Culture, Spirituality, and Economic Development: Opening a Dialogue

Author(s):
William F. Ryan, S.J.
Publisher(s):
IDRC
1995-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
80 pages
e-ISBN:
1552502732

Available formats

Security, sustainability, and stability often depend on a system of values that has taken centuries to develop within a specific society. Current development strategies, however, tend to ignore, often underestimate, and sometimes undermine cultural values or the cultural environment, which are essential to healthy human development. The question, then, becomes: How can human values and belief systems be properly integrated into the modern economic development paradigm?

In Culture, Spirituality, and Economic Development, author William F. Ryan S.J. begins to tackle this question. He does so by reflecting upon a series of interviews conducted with scholars from various disciplines and all corners of the globe. The results confirm the fallacy of searching for a new development "grail." Instead, this book prompts scholars and development professionals to look to a variety of development paradigms, each rooted in its own ethical and spiritual world view, mutually dependent, mutually respectful, and mutually enriching.

The author

William F. Ryan, S.J., has been involved extensively in the social and ethical dimensions of development in Canada and overseas for many years. He holds a master's degree in labour relations from St Louis University, a licentiate in theology from Collège St Albert, Louvain, and a doctorate in economics from Harvard University. He was founding director of the Center of Concern in Washington, DC, a board member of the North-South Institute from 1978 to 1991, and general secretary of the Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops from 1984 to 1990. He is currently the director of the Jesuit Project on Ethics in Politics, based in Ottawa, Canada.

Culture, Spirituality, and Economic Development : Opening a Dialogue

Auteur(s) :
William F. Ryan, S.J.
Maison(s) d’édition :
CRDI
1995-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
80 pages
e-ISBN :
1552502732

La sécurité, la durabilité et la stabilité sont souvent tributaires d’un système de valeurs qui a pris des siècles à se former dans une société en particulier. Les stratégies actuelles de développement ont toutefois tendance à oublier, souvent à sous-estimer et parfois à miner, les valeurs culturelles ou l’environnement culturel qui sont essentiels au développement de l’être humain. Il faut alors se demander comment intégrer comme il se doit les systèmes de valeurs et de croyances humains dans le paradigme du développement économique moderne.

Dans Culture, Spirituality, and Economic Development, l’auteur, William F. Ryan, S.J. aborde la question en formulant des réflexions sur une série d’entrevues réalisées auprès de théoriciens de diverses disciplines de toutes les régions du monde. Les résultats confirment le caractère fallacieux que présente la recherche d’un nouveau « graal » du développement. Cet ouvrage incite plutôt les théoriciens et les professionnels du développement à se tourner vers un éventail de paradigmes du développement dont chacun est enraciné dans sa propre optique de l’éthique et du monde spirituel, tributaires les uns des autres et qui se respectent et s’enrichissent mutuellement.

L’auteur

William F. Ryan, S.J., s’intéresse à fond aux dimensions sociales et déontologiques du développement au Canada et à l’étranger depuis des années. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en relations de travail de l’Université de St. Louis, d’une licence en théologie du Collège Saint‑Albert, à Louvain, et d’un doctorat en sciences économiques de l’Université Harvard, il a été directeur fondateur du Center of Concern à Washington, DC, membre du conseil d’administration de l’Institut Nord-Sud de 1978 à 1991 et secrétaire général de la Conférence des évêques catholiques du Canada de 1984 à 1990. Il est actuellement directeur du Projet jésuite sur l’éthique en politique, à Ottawa, au Canada.