Digital Review of Asia Pacific 2009–2010

Book cover Digital Review of Asia Pacific 2009–2010
Editor(s):
Shahid Akhtar and Patricia Arinto
Publisher(s):
Sage, Orbicom, IDRC
2009-06-03
ISBN:
9788132100843
382 pages
e-ISBN:
9781525504567

The Digital Review of Asia Pacific meets an urgent need for current and relevant information and viewpoints on ICT for development in Asia and the Pacific. As such, it is a tremendously valuable resource for the policymakers, government leaders, and public sector managers.
— Hyeun-Suk Rhee (Director, Asian and Pacific Training Centre for Information and Communication Technology for Development, Incheon, Republic of Korea)

The biennial Digital Review of Asia Pacific is a comprehensive guide to the state-of-practice and trends in information and communication technologies for development (ICTD) in Asia Pacific.

This fourth edition (2009–2010) features 30 economies and four subregional groupings. The chapters provide updated information on ICT infrastructure, industries, content and services, key initiatives, enabling policies, regulation, education and capacity building, open source and R&D initiatives, as well as key ICTD challenges in each of the economies covered. The common framework that underpins these reports allows readers to undertake a comparative analysis and assess progress across the region.

In addition, regional overviews provide a synthesis of ICTD trends, regulatory issues, and lessons for managing innovation in the network economy. The thematic chapters focus on issues in ICT in education, a key area in ICTD.

The authors are drawn from government, academe, industry and civil society, providing a broad perspective on the use of ICTs for human development.

Digital Review of Asia Pacific 2009–2010

Couverture du livre Digital Review of Asia Pacific 2009–2010
Directeur(s) :
AkShahid Akhtar et Patricia Arinto
Maison(s) d’édition :
Sage, Orbicom, CRDI
2009-06-03
ISBN :
9788132100843
382 pages
e-ISBN :
9781525504567

Publié tous les deux ans, cet ouvrage se veut un guide exhaustif de l’état de la pratique et des tendances marquantes des technologies de l’information et de la communication au service du développement (TIC-D) dans la région Asie-Pacifique.

Cette quatrième édition (2009–2010) porte sur 30 pays et quatre sous-régions. Chaque chapitre fait le bilan des TIC dans un pays donné, en fournissant une mise à jour quant aux infrastructures, aux secteurs, au contenu, aux services, aux initiatives clés, aux politiques favorables, à la réglementation, à la formation et au renforcement des capacités, aux initiatives en libre accès et initiatives de recherche-développement et aux défis à relever. Ces rapports par pays sont établis selon une structure qui permet au lecteur d’établir des comparaisons et de constater les progrès réalisés à l’échelle de la région.

En outre, des survols régionaux présentent une synthèse des tendances en matière de TIC D dans la région, des questions d’ordre réglementaire et des leçons à retenir pour ce qui est de gérer l’innovation dans l’économie des réseaux. Les chapitres thématiques portent sur les TIC dans le secteur de l’enseignement, un enjeu clé en matière de TIC-D.

Les auteurs, d’horizons très divers – gouvernement, milieu universitaire, industrie et société civile –, ouvrent une vaste perspective sur l’utilisation des TIC pour le développement humain.