Child Welfare in Developing Countries

Book cover Child Welfare in Developing Countries
Editor(s):
John Cockburn and Jane Kabubo-Mariara
Publisher(s):
Springer, PEP, IDRC
2010-08-05
ISBN:
9781441963376
308 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552504888

What factors affect child welfare? How can policy improve child welfare? In developing countries, there has been relatively little empirical work on the analysis and measurement of child poverty. Further, poverty has many dimensions, including mortality, morbidity, hunger, illiteracy, lack of fixed housing, and lack of resources, and cannot be assessed with a single measurement method.

Based on original research in Africa and South America and using a multidimensional poverty indicator approach, this book identifies the existence of inequalities in child welfare, analyzes their sources, and evaluates the impacts of policy responses to those inequalities. Topics considered include monetary poverty, asset poverty, nutrition, mortality, access to education and school attendance, child labor, and access to health services.

The book’s findings demonstrate that while current government programs offering financial assistance, supplementary food, and free or subsidized education and health care have a positive impact on child welfare, these outcomes can still improve, and proposes policy prescriptions toward this end. The book will be of use to poverty and policy researchers, professionals in international development, and graduate students interested in poverty and inequality.

The editors

John Cockburn is co-director of the Poverty and Economic Policy research network and professor at Laval University in Québec.

Jane Kabubo-Mariara is associate director and senior lecturer at the School of Economics, University of Nairobi.

Child Welfare in Developing Countries

Couverture du livre Child Welfare in Developing Countries
Directeur(s) :
John Cockburn et Jane Kabubo-Mariara
Maison(s) d’édition :
Springer, PEP, CRDI
2010-08-05
ISBN :
9781441963376
308 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552504888

Quels facteurs influent sur le bien-être des enfants ? Comment les politiques peuvent-elles l’améliorer ? Dans les pays en développement, les travaux empiriques sur l’analyse et la mesure de la pauvreté des enfants sont relativement peu nombreux. En outre, la pauvreté a de multiples facettes, dont la mortalité, la morbidité, la faim, l’analphabétisme, l’absence de domicile fixe et le manque de ressources, et ne peut être évaluée selon une méthode de mesure unique.

Partant de travaux de recherche menés en Afrique et en Amérique du Sud et adoptant une approche reposant sur des indicateurs de la pauvreté multidimensionnelle, cet ouvrage cerne l’existence d’inégalités en ce qui concerne le bien-être des enfants, en analyse les sources et évalue l’incidence des politiques adoptées pour les réduire. Il aborde la pauvreté monétaire, la pauvreté de patrimoine, la nutrition, la mortalité, l’accès à l’éducation et la fréquentation scolaire, le travail des enfants et l’accès aux services de santé.

Les auteurs constatent que bien que les programmes d’aide financière, de supplémentation alimentaire et de gratuité et de subvention relatifs à l’éducation et aux soins de santé qui sont en place aient une incidence positive sur le bien-être des enfants, il y a encore place à l’amélioration et ils proposent à cette fin des orientations en matière de politiques. Ce livre sera utile aux chercheurs qui se penchent sur les politiques et la pauvreté, aux professionnels du développement international et aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs qui s’intéressent aux questions de la pauvreté et des inégalités.

Les directeurs

John Cockburn est codirecteur du Réseau de recherche sur les politiques économiques et la pauvreté (réseau PEP) et professeur à l’Université Laval, à Québec.

Jane Kabubo-Mariara est directrice associée de l’École d’économie de l’Université de Nairobi, où elle est également chargée d’enseignement.