The Bottom Line: Industry and the Environment in South Africa

Book cover The Bottom Line: Industry and the Environment in South Africa
Editor(s):
L. Bethlehem and M. Goldblatt
Publisher(s):
UCT Press, IDRC
1997-01-01
ISBN:
Out of print
225 pages
e-ISBN:
1552504425

All economic activity depends on the environment. This simple fact has spurred the international community into giving more and more attention to the environment in general and the environmental performance of industry in particular. The Bottom Line is a major new contribution to the debates on industry and the environment. With an emphasis on South Africa, The Bottom Line focuses, like no other publication has, on the issues facing the environmental management of industry today. It explores, for instance, the relationship between legislation and new investments, the environmental costs of electricity supply, the role of trade unions in environmental management, and the environmental management of small and medium-sized enterprises.

The Bottom Line is a product of 3 years of research conducted by the Industrial Strategy Project at the University of Cape Town. Like the project's previous publication, Improving Manufacturing Performance in South Africa (IDRC/UCT Press 1995), this book will appeal to industrial managers, environmentalists, lawyers, engineers, students, policymakers, trade unionists, and anyone interested in sustainable economic development worldwide.

The editors

Lael Bethlehem is coordinator of research and policy development at the National Economic Development and Labour Council (Nedlac) in South Africa. She is also Chairperson of the National Forestry Advisory Council.

Michael Goldblatt is program manager of the Environment and Development Program in the Graduate School of Public and Development Management, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa.

The Bottom Line : Industry and the Environment in South Africa

Couverture du livre The Bottom Line : Industry and the Environment in South Africa
Directeur(s) :
L. Bethlehem et M. Goldblatt
Maison(s) d’édition :
UCT Press, CRDI
1997-01-01
ISBN :
Épuisé
225 pages
e-ISBN :
1552504425

Toute activité économique est tributaire de l'environnement. Ce simple fait a poussé la collectivité internationale à accorder de plus en plus d'attention à l'environnement en général et au rendement environnemental de l'industrie en particulier. The Bottom Line apporte une nouvelle contribution importante au débat sur l'industrie et l'environnement. Axée sur l'Afrique du Sud, The Bottom Line porte avant tout, comme aucune autre publication ne l'a jamais fait, sur les enjeux de la gestion de l'environnement qui sont ceux de l'industrie d'aujourd'hui. On y explore, par exemple, le lien entre la législation et les nouveaux investissements, les coûts environnementaux de l'approvisionnement en électricité, le rôle des syndicats dans la gestion de l'environnement, ainsi que la gestion environnementale des petites et moyennes entreprises.

The Bottom Line est le fruit de trois années de recherches effectuées par le Projet sur la stratégie industrielle de l'Université du Cap. Comme la publication antérieure du projet, Improving Manufacturing Performance in South Africa (CRDI/UCT Press 1995), cet ouvrage intéressera les gestionnaires de l'industrie, les environnementalistes, les avocats, les ingénieurs, les étudiants, les responsables de politiques, les syndicalistes et quiconque s'intéresse au développement durable de l'économie dans le monde entier.

Les directeurs

Lael Bethlehem est coordonnatrice de la recherche sur l'élaboration des politiques au Conseil national du développement économique et de l'emploi (Nedlac) de l'Afrique du Sud. Elle est aussi présidente du Conseil consultatif national des forêts.

Michael Goldblatt est gestionnaire du Programme Environnement et développement à l'École d'études supérieures en gestion publique et développement de l'Université de Witwatersrand, en Afrique du Sud.