Blue Genes: Sharing and Conserving the World's Aquatic Biodiversity

Book cover Blue Genes: Sharing and Conserving the World's Aquatic Biodiversity
Author(s):
David Greer and Brian Harvey
Publisher(s):
Earthscan, IDRC
2004-09-01
ISBN:
1844071065
246 pages
e-ISBN:
1552501574

A wonderfully written and sorely needed guide to the promise of aquatic genetic resources … brimming with important pointers of ways to realize the potential of the little appreciated and frequently abused aquatic genetic resources.
– Thomas Lovejoy (President, Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment)

This is just what the doctor ordered: a sensible, balanced, and comprehensive overview of how countries can manage their aquatic genetic resources in the biotechnology age.
– Jeffrey A. McNeely (Chief Scientist, IUCN – The World Conservation Union)

The advance of genetic sciences has led to a “blue revolution” in the way we use aquatic biodiversity.

By 2020, the world will be eating almost as much farmed as world fish, marine bacteria could yield the cure for cancer, and deep-sea bacteria may be exploited to consume oil spills. Science is moving ahead at a staggering speed, and the demand for genetic resources is growing rapidly – yes governance and policy lag far behind.

This groundbreaking work is the first to look at the issues of ownership, governance, and trade in aquatic resources. Blue Genes describes the growing demand for aquatic genetic resources and the desperate need to fill the policy vacuum for the management and conservation of aquatic biodiversity as a foundation for rules governing access to and use of aquatic genetic resources. Special attention is paid to the rights of indigenous and local communities providing access to those resources and their role in managing and conserving aquatic biodiversity.

The book concludes with policy recommendations specifically tailored to aquatic resources and uses six case studies from four continents to illustrate key issues.

The authors

David Greer is an independent legal consultant specializing in natural resources and biodiversity management policy.

Brian Harvey is a fisheries biologist and President of the World Fisheries Trust.

Blue Genes : Sharing and Conserving the World's Aquatic Biodiversity

Couverture du livre Blue Genes: Sharing and Conserving the World's Aquatic Biodiversity
Auteur(s) :
David Greer et Brian Harvey
Maison(s) d’édition :
Earthscan, CRDI
2004-09-01
ISBN :
1844071065
246 pages
e-ISBN :
1552501574

Guide des promesses des ressources génétiques aquatiques merveilleusement écrit et dont on avait grand besoin […] plein de conseils importants sur des façons de réaliser le potentiel de ressources génétiques aquatiques peu appréciées et souvent malmenées.
– Thomas Lovejoy (Président, Heinz Center for Science, Economics and the Environment)

Voilà ce qui nous manquait : un aperçu détaillé, équilibré et intelligent de ce que les pays peuvent faire pour gérer leurs ressources génétiques aquatiques à l’ère de la biotechnologie.
– Jeffrey A. McNeely (Conseiller scientifique en chef, Union mondiale pour la nature, UICN)

Les progrès de la génétique ont entraîné une « révolution bleue » dans notre utilisation de la biodiversité aquatique.

D’ici à 2020, on mangera presque autant de poissons d’élevage que de poissons sauvages, les bactéries marines pourraient offrir un traitement contre le cancer, et on se servira peut-être de bactéries des grands fonds pour nettoyer les déversements de pétrole. La science progresse à pas de géant, et la demande de ressources génétiques croît rapidement, mais la gouvernance et les politiques sont très à la traîne.

Cet ouvrage novateur est le premier à examiner les questions reliées à la propriété, à la gouvernance et au commerce des ressources aquatiques. Blue Genes décrit la demande croissante de ressources génétiques aquatiques et le besoin urgent de combler le vide politique en ce qui concerne la gestion et la préservation de la biodiversité aquatique, et d’ainsi asseoir les règles régissant l’accès aux ressources génétiques aquatiques et leur utilisation. Une attention particulière est accordée aux droits des collectivités autochtones et locales qui donnent accès à ces ressources et à leur rôle dans la gestion et la préservation de la biodiversité aquatique.

Les auteurs formulent des recommandations en ce qui concerne les politiques visant expressément les ressources aquatiques et illustrent des aspects clés à l’aide de six études de cas menées sur quatre continents.

Les auteurs

David Greer est conseiller juridique indépendant spécialisé dans les politiques relatives à la gestion de la biodiversité et des ressources naturelles.

Brian Harvey est ichtyobiologiste et président du World Fisheries Trust.​