Entre el activismo y la intervención: El trabajo de organizaciones de la sociedad civil y su incidencia para la salud de mujeres indígenas en México

Book cover: Entre el activismo y la intervención
Editor(s):
Clara Juárez Ramírez, Felipe J. Hevia de la Jara, Ana E. López Ricoy and Laura G. Freyermuth Joffre
Publisher(s):
Alternativas y Capacidades A.C., Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social, IDRC
2017-05-31
ISBN:
9786079586836
371 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552505878

This book brings together the experiences and lessons learned from five civil society organizations (CSOs) whose work is related to the health of indigenous women in Mexico. While these CSOs work directly with communities and (intentionally or not) carry out advocacy activities, each organization has specific characteristics, depending on its history, its membership profile, its cultural resources, and the social and economic conditions in the region(s) where it works.

Given the evidence of the lack of equality in the attention given to the health of the indigenous population, and in recognition of the roles CSOs can play to improve it, Alternativas y Capacidades A.C. identified and addressed the opportunity of documenting the potential of CSOs and the level of influence they have achieved in national, state, and local politics to advance indigenous women’s health. To achieve this goal, a team of researchers and members of CSOs with experience on the subject collaborated to produce this book.

The editors

Dra. Clara Juárez Ramírez is a researcher and professor at the Center for Research in Health Systems of the National Institute of Public Health (INSP) in Mexico.

Dr. Felipe Hevia de la Jara is a researcher and professor at Mexico’s Center for Research and Studies in Social Anthropology (CIESAS)-Unidad Golfo. He has written more than 30 articles and books.

Ana Eugenia López Ricoy graduated in international relations and regional studies. She held a research internship at the Institute of Development Studies at the London School of Economics and was an associate researcher with Alternativas y Capacidades from 2010 to 2012. Currently, she works for the organization Gender and Development in Mexico.

Laura Georgina Freyermuth Joffre graduated in political science from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. She collaborates with various Mexican civil society organizations conducting community workshops.

Project description

Entre el activismo y la intervención: El trabajo de organizaciones de la sociedad civil y su incidencia para la salud de mujeres indígenas en México

Page couverture du livre : Entre el activismo y la intervención
Directeur(s) :
Clara Juárez Ramírez, Felipe J. Hevia de la Jara, Ana E. López Ricoy et Laura G. Freyermuth Joffre
Maison(s) d’édition :
Alternativas y Capacidades A.C., Centro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social, CRDI
2017-05-31
ISBN :
9786079586836
371 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552505878

Le présent ouvrage rassemble les expériences de cinq organisations de la société civile (OSC) et les leçons qu’ils ont tirées de leurs travaux portant sur la santé des femmes autochtones du Mexique. Ces OSC travaillent directement auprès des collectivités et (intentionnellement ou non) organisent des activités de sensibilisation. Toutes les organisations disposent de caractéristiques particulières qui varient en fonction de leur histoire, du profil de leurs adhérents, de leurs ressources culturelles et des conditions socioéconomiques des régions où elles oeuvrent.

Étant donné le manque flagrant d’équité quant à l’attention accordée à la santé de la population autochtone, et afin de reconnaître les rôles que peuvent jouer les OSC pour améliorer la situation, Alternativas y Capacidades A.C. a établi qu’il était opportun de documenter le potentiel des OSC et leur niveau d’influence sur les politiques nationales, étatiques et locales en vue de favoriser la santé des femmes autochtones, puis l’organisme s’est attelé à la tâche. Afin d’atteindre cet objectif, une équipe de chercheurs et de membres d’OSC possédant de l’expérience sur le sujet ont collaboré à la rédaction de l’ouvrage.

Les directeurs

Clara Juárez Ramírez est chercheuse et professeure au Centre de recherche sur les systèmes de santé de l’Institut national de santé publique au Mexique.

Felipe Hevia de la Jara est chercheur et professeur au Centre de recherche et d’études en anthropologie sociale (CIESAS) – Unidad Golfo. Il a publié plus de 30 livres et articles.

Ana Eugenia López Ricoy est diplômée en relations internationales et en études régionales. Elle a effectué un stage de recherche à l’Institut d’études sur le développement de la London School of Economics et elle a travaillé comme chercheuse associée de 2010 à 2012 au sein de Alternativas y Capacidades. Elle travaille actuellement pour l’organisme Genre et développement au Mexique.

Laura Georgina Freyermuth Joffre est diplômée en sciences politiques de la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. Elle collabore avec diverses organisations de la société civile mexicaine qui organisent des ateliers communautaires.

Description du projet