The “Dynamic South,” Economic Development and Inclusive Growth: The Challenges Ahead

Book cover The “Dynamic South,” Economic Development and Inclusive Growth
Editor(s):
Alexandre de Freitas Barbosa and Maria Cristina Cacciomali
Publisher(s):
CEBRAP
2013-09-25
ISBN:
978-85-62676-18-5
192 pages

High wage inequality continues to be a major policy concern in Brazil, India, China, and South Africa, despite impressive growth in their economies. Such inequalities undermine efforts to reduce poverty and underscore the policy urgency to promote more inclusive growth.

The impact of the 2008 economic crisis on labour markets and the role of social protection in these four emerging economies are among the subjects tackled in The "Dynamic South," Economic Development and Inclusive Growth: The Challenges Ahead. Edited by Alexandre de Freitas Barbosa and Maria Cristina Cacciamali, the book includes research supported by IDRC's Supporting Inclusive Growth program.

Published by CEBRAP (the Centro Brasileiro de Análise e Planejamento), the book's authors focus on the quality of jobs created and the participation of different segments of workers, highlighting specific forms of exclusion.

The book is an important contribution to the debates on the role of social protection for vulnerable workers and proposes a research agenda for collaboration among researchers in these emerging societies.

Download a PDF version of the book.

Learn more about the research IDRC supported: Labour Market Inequality in Brazil and India: A Comparative BRIC Study

The “Dynamic South”, Economic Development and Inclusive Growth : The Challenges Ahead

Couverture du livre The “Dynamic South”, Economic Development and Inclusive Growth: The Challenges Ahead
Directeur(s) :
Alexandre de Freitas Barbosa et Maria Cristina Cacciomali
Maison(s) d’édition :
CEBRAP
2013-09-25
ISBN :
978-85-62676-18-5
192 pages

Au Brésil, en Inde, en Chine et en Afrique du Sud, l’importante inégalité des salaires demeure une préoccupation de taille sur le plan des politiques, malgré une croissance économique appréciable. Cette inégalité entrave les efforts déployés pour réduire la pauvreté et fait ressortir l’urgence d’adopter des politiques favorisant une croissance plus inclusive.

Les répercussions de la crise économique de 2008 sur les marchés du travail et sur le rôle de la protection sociale dans ces quatre pays émergents font partie des sujets abordés dans The « Dynamic South » Economic Development and Inclusive Growth : The Challenges Ahead. Réalisé sous la direction d’Alexandre de Freitas Barbosa et de Maria Cristina Cacciamali, l’ouvrage fait état de recherches soutenues par le programme Croissance pour tous du CRDI.

Les auteurs de ce livre publié par le Centro Brasileiro de Análise e Planejamento (CEBRAP) s’intéressent à la qualité des emplois créés et à la participation de différents segments de travailleurs, et mettent en lumière des formes d’exclusion précises.

Le livre vient enrichir le débat sur le rôle de la protection sociale pour les travailleurs vulnérables et propose un programme de recherche auquel pourraient s’attaquer de concert des chercheurs de ces pays émergents.

Télécharger le livre (PDF)

En savoir plus sur les travaux soutenus par le CRDI : Inégalité sur le marché du travail au Brésil et en Inde - une étude comparative du Brésil, de la Russie, de l'Inde et de la Chine (pays BRIC)