Skip to main content

Democracy in the Arab World: Explaining the Deficit

Editor(s)
Ibrahim Elbadawi and Samir Makdisi
Publisher(s)
Routledge, IDRC
ISBN
9780415779999
e-ISBN
9781552504918

Available formats

Despite notable socio-economic development in the Arab region, a deficit in democracy and political rights has continued to prevail. This book examines the major reasons underlying the persistence of this democracy deficit over the past decades and touches on the prospect for deepening the process of democratization in the Arab world.

Contributions from major scholars of the region give a cross-country analysis of economic development, political institutions and social factors, and the impact of oil wealth and regional wars, and present a model for democracy in the Arab world. Case studies are drawn from Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, Sudan, and the Gulf region; they build on these cross-country analyses and look beyond the influence of oil and conflicts as the major reason behind this democracy deficit. The chapters illustrate how specific socio-political history of the country concerned, fear of fundamentalist groups, collusion with foreign powers and foreign interventions, and the co-option of the elites by the state also contribute to these problems of democratization facing the region.

Situating the democratic position of the Arab world in a global context, this book is an important contribution to the field of Middle Eastern politics, development studies, and studies on conflict and democracy.

The editors

Ibrahim Elbadawi, formerly Lead Economist at the Development Research Group of the World Bank, is currently Director of the Macroeconomics Research and Forecasting Department at the Dubai Economic Council and has published widely on macroeconomic and development policy and the economics of civil war. His regional specialization covers Africa and the Middle East, where he is widely networked with academic research and policy forums in the two regions. He is also a visiting research fellow with the Center for Global Development and an Associate Editor of the Middle East Development Journal.

Samir Makdisi is Professor Emeritus of Economics, Founder of the Institute of Financial Economics, and Distinguished Senior Fellow, Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs at the American University of Beirut. He has served as Deputy President of AUB; as chair of the Board of Trustees at the Economic Research Forum for the Arab Countries, Iran and Turkey; on the Board of the Global Development Network; and as Minister of Economy and Trade for the Republic of Lebanon. He has published widely on macroeconomic, financial and developmental issues in the Arab World.

Democracy in the Arab World : Explaining the Deficit

Couverture du livre Democracy in the Arab World : Explaining the Deficit
Directeur(s) :
Ibrahim Elbadawi et Samir Makdisi
Maison(s) d’édition :
Routledge, CRDI
2010-09-10
ISBN :
9780415779999
352 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504918

Malgré le développement socioéconomique notable enregistré dans le monde arabe, un déficit sur le plan de la démocratie et des droits politiques perdure. Ce livre examine les principales raisons de la persistance de ce déficit démocratique au cours des dernières décennies et aborde les possibilités d’approfondissement du processus de démocratisation dans cette région du monde.

Les textes rédigés par d’éminents experts de la région offrent une analyse transnationale du développement économique, des institutions politiques et des facteurs sociaux, ainsi que des répercussions de la richesse pétrolière et des conflits régionaux, et présentent un modèle propice à la démocratie dans le monde arabe. Les études de cas rendent compte de la situation en Algérie, en Égypte, en Iraq, en Jordanie, au Liban, en Syrie, au Soudan et dans la région du Golfe. En faisant fond sur ces analyses, elles cherchent ailleurs que dans l’influence du pétrole et des conflits la principale raison ce déficit démocratique. Les chapitres illustrent comment l’histoire sociopolitique d’un pays, la peur des groupes intégristes, la collusion avec les pouvoirs extérieurs et les interventions étrangères ainsi que la cooptation des élites par l’État contribuent également aux problèmes de démocratisation auxquels la région fait face.

En situant la conjoncture démocratique du monde arabe dans un contexte mondial, cet ouvrage vient enrichir de façon appréciable les études des conflits et de la démocratie, de la politique au Moyen Orient et du développement.

Les directeurs

Ancien économiste en chef au Groupe de recherche sur le développement de la Banque mondiale, Ibrahim Elbadawi est actuellement directeur du département de la recherche et des prévisions macroéconomiques au Conseil économique de Dubaï. Il a abondamment publié au sujet des politiques macroéconomiques, des politiques du développement et de l’économie des guerres civiles. Spécialiste de l’Afrique et du Moyen-Orient, il a noué des liens avec de nombreux forums de recherche universitaire et de recherche sur les politiques dans les deux régions. M. Elbadawi est également chercheur invité au Center for Global Development et l’un des éditeurs délégués du Middle East Development Journal.

Samir Makdisi est professeur émérite d’économie, fondateur de l’Institute of Financial Economics de l’Université américaine de Beyrouth (AUB) et senior fellow, Institut Issam Fares pour la politique publique et les affaires internationales de l’AUB. Il a également été vice-président de l’AUB, président du conseil d’administration du Forum de recherche économique pour les pays arabes, l’Iran et la Turquie, membre du conseil d’administration du Global Development Network et ministre de l’Économie et du Commerce de la République du Liban. M. Makdisi a publié abondamment sur des questions relatives à la macroéconomie, aux finances et au développement dans le monde arabe.