Development and Global Governance

Book cover Development and Global Governance
Editor(s):
Roy Culpeper and Caroline Pestieau
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1996-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
150 pages
e-ISBN:
1552501361

Available formats

Fifty years on, the reform of the Bretton Woods institutions — the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund — has become a lively issue. The G-7 industrialized countries took a first bite at this subject during their Halifax Summit, and the debate continues. A group of experts from all continents met in Ottawa to give challenging advice to the summiteers and beyond, ranging from the view that the G-7 itself is in eclipse to an argument for turning the IMF into a central world bank. This book contains the seven papers and a summary of the discussion from that meeting, sponsored jointly by the International Development Research Centre and the North-South Institute.

The editors

Roy Culpeper is President of the North-South Institute. He has published extensively on the global debt problem and international finance, including High Stakes and Low Incomes: Canada and the Development Banks.

Caroline Pestieau is Vice President, Program at the International Development Research Centre. She was previously Deputy Chair of the Economic Council of Canada, Freedom of Information and Privacy Commissioner in Quebec, and a member of the C.D. Howe Institute.

Development and Global Governance

Directeur(s) :
Roy Culpeper et Caroline Pestieau
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1996-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
150 pages
e-ISBN :
1552501361

Après cinquante ans, la réforme des institutions de Bretton Woods — la Banque mondiale et le Fonds monétaire international — est devenue une question explosive. Les pays industrialisés du G‑7 se sont attaqués les premiers à la question pendant leur Sommet de Halifax, et le débat se poursuit. Des experts de tous les continents se sont réunis à Ottawa pour donner aux membres du Sommet des conseils stimulants qui variaient de l’opinion selon laquelle le G‑7 même est en train de disparaître jusqu’à un argument en faveur de la transformation du FMI en banque mondiale centrale. Cet ouvrage contient les sept communications et un sommaire des discussions qui ont eu lieu au cours de la réunion, parrainée conjointement par le Centre de recherches pour le développement international et l’Institut Nord-Sud.

Les directeurs

Roy Culpeper est président de l’Institut Nord-Sud. Il a beaucoup publié sur le problème de la dette mondiale et des finances internationales, dont High Stakes and Low Incomes: Canada and the Development Banks.

Caroline Pestieau est vice-présidente, Programmes, au Centre de recherches pour le développement international. Elle était auparavant vice-présidente du Conseil économique du Canada, commissaire à la liberté d’accès à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée au Québec et membre de l’Institut C.D. Howe.