Enzymes in Poultry and Swine Nutrition

Book cover Enzymes in Poultry and Swine Nutrition
Author(s):
Ronald R. Marquardt and Zhengkang Han
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1997-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
154 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502783

The use of enzymes as a feed additive has rapidly expanded during the past decade. Although the economic and social benefits of enzymes have been well established, more research and development are needed if enzymes are to reach their full potential in the industry.

This book addresses some of the more urgent areas for research and development. It points out that the use of enzymes in feeds is only in its infancy and that many exciting developments can be expected, particularly with the use of recombinant enzymes for a wide range of animals and animal feedstuffs. Enzymes not only will enable livestock and poultry producers to economically use new feedstuffs, but will also prove to be environmentally friendly, as they reduce the pollution associated with animal production. In addition, the book demonstrates that enzymes are a very useful tool in the study of physiological and metabolic mechanisms. Such studies will enhance our understanding of the role of dietary enzymes in animal nutrition.

The editors

Zhengkang Han is Professor Emeritus and former Head of the Laboratory of Animal Physiology and Biochemistry, Nanjing Agricultural University, Nanjing, China. Prof. Han is a consultant for the textbook committee of China's Ministry of Agriculture, vice chair of the degree committee of Nanjing Agricultural University, and a member of the National Natural Science Foundation of China committee that awards grants for animal, veterinary, and fishery sciences.

Ronald R. Marquardt is Professor of Animal Nutrition and Biochemistry in the Department of Animal Science, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. Prof. Marquardt has been an associate editor and editor of the Canadian Journal of Animal Science, served as a member on two grant-selection committees for the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, and been a member of the Council of Animal Nutrition for the US National Academy of Sciences.

Enzymes in Poultry and Swine Nutrition

Couverture du livre Enzymes in Poultry and Swine Nutrition
Auteur(s) :
Ronald R. Marquardt et Zhengkang Han
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1997-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
154 pages
e-ISBN :
1552502783

L'utilisation d'enzymes comme additifs alimentaires pour animaux a pris une expansion rapide au cours de la dernière décennie. Même si les avantages économiques et sociaux des enzymes sont bien établis, il faut pousser les travaux de recherche et de développement si l'on veut que les enzymes réalisent leur plein potentiel dans l'industrie.

Cet ouvrage porte sur certains des aspects les plus urgents de la recherche et du développement. On y signale que l'utilisation des enzymes dans les aliments pour animaux en est à ses tout premiers pas seulement et que l'on peut prévoir de nombreux progrès intéressants, particulièrement en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des enzymes recombinants dans un grand nombre d'animaux et d'aliments pour animaux. Les enzymes ne permettront pas seulement aux éleveurs et aux producteurs de volaille d'utiliser de nouvelles provendes de façon économique : ils se révéleront aussi respectueux de l'environnement, car ils réduiront la pollution associée à l'élevage. L'ouvrage démontre en outre que les enzymes sont très utiles dans l'étude de la physiologie et du métabolisme. Ces études nous aideront à mieux comprendre le rôle des enzymes alimentaires dans l'alimentation des animaux.

Les auteurs

Zhengkang Han est professeur émérite et ancien chef du Laboratoire de physiologie animale et de biochimie à l'Université agricole de Nanjing, en Chine. Le Pr Han est expert-conseil auprès du comité des manuels du ministère de l'Agriculture de la Chine, vice-président du comité des grades de l'Université agricole de Nanjing et membre du comité de la Fondation nationale des sciences naturelles de la Chine qui décerne des bourses en sciences animales, vétérinaires et halieutiques.

Ronald R. Marquardt est professeur d'alimentation animale et de biochimie au Département des sciences vétérinaires de l'Université du Manitoba, à Winnipeg, au Canada. Le Pr Marquardt a été rédacteur associé et rédacteur de la Revue canadienne de sciences animales, a siégé à deux comités de sélection de boursiers pour le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, ainsi qu'au Conseil de l'alimentation animale de la National Academy of Sciences des É.-U.