanistan, through to bilateral and multilateral agencies. Ken was a passionate researcher who cared deeply about the dignity of the individual. He will be greatly missed by family, colleagues, and friends.

Colleen Duggan is a senior program specialist in the Policy and Evaluation Division of the International Development Research Centre, Ottawa, Canada.

 
 

 

Contributors

Chapter Authors: Kenneth Bush, Colleen Duggan, Katherine Hay, John A. Healy, John R. Healy, Janaka Jayawickrama, Kevin Kelly, Colin Knox, Philip McDermott, Ethel Méndez, Jacqueline Strecker, Brendan S. Whitty, Zahbia Yousuf, and Sonal Zaveri 

A conversation with Colleen Duggan on the book Evaluation in the Extreme

Evaluation in the Extreme : Research, Impact and Politics in Violently Divided Societies

Couverture du livre Evaluation in the Extreme
Directeur(s) :
Kenneth Bush et Colleen Duggan
Maison(s) d’édition :
SAGE Publications, CRDI
2015-09-17
ISBN :
9789351503941
348 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552505847

​Depuis quelques décennies, on observe une augmentation du financement de la recherche dans les sociétés divisées par la violence et de la recherche menée sur ces sociétés. Mais comment savoir si la recherche a bel et bien une incidence sur ces sociétés ? Et, le cas échéant, cette incidence est-elle constructive ou destructive ? Ce livre est le premier à explorer systématiquement cette question par le truchement d’une série d’études de cas rédigées par des personnes aux premières lignes de la recherche appliquée. Il propose des façons claires et logiques de comprendre le rôle positif ou négatif que la recherche – ou toute autre intervention d’assistance – peut avoir sur une société en développement touchée par un conflit armé, l’agitation politique ou la violence sociale.

Les directeurs

Décès de Kenneth Bush 

Nous avons appris le décès de Ken le 16 avril 2016, alors qu’il visitait de la famille à Ottawa. Il avait 54 ans. On se souviendra de Ken comme un pionnier du programme Évaluation d’impact des situations de paix et de conflit (EIPC) qu’il a mis sur pied en 1998 alors qu’il travaillait au CRDI. Il a aussi collaboré à des évaluations de zones de conflit, en cherchant à combler l’écart entre les études sur la paix et les conflits et les recherches et les pratiques en matière d’évaluation. Il a collaboré à diverses organisations des secteurs humanitaires, du développement et de la consolidation de la paix dans les pays du Nord et du Sud, que ce soit avec des groupes communautaires au Sri Lanka, en Irlande du Nord, aux Philippines, au Soudan du Sud, en Palestine, en Colombie et en Afghanistan ou encore, avec des organismes bilatéraux et multilatéraux. Ken était un chercheur passionné qui avait à coeur la dignité des individus. Il manquera beaucoup à sa famille, à ses collègues et à ses amis.

Colleen Duggan est spécialiste de programme principale à la Division des politiques et de l’évaluation du Centre de recherches pour le développement international à Ottawa, au Canada.
 

 
 

 

Les contributeurs

Auteurs des chapitres : Kenneth Bush, Colleen Duggan, Katherine Hay, John A. Healy, John R. Healy, Janaka Jayawickrama, Kevin Kelly, Colin Knox, Philip McDermott, Ethel Méndez, Jacqueline Strecker, Brendan S. Whitty, Zahbia Yousuf et Sonal Zaveri 

Un entretien avec Colleen Duggan sur le livre « Evaluation in the Extreme ».