Escalonando la agroecologia: Procesos y aprendizajes de cuatro experiencias en Chile, Cuba, Honduras y Perú

Book cover Escalonando la agroecologia: Procesos y aprendizajes de cuatro experiencias en Chile, Cuba, Honduras y Perú
Author(s):
Claudia Ranaboldo and Carlos Venegas
Publisher(s):
Plaza y Valdés, IDRC
2007-01-01
ISBN:
9789707220555
188 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552503416

The agroecological approach has become widespread in Latin America over the last decades, increasingly attracting the attention of several sectors, from the most academic through public and private organizations, and even to social organizations and movements.

This book is the result of the Scaling-up Successful Agroecological Experiences in Latin America project, which was funded by the International Development and Research Centre (IDRC). In the context of this Project, “agroecological scaling-up” was defined as “a notable increase in the knowledge and management of agroecological principles and technologies among producers, communities, agroecological zones and different social and economic conditions, and among institutional actors linked to the agricultural development of the rural sector”.

The book presents the main processes and knowledge acquired through monitoring four experiences in Chile, Cuba, Honduras, and Peru. As a result, the key dimensions identified for scaling up are institutional organization, coordination between knowledge systems, and coordination with the markets.

The authors

Claudia Ranaboldo is a senior researcher with the Centro Latinoamericano para el Desarrollo Rural (Rimisp). She is the coordinator of the Proyecto de Desarrollo Territorial Rural a Partir de Servicios y Productos con Identidad.

Carlos Venegas is the Regional Director of the Centro de Educación y Tecnología (CET) and is the coordinator of graduate studies on agronomy sustainable rural development at the Universidad ARCIS Patagonia.

Escalonando la agroecologia : Procesos y aprendizajes de cuatro experiencias en Chile, Cuba, Honduras y Perú

Book cover Escalonando la agroecologia : Procesos y aprendizajes de cuatro experiencias en Chile, Cuba, Honduras y Perú
Auteur(s) :
Claudia Ranaboldo et Carlos Venegas
Maison(s) d’édition :
Plaza y Valdés, CRDI
2007-01-01
ISBN :
9789707220555
188 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552503416

Voilà deux décennies que l’approche agroécologique se répand tranquillement en Amérique latine, attirant progressivement l’attention de divers secteurs, dont le milieu universitaire, diverses institutions publiques et privées, les organismes s’intéressant au domaine et les mouvements sociaux.

Cet ouvrage est le fruit du projet Élargissement des expériences réussies en matière d’agroécologie en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes, financé par le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI). Pour les besoins du projet, on entend par « élargissement agroécologique » une amélioration sensible des connaissances et de la gestion des principes et technologies parmi toute une diversité de producteurs, localités, régions agroécologiques et acteurs institutionnels consacrés à la promotion du secteur rural.

L’ouvrage décrit les principaux processus et les enseignements obtenus de l’expérience de quatre pays : le Chili, Cuba, le Honduras et le Pérou. Il constate, en guise de conclusion, que l’élargissement de l’approche repose sur les facteurs clés que sont l’articulation entre les institutions, l’articulation entre les systèmes de connaissances et l’articulation avec les divers marchés.

Les auteurs

Claudia Ranaboldo est chercheure principale au Centro Latinoamericano para el Desarrollo Rural (Rimisp) et coordonne le projet de développement territorial rural à l’aide de services et de produits ayant une identité.

Carlos Venegas est directeur régional pour le Centro de Educación y Tecnología (CET) et coordonne le programme d’études de premier cycle sur l’agronomie et le développement rural durable à l’Universidad Arcis Patagonia.