Building Businesses with Small Producers: Successful Business Development Services in Africa, Asia, and Latin America

Book cover Building Business with Small Producers: Successful Business Development Services in Africa, Asia, and Latin America
Editor(s):
Sunita Kapila and Donald Mead
Publisher(s):
Practical Action Publishing, IDRC
2002-01-01
ISBN:
0889369860
224 pages
e-ISBN:
1552500993

Available formats

Building Businesses with Small Producers presents the findings and a comparative analysis of seven case studies that challenge current beliefs about good practice in the provision of business development services (BDS) to small and micro enterprises. The book also highlights issues concerning the assessment of impact, sustainability, and cost-effectiveness of such services.

Three services were given particular attention in the case studies: marketing, access to technology, and business and management skills acquisition. Each case study – from Bolivia, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Ghana, Sri Lanka, and Zimbabwe – shows how small producers were introduced to new production and marketing systems and how private sector participation was successfully promoted. The analysis of these experiences looks at the feasibility of market-based BDS provision and the role of nongovernmental organizations in building BDS markets.

The research discussed in this book makes an important contribution to the ongoing debate regarding market and demand-based provision of nonfinancial services to small and micoentrepreneurs and businesses in Southern countries. This debate has been influenced by successes achieved in commercializing and broadening the reach of microcredit programs. The analysis presented reminds us that, to provide effective assistance to small producers, business development services often need to be provided in a multifaceted and flexible manner.

The editors

Sunita Kapila has worked as a consultant and staff member for various NGOs and donor agencies, including IDRC. Her specialities include small business development in South Asia and Africa, women’s information income generation, the acquisition of employable and entrepreneurial skills, strengthening of small and micro entrepreneurs’ associations, and various aspects of urban governance.

Donald Mead has over 40 years of experience as a development economist, including several long-term assignments in eastern and southern Africa. For the past 22 years, as a professor of agricultural economics at Michigan State University, he has concentrated on prospects and problems of small enterprises and the design of effective interventions for the support of such enterprises.

In Europe: Practical Action Publishing

Building Businesses with Small Producers : Successful Business Development Services in Africa, Asia, and Latin America

Couverture du livre Building Business with Small Producers : Successful Business Development Services in Africa, Asia, and Latin America
Directeur(s) :
Sunita Kapila et Donald Mead
Maison(s) d’édition :
Practical Action Publishing, CRDI
2002-01-01
ISBN :
0889369860
224 pages
e-ISBN :
1552500993

Building Businesses with Small Producers présente les constatations et une analyse comparative de sept études de cas qui remettent en question les croyances actuelles sur la bonne pratique dans la prestation de services d'expansion des affaires (SEA) aux petites et aux microentreprises. L'ouvrage met aussi en évidence les enjeux qui ont trait à l'évaluation de l'impact, à la viabilité et à l'efficacité des coûts de ces services.

On a accordé une attention particulière à trois services dans le contexte d'études de cas : marketing, accès à la technologie et acquisition de connaissances spécialisées en administration et gestion des affaires. Chaque étude de cas - portant sur la Bolivie, le Bangladesh, le Salvador, le Ghana, le Sri Lanka et le Zimbabwe - démontre comment on a initié de petits producteurs à de nouveaux systèmes de production et de marketing et comment on a favorisé avec succès la participation du secteur privé. L'analyse de ces expériences porte sur la faisabilité de la prestation de SEA fondée sur le marché, ainsi que sur les rôles des organisations non gouvernementales dans l'édification de marchés des SEA.

La recherche analysée dans cet ouvrage apporte une contribution importante au débat qui se poursuit sur le marché et la prestation, fondée sur la demande, de services non financiers aux petites et aux microentreprises, ainsi qu'aux entreprises des pays du Sud. Le débat est orienté par les succès obtenus en commercialisant les programmes de microcrédit et en élargissant leur rayonnement. L'analyse présentée nous rappelle que pour aider efficacement les petits producteurs, il faut souvent fournir des services d'expansion des affaires d'une façon flexible et à facettes multiples.

Les directeurs

Sunita Kapila a travaillé comme consultante et membre du personnel de diverses ONG et de divers bailleurs de fonds, y compris le CRDI. Ses spécialités comprennent notamment l'expansion des petites entreprises en Asie du Sud et en Afrique, l'information des femmes, la production de revenu, l'acquisition de connaissances spécialisées employables et de techniques d'entrepreneuriat, le renforcement des associations de petites et microentreprises, ainsi que divers aspects de la gouvernance urbaine.

Donald Mead a plus de 40 ans d'expérience en économie du développement. Il s'est notamment acquitté de plusieurs missions à long terme en Afrique orientale et australe. Depuis 22 ans, comme professeur d'économie agricole à l'Université du Michigan, il concentre ses activités sur les perspectives et les problèmes des petites entreprises et la conception de moyens efficaces de les aider.

En Europe : Practical Action Publishing