Development Cooperation in a Fractured Global Order: An Arduous Transition

Book cover Development Cooperation in a Fractured Global Order: An Arduous Transition
Author(s):
Francisco Sagasti and Gonzalo Alcalde
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1999-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
204 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502767

Available formats

The turbulence the world is experiencing approaching the 21st century is not just because of the end of the Cold War, the end of a Golden Age, or the beginning of the Information Revolution. Fundamentally, it signals the end of the Baconian Age, which began almost 400 years ago when Sir Francis Bacon set out his concepts of progress and development, concepts that have shaped human endeavours ever since.

What does the end of the Baconian Age mean to the future of development cooperation? What does it mean for the lives of the world's poor and hungry? This book traces the evolution of development cooperation to its impending doom, examines the main trends and changes in the international environment, and explores the future of international development assistance. It will surely stimulate discussion and debate amongst policymakers, academics, practitioners, and students of development worldwide.

The authors

Francisco Sagasti is the director of the AGENDA: Peru program at FORO Nacional/Internacional, an institution created to promote democratic governance and to foster dialogue and consensus on critical development issues. In addition to various academic, private sector, and government advisory positions in Peru and other countries, he has been Chief of Strategic Planning and senior advisor at the World Bank; visiting professor at the Wharton School of Finance, University of Pennsylvania; and chairman of the UN Advisory Committee on Science and Technology for Development.

Gonzalo Alcalde is research associate at FORO Nacional/Internacional and has been involved in the AGENDA: Peru program of activities since 1995. He has also been assistant analyst at Peru's Ministry of Economics and Finance.

DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION IN A FRACTURED GLOBAL ORDER An Arduous Transition

Auteur(s) :
Francisco Sagasti et Gonzalo Alcalde
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1999-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
204 pages
e-ISBN :
1-55250-276-7

La turbulence qui règne dans le monde à l'aube du 21e siècle n'est pas attribuable simplement à la fin de la Guerre froide, à la fin d'un âge d'or ou au début de la Révolution de l'information. Elle signale essentiellement la fin de l'ère de Bacon, qui a commencé il y a presque 400 ans lorsque Sir Francis Bacon a défini ses concepts du progrès et du développement, concepts qui ont façonné depuis toute entreprise humaine.

Que signifie la fin de l'ère de Bacon pour l'avenir de la coopération au service du développement? Que signifie-t-elle pour la vie des pauvres et des affamés du monde? Cet ouvrage suit l'évolution de la coopération au service du développement jusqu'à son effondrement imminent, analyse les tendances et les changements principaux dans le contexte international et explore l'avenir de l'aide au développement international. Il stimulera certainement la discussion et le débat chez les responsables des politiques, les théoriciens, les praticiens et les étudiants du développement dans le monde entier.

LES AUTEURS

Francisco Sagasti est directeur du programme AGENDA : Peru au FORO Nacional/Internacional, institution créée pour promouvoir la gouvernance démocratique et favoriser le dialogue et le consensus sur des enjeux critiques du développement. Outre divers postes consultatifs qu'il a occupés dans les milieux universitaires, le secteur privé et le secteur public au Pérou et ailleurs, il a été chef de la planification stratégique et conseiller principal à la Banque mondiale, professeur invité à la Wharton School of Finance de l'Université de la Pennsylvanie et président du Comité consultatif de la science et de la technique au service du développement des Nations Unies.

Gonzalo Alcalde est attaché de recherche au FORO Nacional/Internacional et participe aux activités du programme AGENDA : Peru depuis 1995. Il a aussi été analyste adjoint au ministère de l'Économie et des Finances du Pérou.