Biotechnology and Innovation Systems: The Role of Public Policy

Book cover Biotechnology and Innovation Systems: The Role of Public Policy
Editor(s):
Bo Göransson and Carl Magnus Pålsson
Publisher(s):
Edward Elgar, IDRC
2012-02-29
ISBN:
9781781001387
420 pages
e-ISBN:
9781552505380

This book explores how policies targeting public research institutions, such as universities, contribute to the appropriation of biotechnology through national innovation systems.

Around the world, biotechnology has become a driving force for dramatic change in systems and policies intended to spur innovation. The leading contributors expertly construct a detailed picture of policy approaches that support biotechnology and how such approaches work under different economic and social conditions. They also provide an insight into the role of universities in this process.

Researchers, academics, students, policy advisors, decision-makers, and other professionals involved in the fields of biotechnology, innovation systems, higher education, and development will find this book an invaluable resource.

The editors

Bo Göransson is Associate Professor and Coordinator of the LEAP4D program and Carl Magnus Pålsson is Associate Professor and Senior Research Fellow, both at the Research Policy Institute, Lund University, Sweden.

Biotechnology and Innovation Systems : The Role of Public Policy

Couverture du livre Biotechnology and Innovation Systems : The Role of Public Policy
Directeur(s) :
Bo Göransson et Carl Magnus Pålsson
Maison(s) d’édition :
Edward Elgar, CRDI
2012-02-29
ISBN :
9781781001387
420 pages
e-ISBN :
9781552505380

Cet ouvrage explore en quoi les politiques ciblant les établissements de recherche publics, comme les universités, contribuent à l’appropriation de la biotechnologie dans le cadre de systèmes d’innovation nationaux.

Partout dans le monde, la biotechnologie est à la source de changements profonds dans les systèmes et les politiques qui visent à stimuler l’innovation. Les éminents collaborateurs brossent de façon experte un tableau détaillé des politiques qui appuient la biotechnologie et de la façon dont ces politiques fonctionnent dans des conjonctures économiques et sociales différentes. Ils apportent également un éclairage sur le rôle que tiennent les universités dans ce processus.

Les chercheurs, les universitaires, les étudiants, les conseillers en politiques, les décideurs et d’autres professionnels oeuvrant dans les domaines de la biotechnologie, des systèmes d’innovation, de l’enseignement supérieur et du développement verront dans ce livre une ressource essentielle.

Les directeurs

Bo Göransson et Carl Magnus Pålsson sont tous deux affiliés au Research Policy Institute de l’Université de Lund, en Suède. M. Göransson est professeur agrégé et coordonnateur du programme LEAP4D, et M. Pålsson est professeur agrégé et chercheur principal.​